skip navigation
The Big Parade

The Big Parade(1925)

  • Monday, September 1 @ 09:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, November 10 @ 12:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Big Parade In this silent film, a young innocent enlists for World War... MORE > $27.98 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Big Parade

    • Goetan
    • 5/6/13

    A moving WWI silent gem. Gilbert gives a fine performance as a rich soldier who tries to return to a French farm girl after fighting, played by a stunning Adoree. Director Vidor perfectly mixes comedy and now-aged action scenes, and uses the war to show the means in which Gilbert discovers the life he really wants. A great film that should rank as one of the ten best War films ever made. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Big Parade is a Big Hit

    • 9Toes
    • 2/2/12

    Many comments relate to the movie being dated. If this film is dated, so are Shakespeare, Homer, Mark Twain. It IS a silent movie with an audience less cynical than post 9-11. Nevertheless, it remains a telling romance. The sequence of the troops leaving the French town is on paper feels contrived but the artistry of the cinematography and directing reflects too many partings of lovers in war, reflecting the artistry of Shakespeare's silliest plot, ROMEO AND JULIET. The creation of the appropriately named Rainbow Division (a unit made of soldies from all across the US) and unification as a unit remains a constant. The film moves beyond the literal to the literary. The climatic combat sequence is rivaled, in the silent era, only by the battle sequences in BIRTH OF A NATION and WINGS. It holds its own to the Talkies like PATTON and SAVING PRIVATE RYAN as well. 9Toes, Sgt. (out), B Co, 1-16, 1st Inf. Div., Vietnam 1968-1970

  • A Counter Release to WINGS is Needed and Vital!

    • Jeffrey
    • 1/29/12

    All I can say is that back in late 2004 when we were promised a DVD release of this magnificent film some time in 2005, I never thought that here we would be in 2012 and still no sign of anything? The film was fully restored between 2002 and 2004. Allot of time, effort and money went into the project. Where are the results? Will we ever get to see them? 8 years is along time to wait. With Paramount just having released the fully restored WINGS on both DVD and Blu-ray disc from out of nowhere last week, selling briskly, and getting massive reviews, the film that made WINGS possible remains nowhere to be found on home video? So when is that film finally going to be given it's just due? I never thought that Warner's would be upstaged by Paramount, on the release of a major Silent film, but it has clearly happened. While I like WINGS very much, THE BIG PARADE is quite frankly the far superior picture. If Warner's does not release it now that WINGS has been released by Paramount, they are doing serious damage to the films reputation. Because WINGS status is bound to escalate significantly while THE BIG PARADE, the film that made WINGS possible in the first place continues to fade into obscurity. That must not be allowed to happen, and there is no way that it should have to happen either. Most of the work was done the better part of a decade ago, any additional costs it seems to me would be rather minimal/ yet the restored print remains elusive. It hasn't even been on TCM yet. I find that completely inexplicable. Such a great, important, and prolific film, the highest grossing move of the entire decade of the 1920's deserves much better. Please address this issue. Thank you. Sincerely,Jeffrey

  • The Big Parade

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ***1/2

  • The Big Parade

    • macdaddy
    • 8/25/10

    I notice many of the reviewers tend to rave about this movie. It would have been a big hit for the time period but really doesn't hold up well today. I just don't get John Gilbert? He isn't particularly handsome or even good looking and his love-making style is almost a cartoon. Karl Dane steals the picture with his portrayal of Slim. You cannot stop watching him and if you know about his tragic life later the movie role he plays is especially poignant. The scene where they are walking in the woods toward German machine gunners and the soldiers continue to walk forward is laughable. My grandfather was in WW 1 and he told me you never stuck your head out of the trench. A great movie for it's time, but today it is just a history lesson in cinema...

  • The Big Parade

    • Natacha
    • 8/24/10

    This silent anti-war film is excellent and worth watching for many reasons, including the historical context, costumes, the love story, but most relatable to today, the mixed feelings and different reasons why young men go into the military and how the experience of warfare changes their lives forever. My mother's oldest brother was a WWI veteran and he also fought in France. I recall he had an aura of melancholy at times, and wonder if this is why he never married, although he had long term relationships after he returned. Many are not aware of John Gilbert's acting career, and seeing this film is an excellent place to start getting acquainted.

  • Introduction to John Gilbert films.

    • gilfair
    • 1/26/10

    Forty years ago, I had the pleasure of discovering a movie unlike any other I had ever seen. I was fifteen years old, changing the channels on the television, waiting for a Friday late show to begin. On one of my many spins around the dial, I came across our PBS station and stopped. It was showing a silent movie. Now I had seen silent movies before, Charley Chaplin, Laurel and Hardy, Buster Keaton. They were always very funny. But this was different. This was engrossing. The movie I had intended to watch came and went while I was lost in The Great War with a young American soldier and his French sweetheart. The impression that movie made on me that night has never been matched. I've seen a lot of movies in my life, but never have I felt the way I did about The Big Parade.

  • The Greatest all time movie ever!

    • Ronna Langley
    • 5/12/09

    Waiting for years now to be released on DVD - I cannot say enough about the greatness of this film. The first time I saw it, it was only the 3thrd silent film I had seen (many since), and none can compare. I rate this movie as my top 5 favorites of all time. Will continue to wait for that very much anticipated DVD. Hurry before I get old!

  • One of greatest films about WWI

    • Denise Montgomery
    • 3/15/08

    This is one of the greatest films ever made about American participation in WWI, and one of the most romantic films of a wartime relationship ever made, The clip of Renee Adoree running behind the truck saying farewell to John Gilbert as he is carried off to the front, and he is frantically tossing whatever he can to her is poignant, and funny at the same time, since he almost knocks her over with one of his thrown boots, with she clutches passionately! The scene of the troops walking through the woods, in time to the metronome, has an eerie sense of the impending danger awaiting them shortly that I have never seen captured so well in any other war film. With the centennial of America's entry into the war less than a decade away, why is this not available? It was one of the biggest hits of the 20s-and this was before they had the Oscars!

  • THE BEST

    • Ed Turnbull
    • 12/23/06

    I've probably seen fewer than 200 classic silent movies in my life..with Ramon Navaro, Gloria Swanson, Louise Brooks, Von Stroheim, Valentino, Garbo, Chaplin, etc.,this is the best of them all. John Gilbert is magnificent.

  • A great buddy and love movie.

    • lawrence wittie
    • 1/22/06

    Both hawks and doves shouldsee this film.It has loyalty,love,and the horrors of war.great acting from a great cast.I would love a copy on d.v.d.It is a must see and must own.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.