skip navigation
Jewel Robbery

Jewel Robbery(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Jewel Robbery A jewel thief falls for a... MORE > $33.99 Regularly $47.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Jewel Robbery

    • gary pippel
    • 12/3/11

    This was an excellant movie and it brought back many memories from when it was released many years ago.Can someone tell me the title of the song that was played in the background? In the profile it names Bernard Kaun but not the title.Thank you,Garygpip@windstream.net

  • Kay Francis--wowzah

    • Paul
    • 12/3/11

    Last night on TCM I stumbled across most of a Lubitsch-like film, "Jewel Robbery". It wasn't as good as "Trouble in Paradise" but it exemplified pre-code naughtiness. (Maltin--three and a half stars)Kay Francis is in this one too--this time she's the lead opposite William Powell, the sophisticated cat-burglar. Here's what I found stand-out interesting and I'm not giving the plot or ending away--not that they are A-typical--but, hey, this is probably close to the first of this genre.First; Bios of Kay Francis said she had a speech impediment--a problem with r's. Contemporary reviewers sometimes referred to her as, "...the wavishing Kay Fwancis...". I didn't notice this in "Trouble in Paradise" but it was noticeable if you listen closely in "Jewel Robbery". Which leads me to wonder if someone was "having her on" with that title? They could have just as easily called it "Jewel Burglary" or "Jewel Thief". I can imagine smirking reporters asking her the title of her current film. Also, I wonder if she influenced the later cartoon speech pattern for Elmer Fudd?Second; Wm Powell throws off the police pursuit of his cat-burglar character by providing them with marijuana cigarettes--resulting in laughing jags! The TCM host, Robert Osborn, reported that the majority of contemporary viewer reaction to the film was not outrage at drug use but requests for sources of the cigarettes.Last: Kay Francis wears a loose, strapless, off-the-shoulder, low cut back, evening dress that defies gravity by staying in place. Although not tight fitting, it must have been glued on at key locations!This is one of the good Pre-codes that needs to be re-issued on DVD--Please.

  • Jewel Rpbbery

    • Judi W.
    • 12/1/11

    I want to add this movie to my collection. Its one of my favorites. William Powell and Kay Francis are wonderful in this movie. Love the chemistry.

  • Hidden Jewel

    • Rod Patterson
    • 1/24/11

    This upbeat comedy about a jewel thief is a refreshing change for 1932! I was completely caught off guard when the wonderfully Charming & Dapper William Powell introduces his "magic & inducing" cigarette case ! For 1932 I have wondered if the audience even knew what these were ? Perhaps just a "mickey" laced cigarette! And the twist and turns that insue as the confident upper crust thief romances his charming victim is most "engaging"! And of course following the cigarette case is a caution! A most entertaining film in every aspect!

  • Great Movie

    • Jeff
    • 1/20/11

    This is a very good movie! William Powell at his best! This is only the second Kay Francis movie I've seen and I'm already a big fan. Is definately needs to be released on DVD.

  • Jewel Robbery

    • Maid Marian
    • 1/13/11

    My new favorite! I'm generally not one for comedies, but this is so clever and sophisticated. From a female perspective -sensual - William Powell knows how to do it! And taking her back to his "lair" was gorgeous, and the uniqueness of seeing marijuana as a part of life. Finish it off with the cutest ending with Kay to us. She's great! Loved it!

  • Gem of a Classic!

    • BK
    • 1/8/11

    I adore this movie! When will it be released on DVD? Have been looking for years, to no avail. It would be great to get this title along with "One Way Passage" on a DVD set. I'll be the first in line to purchase several copies for others who also enjoy this film classic!

  • A Jewel of a Movie!

    • ss
    • 5/10/10

    This is one of the best films of it's day. The movie takes an incredible chance and introduces the use of marijuana to distract the hostages during the robbery. So completely ahead of its time, it's simply amazing. Of course, William Powell and Kay Francis are fantastic...I'm such a huge fan of Powell in Thin Man series, but he's great in every movie of this era. A real collector's item....too bad it's not available to buy. Oh, a note to D. Brown: you have mistaken William Powell for Dick Powell, the singer. William is NOT known for his singing voice.

  • The Worst Powell Film Ever

    • David Brown
    • 6/24/09

    This movie is brutal. I had never seen a non-musical Powell film that I disliked until this one. It is right up there with "Pluto Nash" as the worst film ever. There is nothing redeemable about it. ZERO STARS.

  • William Powell classic

    • chica
    • 12/10/08

    Love William Powell in this movie. would be great to own it. why not show it again TCM?

  • great movie

    • tyna
    • 12/10/08

    This is truly an entertaining movie. William Powell is always a pleasure to watch. Until its released why not replay it.

  • Great Movie!

    • R Owens
    • 10/21/07

    This movie is extremely funny and clever! I anxiously await it's release on dvd! Until then, why not show it again, TCM??

  • Hilarious comedy, beautiful setting

    • P.A. Bolduc
    • 6/20/07

    This is just about the only William Powell movie not released yet - it would make my collection of William Powell movies complete; a cute comedy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.