skip navigation
I Love Melvin

I Love Melvin(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

I Love Melvin A photographer''s... MORE > $14.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I Love Melvin Hoover!!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 6/15/16

    There was only ONE Donald O'Connor.

  • Encatador

    • Sonia
    • 11/4/10

    Um filme encantador e fascinante. Com Debbie Reynolds em pleno vigor e frescor de juventude junto com Donald o' Connor danando e irradiando alegria. Uns dos melhores musicais dos anos 5O.

  • confused but excited

    • Kris
    • 12/4/09

    i've not been able to see this movie because netflix and other film experts say it isn't on dvd but i'm glad to find that ti is on dvd but only through Warner Bros. studio. i can't wait. this movie looks like it will be a all time fave of mine especially since i've love debbie reynolds and donald o'connor since "sining in the rain" the positive feedbacks really help too. thanks reviewers!!

  • Debbie Reynolds is a foot ball!

    • Ian
    • 10/31/09

    Absolutely charming piece of cinema! Reynolds and O'Connor are an adorable couple bursting with youth, vitality and chemistry, the musicals numbers are superb especially the "Lady Loves" number and "The Football Ballet". A cute and cuddly story with sweet songs "I know what he/she"ll look like". Definitely one for every MGM fan. Oh, and a director is genius when he can turn his leading actress into a football!

  • You'll Love Melvin,too!

    • Lizzy
    • 6/11/09

    I know I posted a review like,two hours ago,but I just thought of that funny gag as my headline.Ok.Laterz,ma taterz.

  • Oh.My.God.

    • Lizzy
    • 6/11/09

    The headline was all I could say after I saw this movie.I was in awe at the wonderful dancing,singing,and comedic awesomeness from this dynamite movie.Seriously,WORTH WATCHING 100%!!!

  • Finally, Donald O'Connor in a leading role!

    • DougieB
    • 3/17/09

    Donald O'Connor is the all-around actor and entertainer that Danny Kaye got the credit for being. It's a crime that Donald never got to be front and center in more movies. Debbie certainly got her chance, and rightfully so, but what of poor Donald? Try taking your eyes off him when he's on screen. Like Fred Astaire, he was so spot-on that it all looked easy, so maybe that was the problem. Watching him here as he does his dance on roller skates, up and down the stairs with the little girl, I'm in awe of the scope of his talent. It certainly stands up next to any Gene Kelly number I can think of. The movie as a whole isn't first-rate, but it almost doesn't matter, given the level of enery and enthusiasm of these two dynamos. It's a simple pleasure, emphasis on the pleasure.

  • debbie and donald

    • sam
    • 8/14/07

    Debbie Reynolds and Donald O'Connor are very enegetic and are cute together in this movie. They match each other's energy very well. It might not be as great and well known as Singin' in the Rain, but it's definitely worth watching and it is one of my favorite musicals. The movie is very simple and has some sweet songs and dances. Of course Donald O'Connor's dancing is fabulous and both Debbie and Donald shine. They will definitely make you smile!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.