skip navigation
Tenth Avenue Angel

Tenth Avenue Angel(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Tenth Avenue Angel A child of the tenements helps... MORE > $16.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Heart-warming.

    • Ed
    • 3/6/13

    This film is about a little girl living in a poor neighborhood of New York City. Her parents tell her little white lies to hide and soften the harsh realities of life. Yet, there comes a day when the little girl must know the truths about life.Child-star, Margaret O'Brien is adorable. A heart-warming, feel-good, film.

  • A TRUE ESSENTIAL

    • Antique Movie Guru
    • 12/25/12

    I simply love this movie. It's a true essential especially for the many people whom suffered economically in the recent years. I watched it and could not help but feel a strong sense of renewed hope just as Margret O'Brien character did. I hope TCM brings this one back, it's an essential!

  • Great Christmas Movie

    • I_Fortuna
    • 12/21/12

    I really enjoyed this movie and I saw it for the first time last time it aired. My great aunt was her tutor for general studies when Margaret was this age. I adore anything with Angela Lansbury in it. Even if a movie is not the greatest she makes it so. It is regretful some people are so jaded that they cannot appreciate just pure innocence and the world in which a child sees things. This is the perfect movie for the family.

  • Yawn, okay, yawn

    • ojc
    • 12/10/12

    In the 30's and 40's some very maudlin and over-sentimental movies were made. Those were tough times (Depression era economics and War), so it is understandable that many viewers wanted movies to reassure them. But this movie is simply tedious. Good cast but largely a wasted effort. If you want truly heartwarming film with Margaret Obrien watch "Our Vines have tender grapes".

  • Wonderful Little Movie

    • 4dogmama
    • 1/6/12

    Had I not been a subscriber of the viewer's guide, I would never had known about this movie. I love any movie that Margaret O'Brien is in, so I DVRd it. I was not disappointed one bit.

  • Tenth Avenue Angel

    • Teresa
    • 1/5/12

    I give it a 5 and wish I could get this movie to watch over and over again. It shows the spirit of a child and how believing and hope and love can solve all obstacles. We don't see that alot in today's society. If kids could just see and believe and love and above all hope, God brings us through.

  • Tenth Avenue Angel

    • Darcy Frederick
    • 1/3/11

    I would love to own this movie and have been looking for it everywhere. I absolutely love Margaret O'Brien and Angela Lansbury in this movie. What a heartwarming and very touching tale of a girl with such a great imagination and intelligence, although very naive. She takes each thing her mother tells her as literal. This can be wonderful, although, it ends up hurting her very much. She feels as if she can never trust anything her Mother ever says again, that is, until she witnesses a cow kneeling on the eve of Christmas. Seeing this restores her faith in everything. I cannot wait until it is part of my collection.

  • 10th Avenue Angel

    • Theresa
    • 12/24/10

    This movie is outstanding.I recommend it to everyone at any age. This little girl will capture your heart in an instant. You'll laugh, cry and marvel at her performance. The 4th of July speech she gives is outstanding. It'll knock your socks off. And she isn't reading from a tele-promter!! It pours out of her with such conviction that it'll make you want to watch it over and over and over again.I wish TCM would put this into print. Not just for Christmas. But for every single day of the year!

  • Tenth Avenue Angel

    • Paybob
    • 12/19/10

    This movie is awesome! I saw it by chance and now I want to own it. I have told my family about it and wish they could see it. Magaret O'Brien is simply amazing. The story is very fitting for Christmas. Each year I have to wait for TCM to show it.

  • Tenth Avenue Angel

    • Lee
    • 11/13/10

    This was my favorite Christmas movie as a child, and I was very excited to see it on TCM last year. I think everyone should see it...and I would LOVE to own it.

  • FDR Speech info

    • eino
    • 1/15/10

    Mado: I found it online after typing a line Margaret O'Brien said. It's from a speech FDR gave to the Young Democratic Club of Baltimore on April 13, 1936. You can find it online at the American Presidency Project (http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/ws/index.php?pid=15280)

  • heart warming!

    • carol
    • 12/10/09

    i have always loved margaret obrien, but this movie just put her at the top of my list! her 4th of july speech was so patriotic and heart felt. she was one of our great child stars whos acting was totally believable! the movie made me laugh, cry and everything in between! my husband wants a dvd of this movie for christmas!! that is how it affected him.

  • FDR speech?

    • mado
    • 12/5/09

    was that a real 4th of July FDR speech Margaret O'Brien's character was quoting? - and where can the text be found?

  • A Jewel within a gem

    • David
    • 12/4/09

    Margaret O'Brien is a jewel in this understated movie about love, hope, and truth that seems to creschedos into the ending. Its a Christmas hidden gem that will certainly make you cry and warm your spirit.

  • YES- I WANT TO OWN THIS MOVIE!

    • Maureen
    • 8/24/09

    This movie was delightful. Wish I could show my grandchildren.

  • Holiday Classic

    • Sue
    • 1/21/09

    This came out of the blue for me. One of the most beautiful and hopeful films I've seen. Definitely a yearly must see.

  • I would love to have this movie!

    • Maureen Kluck
    • 12/24/08

    I was 11 years old and working as a Stand-in/Double for Margaret O'Brien. Roy Rowland gave me a small part as well as my Stand-in job. I was the little girl who snatched the cotton candy from a little boy at the Block Party. I had not seen this movie since the 1940's. I would love to have it for my Grandchildren. I hope it will be available on DVD soon! Thank you for your wonderful movies!

  • Best child actress ever!

    • LouAnn
    • 1/22/08

    Heart wrenching! Have a box of tissues nearby! It should give any parent a wonderful testimony of what it does to a child when they are lied to.

  • Wonderful!

    • Sandy
    • 12/30/07

    I saw this movie when I was a little girl and have never forgotten it.Worth watching!

  • humbling

    • janice
    • 12/25/06

    eveytime i watch this movie i am transported back to the time i can relate to. the close bond of the family, friends and neighbors is something i hold dear to my heart. the trust and faith of flavia has such truth in it. and when she can no longer beleive, but follows somehow in her heart that maybe the animals will bow at midnight from christmas eve to christmas day is humbling and faith-renewing.

  • Charming

    • Julie
    • 8/19/06

    Charming Movie and worth watching. Reminds you how fragile life can be but also worth believing in it too.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.