skip navigation
Star of Midnight

Star of Midnight(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Star of Midnight A New York lawyer tries to... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Star of Midnight

    • M. Wilson
    • 12/16/13

    William Powell at his best!

  • Not the Thin Man

    • Mike soar
    • 11/23/13

    A good little movie that was a pleasure to find. Very much based round the Thin Man model but although Ginger Rogers and William Powell give good performances the magic of the William Powell and Myrna Loy chemistry is not there. Glad to see it is on DVD.

  • Star of Midnight

    • Carmen
    • 12/7/11

    Awesome, I would like to get this movie on DVD. I am a big fan of William PowellMovie Mysteries.

  • Star of Midnight

    • C Tefs
    • 12/7/11

    I am a big fan of the Thin Man Mysterys with William Powell - I saw for the first timehis movie Star of Midnight - I really enjoyed it and wonder when you will have it released on DVD

  • Star of Midnight - The Best of the Best.

    • Jay Diamond
    • 9/26/11

    TCM, PLEASE PUT THIS ON DISC !Star of midnight is the perfect evocation of the sophisticated sleuth movies of the 1930s. Powell, and Ginger Rogers are pure champagne, as are the witty, and ribald, writing, and the stellar sets.This movie sparkles and it needs to be put on disc !Now !

  • STAR OF MIDNIGHT

    • DEBORAH
    • 3/30/10

    This was a movie that kinda reminded you of "The Thin Man" series. Although Ginger Rogers & William Powell did not demonstrate the amazing chemistry that Loy & Powell did, Ginger was perfect in the role. She brought youth, beauty & a stylish comedic quality to William Powell's class & style. And ladies, her wardrobe was stunning. I think Ginger lightened William Powell up a bit. I am a huge fan of both these actors & I strongly reccommend this light hearted, a bit suspenseful. delicously stylish movie.

  • This MUST be released on DVD!!!!

    • Mark Rivenburg
    • 2/19/10

    I have been waiting years for this to be released onto DVD. I am a huge fan of William Powell. The genre of the murder mystery/comedy has never been better than with William Powell as the helm.

  • A Great Find for Thin Man Enthusiasts

    • keleigh97
    • 2/13/09

    I have been a fan of the Thin Man movies for years and love watching them over and over again. I became a William Powell and Myrna Loy fan because of them. The Thin Man was first shown in 1934, a year before Star of Midnight. I ran across this movie on a search for Ginger Rogers's movies. After viewing Star of Midnight I wondered how the Thin Man movies might have been with Ginger instead of Myrna. I believe Ginger would have made a better foil for Powell as you watch them lovingly banter with one another in Star of Midnight because it is essentially the same type of movie. Not to take anything away from Myrna as she is terrific and was teamed with William Powell in eleven or twelve movies.

  • Star of Midnight. Please release this on DVD

    • Sylvia
    • 6/10/08

    If you're a fan of William Powell and the Thin Man movies, you have to see this one. It's a lot of fun. Ginger Rogers is young and very cute in this film. William Powell is as always sophisticated and funny all at the same time. I am waiting for this to be released on DVD. I'll buy it the minute it comes out. I also like The Ex Mrs. Bradford .

  • Good William Powell Film

    • Movie Fan
    • 11/6/06

    I have been trying to find this movie on VHS or DVD. This is a very entertaining movie much like "The Thin Man" series. It is always a pleasure to watch William Powell - a fine actor with great wit and elegance. This time his co-star is Ginger Rogers! I hope this movie is played on TCM during the evening or weekend. I plan to purchase the movie as soon as it comes out on DVD! So PLEASE, PLEASE release this film on DVD!

  • WHAT A HOOT

    • anett
    • 3/18/06

    This movie is a hoot. In the same vein as the Thin Man around the same time as the Thin Man, this movie pairs the unlikely pairing of Ginger Rodgers and William Powell as a Doctor and his wanna be wife, Ginger,as pseudo husband and wife sleuths with the intention of solving a banal mystery of what happened to the "Star of Midnight" - a nightclub singer, who disappears after a stage appearance with Powell in the audience. It is just as sophisticated, funny and rollicking as the Thin Man - with a different woman. If you like the Thin Man, you will love this as well as the ex-Mrs. Bradford - same theme different woman, in this case Jean Arthur.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.