skip navigation
Ben-Hur

Ben-Hur(1925)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ben-Hur (1925) on Criterion Collection DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 12/29/18

    Although I'm more familiar with the 1959 Oscar-winning version, this silent version obviously has a great deal of merit and then some. Therefore, it wouldn't hurt to have it on Criterion Collection DVD.

  • Great film

    • Mary
    • 12/8/18

    This really was a pleasant surprise for me. I had already seen the 59 version and didn't like it much- the story and Heston's acting were over the top melodramatic. Even the chariot scene was kind of a disappointment. But this film was much more watchable, one of the great silent films. I thought that the story actually suited a silent film better: instead of a character overemoting in lots of dialog about his current troubles, here it's taken care of in a few dialog cards. I liked the acting, especially Francis Bushman and Ramon Navarro.

  • Unbridled Feminism

    • David H.
    • 10/3/17

    Illeana Douglas seems to have forgotten about original writer-supervisor June Mathis who was one of the most powerful women in early films. Mathis urged MGM to film Ben-Hur in Italy that proved to be a disaster and was taken off the production although she still retained screen credit for her adaptation of Lew Wallace's book. At least, co-host Leslie Dixon provided some insight into this and other films presented last night while Ms. Douglas only gave us her unbridled feminism.

  • outstanding

    • Larry
    • 10/3/17

    Ramon Navarro is magnificent in this film. this silent version of Ben Hur is far better than the 1959 remake. I did not even think I would enjoy a silent epic but I did. The naval battle scenes are absolutely incredible and it is a marvel how intricate the sets were. And for those looking for some gruesome battle scenes, this film does not disappoint. There are some pretty dramatic moments. The acting is magnificent and the emotion conveyed by this film is powerful. I am greatly impressed and would love to have a dvd of this magnificent film.

  • BEN-HUR...............1925 VERSION

    • Janet
    • 6/2/17

    I was so impressed with this version of Ben-Hur. I marveled at the acting which showed REAL acting. I loved the chariot scenes. It was a monumental movie for the time.

  • Epic narrative

    • Twain
    • 4/7/17

    One of the great cinematic epics ever made! This is an artistic and historic treat. Even though it's a silent feature, the performances "speak" for themselves. The special effects utilized back then weren't state of the art, but shouldn't deter new viewers from seeing this. This is an example of the power of storytelling.

  • An exquisite film...

    • Catheryne
    • 8/8/13

    The chariot race scenes are far more exciting than the remake...the entire movie is more emotional and sensitive, not only in the acting, but the words albeit it a silent film.

  • I Hope They Show it Again.

    • hswolfmaniac
    • 3/15/12

    I hope they show it again because I missed it the last time they showed it, and I've never seen the silent version. I didn't even know there WAS a silent version.

  • Ben Hur

    • Ginger
    • 8/15/11

    This is the best movie ever made!!

  • Ben-Hur (1925)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ***1/2

  • What? No comments for this amazing film?

    • Marilyn
    • 4/12/09

    This is a great movie. I find it much better than the remake, even though it's successor is almost scene for scene like it. There's so much history behind this one, as well. It's beautifully made and quite moving. If you like silent movies or have yet to find yourself attempting to watch a classic, then this is the movie to watch. It is more than just a silent movie. I give it a 10/10.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.