skip navigation
A Night at the Opera

A Night at the Opera(1935)

  • Sunday, December 7 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, January 1 @ 09:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Night at the Opera Three zanies turn an operatic... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Aa Movie that made me love the classics

    • Don
    • 10/12/14

    I was born in the mid-sixties so I remember watching this movie on tv. I have always loved the Marx Brothers and other classic comedies. This movie has the party in the first part gag and the steamer room gag. I have seen this movie countless times and I still laugh every time. A movie that instilled a.love of classic movies. I'm 48 and some think it strange that TCM is one of my favorite channels. Good old fashioned clean humor, something for the entire family.

  • A Night at the Opera

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-2/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-2/5Director-4/5Score-3/5Screenplay-1/5Cinematography-2/5Importance-2/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • A Night at the Opera

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/20/12

    The first film of the Brothers for MGM & without Zeppo. Changing from intentional anarchist from their earlier films to help love-birds Jones & Carlisle be together. Begining a sometimes predictable formula for future films for the studio, it includes entertaining musical numbers & great comedy. Highlights include the crowded stateroom & "Party of the first part" bit. I give it a 4/5.

  • A Night Without Zeppo

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/12/12

    The Marx Brothers first movie as a trio and their first for MGM is well produced and looks great. A lot of people think this is their best movie but I prefer 'Duck Soup' and 'Horse Feathers', but that's not to say this movie does not rate the accolades it so well deserves. Zeppo being absent is not a show stopper but from this point on another actor always fills Zeppo's previous role and no one seems to be able to that as well as Zeppo, although Alan Jones does get my vote as the second best for this and the next movie, 'A Day At The Races'. Four stars.

  • A Night at the Opera

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • VERY FUNNY

    • Sam H.
    • 8/19/10

    "A Night At The Opera" may not be a spectacular movie, but it's good, and very funny. My favorite scene is near the end, when the orchestra at an opera begins to play the overture, but then starts to play "Take Me Out To The Ball Game." Harpo Marx's character had put the music for the well-known song in the music book for the opera. Suddenly Groucho starts to offer peanuts to the audience, and Chico and Harpo begin to play catch. I couldn't stop laughing! There are also many other funny moments for you to enjoy in this great comedy.

  • Marx Lunacy Hits a High Note.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 3/21/10

    The Marx Brothers' first movie project (minus Zeppo) for MGM is considered to be one their best. Allan Jones and Kitty Carlisle are the romantic leads in this operatic farce. Chico and Harpo hide an operatic prodigy (Jones) inside Groucho's wardrobe trunk, in an attempt to smuggle him into New York City to reunite him with his aria-singing sweetheart (Carlisle). One of the funniest scenes is a battleship in Il Travitore. Another example of pure Marx insanity. With Walter Woolf King, Margaret Dumont, Sig Rumann, Edward Keane & Robert Emmett O'Connor.

  • HYSTERICAL!!!!

    • Brenda
    • 7/25/09

    The Marx Brothers are a riot! I have seen this movie so many times I can't count, but each time I see it I still laugh out loud! It is a non-stop gag after gag laugh-a-thon!

  • A “Must”

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/8/06

    Although not their most inspired lunacy (due to contrived plot and intrusive love story), the phrase "a laff-riot" comes to mind. Their most box-office film, it contains the classic stateroom sequence and opera/bedlam finale.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.