skip navigation
The Band Wagon

The Band Wagon(1953)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Band Wagon A Broadway artiste turns a... MORE > $26.98 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I couldn't believe it

    • Donna
    • 4/18/14

    Fred Astaire is my all time favorite dancer but I never thought I would see him in a dud of a movie such as this. Although Fred's dancing was perfection as always, the story line and singing numbers especially with Nanette Fabray were cheesy and corny to the point of nauseating. The acting was wooden at best. I don't know how Fred managed to get involved in this bomb. I don't understand what people see in this movie at all.

  • The Band Wagon

    • Rigo
    • 3/16/13

    In my opinion The Band Wagon is the best musical ever made. Fred Astair and Cyd Charisse are wonderful in the beautiful "Dancing In The Dark." If you like musicals don't miss this one.

  • Such a let down

    • Jezebelle
    • 9/16/12

    This movie jumps to the top of my "Do not recommend/ever watch again" list. Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse had NO chemistry. The story line could have been good but the execution of it ruins the movie. I don't feel the love and although Cyd Charisse is, I'm sure, a great dancer she didn't look like she was floating on air, as all dancers should. Not Vincente Minnelli's best work.

  • The Band Wagon

    • Linda
    • 9/4/12

    I really should buy this movie as it's one of my absolute favorites! Love it when Fred and the shoe shiner sing and dance. I got shine, I got shine, I got shine on my shoes.......One of the best scenes of all time! Of course there are quite a few more, but I don't want to give it away if you haven't seen this. DEFINITELY A MUST SEE!!

  • The Band Wagon

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/29/12

    This musical cannot helped being compared to the equally iconic "Singin' in the Rain." Astaire plays a character so painfully familiar to his off-screen self, Charisse is in top form & Buchanan steals the film as an Orson Welles-like director. This is a visual masterpiece from the production design to the Oscar-nominated costumes, the film's score was also nominated & it's good. Minnelli's presence is in every perfectly-realized scene. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Perhaps the best musical!

    • Rich
    • 7/25/12

    I have always been torn between Singing in the Rain and Bandwagon as the finest of all the MGM musicals. I am shifing heavily to Bandwagon. Watch and make your own decision.

    • 8/17/11

  • My FAVORITE MUSICAL movie!

    • Susan
    • 6/27/11

    I always love(d) the Astiare movies. Gene Kelly is good, but Astaire has that "something" I really like. This movie is really in two parts: PART I: with JIM MITCHELL (Palmer Courtland from the now defunct "All My Children" who is as handsome as he is good in this rold) as Cyd Charisse (Gabby)'s boyfirend and coreagorpher. And, in the story (by Levant, etc.) gets turned into a FAUST story with funny scenes (like "Give me that whole iceberg" when Astaire is practicing with Cyd and he comes ranthing out shouting the lines!).PART II: The play is a failure ("laid an egg"). Asiaire backs it with his valueable paintings (which he makes funny remarks in part I about to "Gabby), and it turns out to be a success!I laugh, cry (whenever I see Astaire) and have such fun watching it, I have to say it is far beyond (in my book) "An American in Paris" which the plot has nothing really to do with the dance sequece. My second favorite musical movie is GIGI, and that is about that!

  • Strictly Carriage Trade

    • James M.
    • 6/26/11

    This is the champagne, the Duisenberg, the crpe Suzette of MGM musicals. It's a surreal story from start to finish, replete with gentle but tongue-in-cheek humor, a certain amount of resigned cynicism, and a great deal of love. The score by Arthur Schwartz and Howard Dietz is one of the best ever utilized for the movies.Minnelli's penchant for having dream meeting space is very much in evidence here. Add marvelous swing and melody, and one should find in this movie one of the most delightful musicals ever put down on film. In my mind, with Gigi as a close second, this is my favorite musical. It's far better than Singin' in the Rain which - though filled with "moments" of a legendary sort - never gets close to coming together as well as this more mature, subtle, and elegant film. It has a charm and civility virtually absent from films made in recent decades.Astaire, Charisse, Fabray, Levant, Buchannan are all tops in this picture. The dialogue has a wonderful sarcasm and plenty of New York irony. The touching finish is a moving tribute to getting what you want, after all."Kids, you're geniuses!"

  • Another Minnelli Star-Studded Musical Event.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/7/10

    Oscar-winning director, Vincente Minnelli assembles an extraordinary cast of musical performers including Fred Astaire, Cyd Charisse, Oscar Levant, Nanette Fabray and Jack Buchanan in this movie version of Howard Dietz and Arthur Schwartz's 1931 Broadway musical as brilliantly adapted by Adolph Green and Betty Comden. Astaire is a "washed up" movie star, who hopes to make a comeback by trying his luck on Broadway, under the direction of a maniacal genius (Buchanan). A sophisticated backstage musical improves with each viewing. Featuring an array of Dietz and Schwartz's songs including "That's Entertainment", "A Shine on Your Shoes", "Dancing in the Dark", "La Femme Rouge", "A New Sun in the Sky", "Up in Smoke", "Triplets", "I Love Louisa", "The Girl Hunt", "Louisiana Hayride" and "I Guess I'll Have to Change My Plan". With James Mitchell, Robert Gist, Ava Gardner, Thurston Hall, Jack Tesler, Dee Hartford, Douglas Fowley & Roy Engel.

  • The Band Wagon (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/11/10

    65/100. This is the kind of musical I have a hard time stomaching. All this singing in place of talking, and overblown and way too colorful musical numbers, a color so vivid it doesn't look natural. There are indeed some classic numbers in this film, but I just didn't think the film was ever going to end. Excellent sound, and the score is amazing. Nominated for there Oscars: best costume design, score and writing (story and screenplay). The costume design was good, but don't see it is Oscar good.The cast is fine, Fred Astaire is certainly talented, Cyd Charisse is wonderful but I thought the supporting cast was a little weak. I was never that crazy about Vincente Minnelli's musicals.

  • Forgotten classic?

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/13/10

    With all the repeat showings of this film, I'm suprised nobody else has written any review or comments about 'The Band Wagon.' It's truly a fun MGM musical of the mid-50s. And even better: it's directed with style by Vincente Minnelli. It definitely matches Minnelli's 'Meet Me in St. Louis' and his 'Designing Woman' in terms of technical virtuosity and art design. Some of the sequences in this film are truly eye-catching. And the performances are great too. Who can resist a rendition of 'That's Entertainment!' or 'Triplets.' I especially liked Nanette Fabray and James Mitchell in this film and thought they made significant contributions that helped both Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse. In my opinion, this musical is very reminiscent of 'Singin' in the Rain' but instead of poking fun at Hollywood, it pokes fun at Broadway, with some clever inside jokes.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.