skip navigation
Crisis

Crisis(1950)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Crisis An American doctor gets caught... MORE > $11.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • crisis

    • kevin sellers
    • 5/20/16

    What a ludicrous film on so many levels. Why in the world would an American surgeon and his wife be vacationing in a country in the midst of violent revolution, and why wouldn't they know about it? Kinda makes them out to be clueless idiots. Second, why would the doctor be kidnapped? Why not simply get him to operate on the dictator by appealing to his ethics as a physician? Third, just where the hell is the American ambassador or the U.S. military contingent that would be protecting him or her, let alone those American oil refineries? Fourth, how is it possible that the head of the American oil cartel is your friendly, neighborhood pro revolutionary as he is portrayed here? Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this film made at around the same time United Fruit was helping to overthrow democracy in Guatemala? You'd think an old lefty like writer/director Richard Brooks would have been a bit more honest in his depiction of the role of big business in Latin America, but then again this film was also made around the rise of HUAC, so cautious liberals like Brooks were in serious CYA mode. In addition to the ridiculous story, you have the surgeon's wife portrayed, chauvinistically, as Mrs. Meek And Submissive (and woodenly acted by Paula Raymond.) I will say that Jose Ferrer brings a believable sadness and tragedy to the role of The Dictator and I also liked Signe Hasso as his imperious, but not wholly unsympathetic, wife. As for Cary Grant, let's just say that moral earnestness is not his favorite mode and he constantly seems to be fighting Brooks' depiction of his character so that he ends up looking and sounding like Roger Thornhill with a scalpel, which is yet another silly aspect of this film. Give it a C.

  • Crisis

    • Jim
    • 5/19/16

    I started watching this movie 40 years ago and at the time I didn't catch the title. I was hooked after a few minutes. I remember vividly when the operation was thought to be successful and the dictator's henchman jokingly reminded Grant what his fate would have been had it been a failure. Then the dictator died. And then I got a call to pick up one of my friends at the airport! I never had a chance to see the movie again since I didn't know the title. Now, I can.

  • A Mixed Bag..

    • Allen Moss
    • 12/18/14

    Crisis could have been a much better film but poor casting choices hamper it from being a complete success. Jose Ferrer is excellent as the dictator but Cary Grant is miscast and Paula Raymond to too wooden in her acting style.The story is extremely intriguing, but the pace is too slow to develop any tension. Some of the scenes with Ferrer and Grant are good but there just isn't chemistry there to carry the movie.

  • overlooked and underrated

    • Pamela Tish
    • 12/16/14

    What an overlooked and underrated film! A simple and clear outline of the mechanizations of the political unrest in a "pre-mass-media" Latin American country with heavy petroleum investments from the outside. Great simplicity of dialogue and classic 'one liners' make it easy to follow and understand the ebb and flow of power. Cary Grant in one of his best straight dramas.

  • One of CG's best

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 8/12/09

    Cary Grant and Jose Ferrer have very different acting styles, but it works in the film's favor because the characters are supposed to be polar opposites. But what I really like is that we have a realistic storyline. I could see this happening today with all the uprisings that continue in third-world countries. The conflict that this doctor faces is interesting. He would not normally wish to perform the operation on such a terrible patient, but he is bound by the oath of his profession. Supposedly, the wife character was a daughter in the original screenplay, but the studio changed it to provide a bit of romance during the proceedings. I wonder how CG would've played it if it was his daughter who had been kidnapped during the operation.

  • a "new" cary grant movie!!!

    • perri
    • 8/11/09

    i had never gotten to see this cary grant movie, so i was very happy! cary grant is so good in this one and even though it is a serious movie, i enjoyed the light moments as well! thanks turner classics!

  • Strong Cary Grant Drama

    • Ollie
    • 12/1/07

    TCM has been good enough to show this every year or so, and each time, I'm surprised at the force and power that Cary Grant can deliver in this political drama. Top notch performances all around.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.