skip navigation
The Hawaiians

The Hawaiians(1970)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Hawaiians A wanderer returns home only... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Hawaiians

    • Arnold
    • 8/9/10

    I have the other two movies based on James Mitchner's book. I would love to add this one to my collection. I am a big Charleston Heston fan. Please release this one on DVD.

  • 4TH GENERATION ON MAUI!

    • vinne
    • 1/16/09

    I'TS A WONDERFULL MOVIE!CHARLTON HESTON AT HIS BEST,SHOWING ONEWAY HOW ALL OF USCAME TWO BE HERE, IN HAWAII.WATCHING HAWAIIEN MOVIES GETSME TO UNDERSTAND MY HISTORYMORE ABOUT 300 YRS HERE ON MAUI.HOPE TO SEE ON DVD SOON.THANK YOU VINNE

  • Just as good

    • Cheryl
    • 1/6/09

    It's just as good or better on telling one version of Hawaii's history

  • Charlton Heston's underrated movie

    • Steve Zodiac
    • 4/17/08

    This was one of Heston's most underrated movies. He plays a kind of bad guy in this one, unusual for him. Almost like a "Gordon Gecko" of the 19th century, (but not quite as evil as Michael Douglas' character). It takes place roughly from the 1880's to the 1900's, (though they don't show the dates in the movie, I just estimated that based on clothing styles and available technology, etc). The movie, though dated (even for 1970, it should have been more progressive), shows how whites came to Hawaii and tried to make money and exploit the land and population. The movie should have shown more polynesian Hawaiians, but does a decent job of showing how there isn't really one race of 'Hawaiians' per se, but rather a polyglot of cultures: chinese, japanese, filipino, somoan, polynesian, caucasian, spanish, etc. Many of the characters are mixed-race. I was dissapointed about the portrayal of Hawaii's ruling monarch (she is clearly a white woman with cheap brown makeup and a phoney british accent, a la Madonna), and I wish they would have explored more deeply the travesty of the U.S. annexation and the toppling of the monarchy. Despite these problems, it is an interesting movie to watch, but having been to Hawaii many times, I wish it would have shown more 'polynesian hawaiians'. The film seems to focus on Heston's greed and selfishness, the problems surrounding him and the breakdown of his family; but, it does a good job of showing the parallel story of the Chinese stowaway who struggles to make her own life on the island, with strength, will, and dignity. 3 stars out of 4.

  • Hawai'i without Hawaiians

    • Hali'a
    • 4/12/08

    This painfully dated film (what Michener and his adapters once thought raciallybroad-minded now appears grotesque and condescending) sports a truly bizarre title, since non-Hawaiians appear in the few important Hawaiian character parts there are (Hoxworth's wife and Queen Lili'uokalani). The historically inaccurate portrait of Queen Lili'uokalani is particularly demeaning and offensive...for one thing, making use of the "beheading" demand she never made (refuted in her articulate memoirs). The implication remains that Kanaka Maoli (Hawaiians) were basically barbaric and "hot-headed" people who really were better off having whites run their country. The actor who plays the Queen is certainly not a Hawaiian...the brown make-up and her odd accent would be funny if not a sharp reminder that non-whites have been repeatedly misrepresented in film, and to a late date. "The Hawaiians" can only be viewed as a distressing period piece from a time when the truth of what really happened to the Kingdom of Hawai'i was still successfully suppressed. While TCM is a magnificent channel and serves a hugely important role in historic preservation, Hollywood's long-time misrepresentation of indigenous peoples seems to rate little comment, and that does a disservice to all those who continue to find "vintage" characterizations of Native Americans, Hawaiians,and other indigenous people frustrating and false at best.

  • The Hawaiians

    • Julie
    • 2/1/08

    I've been looking for this movie for a long time. I saw it once & loved it but couldn't remember the title until I went online to TCM.com & found the title, am hoping it is available very soon on home video.

  • Good Sequel

    • Richard
    • 7/12/06

    This film picks up where "Hawaii" left off, covering more of Michener's novel.

  • The Hawaiins

    • rick
    • 5/1/06

    the Hawaiins,,,is a movie that we are looking for on TCM...it is great because it covers many of the social problems of that era...first the life of a sea captain,,,second,,the 1900's plague,,,;leprocy...which then developed the island of molokai,,,so this is i guess a historical movie,,,we would love to view,,,thanks,,

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.