skip navigation
The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer

The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer(1947)

Contribute

FOR The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer (1947) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer A teenage girl's crush on... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Bachelor and the Bobby-soxer

    • Goetan
    • 8/14/14

    Grant, Loy and Temple are the three corners of a romantic triangle. Judge Loy orders Grant to date younger, impressionable sister Temple. Won an Oscar for it's writing, but by today's standards, some scenes with Grant and Temple may put off people. Entertaining and a fun way to fill in an afternoon. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Sweet Film

    • Misty
    • 4/12/14

    I just love how Cary Grant and Myrna Loy interact with each other. The scene where they meet for dinner is so sweet and sexy I just love watching it. From the moment Myrna walks into the restaurant and Cary's face lights up to them dancing is just good old fashioned sexy. The entire group at the table is funny and fast moving.

  • A Fun Film From Start to Finish

    • Judy
    • 4/5/14

    What a fun film, and what a great ensemble!!! - Grant, Loy, Temple, Vallee, Davenport, and Collins - always enjoy watching no matter how many times it's shown on TCM. There are too many favorite scenes!!! It's a pure delight!!!

  • I Really Enjoy This Movie

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/23/13

    This is kind of a silly movie, but for some reason (Cary Grant) I really like it. I saw the interview on TCM with Mr. Sidney Sheldon and he said he originally had this filmed named something else. (I can't remember what he said it was, but it seemed fine to me.) I guess one of the head guys (I can't remember who he said exactly) didn't like the name and changed it to "The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer". Well, Mr. Sheldon didn't like this name and thought it sounded stupid and nobody would go see the movie. But then after it was a big success he said well he guessed he was wrong ("what did he know") and that the title was great. Mr. Sheldon you were right! This is one of the dumbest titles I have ever heard of! And I don't believe people went to see it because of the title, but because they wanted to see Cary Grant, Myrna Loy, Rudy Vallee, and probably Shirley Temple (I'm not sure of her popularity then). I know if I had been alive then I would have gone to see this movie because I wanted to see Cary Grant and Myrna Loy. Not because of that dumb title!!

  • A harmless little comedy

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/21/11

    This film has a few amusing moments but nothing in the laugh-out-loud category. Grant plays his usual role as the slightly embarassed object of every women's desires, and Loy plays her usual role as the spiteful, snotty woman who Grant seems to be attracted to ... so no challenging performances here. It is interesting to see a teenaged Shirley Temple, though she retains her trademark pouty voice. Rudy Vallee's comedic talents, so hilarious in Palm Beach Story, is all but wasted in this so-so movie.

  • Art imitates life imitating art

    • Tom Hartley
    • 8/20/11

    I have always loved the movie but wondered why no one ever mentions the irony inherent in the story. The real life teenage Myrna Loy was the model who posed for the scantily clad statute that was in front of Venice High School for years. So Shirley Temple was actually playing Myrna Loy.

  • Love Cary Grant

    • Tiff
    • 6/15/11

    This is a cute movie. Cary Grant was a classic good guy (most of the time). I enjoy watching a movie that you do not have to send the kids out of the room to enjoy.

  • Top Class Flick!

    • Bill
    • 8/6/10

    Though she was no longer the big child star, Miss Temple was excellent. The veteran actors, Grant and Loy, made this quick-witted film a joy to watch again.

  • The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    Playboy Artist does time

  • The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer

    • D. Lawson
    • 3/9/10

    This movie is, by far, one of Hollywood's best and so much fun. The Cary Grant-Myrna Loy team is an example of perfect chemistry, but the entire cast makes a great ensemble. RKO couldn't go wrong here. My two favorite scenes are the relay games at the picnic, and the nightclub. Absolutely hilarious! Hopefully, this one will be available on DVD soon. I can't wait!

  • What A Pair

    • Cris Haynie
    • 2/23/10

    I can not tell you how much I love this movie. To be a romantic comady, and yet have Mr Grant Be so Suave, To have a movie with my two most fav actores ( Cary Grant and Shirley Temple) ever in one move great movie. And could blame miss Shirley Temple , Mr Grant is wonderfully handsome. I love this movie.!

  • The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer (1947)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 11/10/09

    Delightful romantic comedy, with yet another outstanding Cary Grant performance. The pairing of Myrna Loy and Grant is terrific. Everyone in the cast is wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyable, fantastic screenplay, fine direction and a great pace. A highly entertaining classic.

  • One of a Kind

    • bob Hendrick
    • 12/11/08

    Has there ever been anyone like Cary Grant? Will there ever be another? I think not. The mold was broken. This film, along with "Mr. Blandings Builds his Dreamhouse", are two of the best comdedies ever made. A funny intelligent screenplay by a young Sidney Sheldon; classic actors like Myrna Loy, Ray Collins, Shirley Temple; and Rudy Vallee (of all people) giving a great performance as a stuffy, self-important, funny by accident DA. This movie is a killer.

  • I so

    • Marilyn
    • 7/28/08

    love this movie. Cary Grant superb, Myrna Loy fantastic, Shirley Temple a treasure, and that's just those three. Everyone in this movie is great. Every scene plays well. This is truly a wondrous screw-ball comedy. One of the greats.

  • An under-appreciated classic

    • Booj
    • 8/11/07

    A classic. Top notch acting and writing. The scene in the restaurant/night club is hilarious. Can be watched over and over again.

  • The Power of HooDoo

    • Ann Brown
    • 8/26/06

    Don't miss Cary Grant being suave and ridiculously funny at the same time. The plot is irrelevant to the hilarity which ensues whan Grant, Myrna Loy, and Shirley Temple form an implausible and charming love triangle. Supported by a wonderful cast who all utter snappy dialogue including the "You remind me of a man..." bit. After you watch this you'll wonder why film studios today can't make comedies like this one.

  • Filming Locations

    • Kyla
    • 3/29/06

    Beverly Hills High School was used for location shooting according to the IMDb website.

  • The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer

    • Kaye
    • 3/20/06

    Does anyone know what High School was in the Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.