skip navigation
The Passion of Joan of Arc

The Passion of Joan of Arc(1928)

Contribute

FOR The Passion of Joan of Arc (1928) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Passion of Joan of Arc In this silent film, Joan of... MORE > $26.99 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Passion of Joan of Arc

    • Goetan
    • 9/21/13

    The single greatest movie about Joan of Arc. Taken from transcripts from the original trial, Joan is persecuted as a servant of Satan and burned at the stake. Falconetti, who we mostly see in close up in her sole film performance, gives a haunting and memorable performance as the title character, who the audience feel her suffering in that face. The blank spaces and roving camera give psychological drama to the story, where director Dreyer reinvents the medium of film. A tragic, moving story of a woman whose soul has became a part of France. I give it a 5/5.

  • very good classic movies / thank you very much

    • margarita
    • 9/10/13

    thank you very much for good classic movies ( history movies)

  • Absolutely Riveting

    • Sara
    • 8/17/13

    This film haunted me for a month. Those huge, sorrowful eyes! No wonder she only made one film - this must have been harrowing. You will cry.

  • The Passion of Joan of Arc

    • J.M.Gallego
    • 12/23/12

    La Passion de Jeanne d'Arc is hands down one of the greatest films ever made, in any era. I am a silent film fan, and have seen virtually every silent film made; Maria Falconetti's performance is breathtaking, and stunning. Her ability to empathize with the historical character is apparent throughout the movie. I have seen this film numerous times, and watch it whenever it is on TCM. You will not be disappointed.

  • The Passion of Joan of Arc

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ****

  • THE PASSION OF JOAN OF ARC

    • Jeanne
    • 3/3/11

    I have to say that, although C.T. Dreyer was one of the best filmmakers during the early days of cinema. "The Passion of Joan of Arc" is one of his best achievements.Maria Falconetti delivers a strong and compelling performance as the lead character.Like Ingmar Bergman's "The Seventh Seal", this film has an ethereal, mystical air that lingers with you long after the ending.If you are a fan of the European early films, you can't miss this one.I only wish it was available on CD.

  • Amazing

    • Ian
    • 4/24/10

    This really is an amazing film. It's a shame that Falconetti only made this one film -- she is the Meryl Streep of silent films.You can now buy a DVD of this at Amazon for around 30 bucks -- it is well worth the investment.

  • the passion of Joan of Arc (1928)

    • MSorensen
    • 4/5/10

    I never heard of this version before seeing it this morning. Now I feel a bit urgent about being able to get a copy! Did any one tape this? Please contact me! I cannot imagine TCM not showing this again, and soon! In prime time! It was so intense I was afraid to go to sleep right after for fear of nightmares. I wondered why God seems to ask So Much from those who love Him most?

  • The Passion of Joan of Arc

    • Marianne Lasater
    • 4/5/10

    I am a great fan of Joan of Arc movies and stories. But I must say, that The Passion of Joan of Arc was the best representation of this saint; especially since the documentation of the dialogue in her trial was reproduced. I also found the music from Poulenc's opera beautifully done. I would like to obtain a copy of this opera and/ or the Voices of Light, but am not sure of the title of the opera; as I do not recall credits at the end. This movie was especially moving for me, as I am of French desent. In addition, when I joined the Catholic Church last year, I chose Joan of Arc as my saint. Sincerely,Marianne Lasater

  • oh what a score

    • barbara marcus
    • 4/5/10

    music is incredible...acting for a silent is unbelievable...it truly puts all other joan's to shame

  • The Passion of Joan of Arc (1928)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/13/10

    100/100. A brilliant, absolutely brilliant film. Breathtaking, with amazing performances from everyone in the cast. One of the greatest silent films ever made and among the greatest films of all time. Moving, unforgettable, and Maria Falconetti is mesmerizing. She is incredible, and lights up the screen in every frame. This is a must see film for anyone seriously interested in film and film history. Visually it is a remarkable achievement, especially the frequent close ups. Well edited and a film that is not easily forgotten, thanks to the extraordinary vision of director Carl Theodor Dreyer. He has created a cinematic piece of art.

  • Nonpareil!

    • j gordon
    • 7/23/07

    Absolutely the most powerful, intense silent film I have ever watched.Christians of all denominations, and perhaps those of other faiths as well, would do well to watch and heed the symbolic messages presented in this film. The director, Mr. Dreyer, has created a masterpiece in film that surely ranks as equal the arts created by Michelangelo, DaVinci and other noted artists prior to the advent of the moving picture.

  • Sublimity Unsurpassed

    • Jason_Els
    • 9/4/06

    Since it was released, "The Passion of Joan of Arc," has ranked in the highest regard of viewers, directors, actors, critics, and nearly everyone who has ever seen it. Decades have passed but there, at the heights, it remains.The original was lost (ironically to two fires) for 60 years and only shown once in its complete form but even then, audiences raved over the remaining fractions. By a miracle rediscovered, restored, and now back to its original form, Dreyer's, "Passion," is like no other film, even others of Dreyer's. The cast, the camera, are perfection. Falconetti gives the best performance ever captured on film. I don't give this praise lightly, I have seen thousands of films from all times and genres and still nothing touches it. She is Jeanne d'Arc.Dreyer's camera strips away any sentiment and dives deep into the pure emotion of the characters, focusing upon them in tight close-ups, mimicing the human eye's tendency to focus attention on the center of the screen. There is no tableau of action, as such, in a space. The viewer is forced into the scene and participates. Either we open ourselves to it or we do not. It is impossible to watch this film impassively. Dreyer took an immense risk by doing this, any false action or look by any of the cast would be caught immediately. That falsehood never comes, instead, we're enraptured by the film and most people come away emotionally disturbed. Forget the soda and popcorn. This film is like eavesdropping at a confessional.Originally shown with no score, Richard Einhorn's, "Voices of Light," actually improves the film, capturing the moods perfectly. A beautiful work in its own right, the two complement each other brilliantly.You can't help but feel by the end that you've watched Joan's trial and execution, magically captured on film 600 years ago.

  • Unforgettable; maybe THE greatest of the silents

    • ECJ
    • 9/3/06

    Anyone who has ever seen Falconetti's face can never forget it. This is the only movie she ever made, and we are lucky to have it. Any serious student of film needs to see this at least once. Carl Dreyer's direction and Rudolph Mate's cinematography are stark, haunting, profoundly moving. The story of Jeanne d'Arc passed into myth centuries ago. This, the definitive film version, has also attained mythic status. Extraordinary on every level. (I don't know that I have ever given a film a "10" in nearly every category. "The Passion of Joan of Arc" deserves them all.)

  • Mesmerizing Performances

    • Maria
    • 9/3/06

    The Passion of Joan of Arc is mesmerizing from the very beginning.The interesting camera angles and fascinating facial expressions of all the cast hold your attention.The music is perfect for the movie.

  • The Greatest Film of All Time?

    • Richard Matuszewski
    • 8/31/06

    Falconetti gives the most riveting performance I have ever seen by any actress or actor! If only silent films could have had sub-titles instead of title cards so as not to interrupt the action. The currently available version has a new music score by Richard Einhorn that is exquisite in its own right. After watching this stark masterpiece, I can only think that Norma Desmond was absolutely right!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.