skip navigation
Of Human Hearts

Of Human Hearts(1938)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Of Human Hearts A rebellious son neglects his... MORE > $16.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A War Horse Movie

    • richard faunce
    • 6/18/13

    This picture impressed me when I saw it at age ten.I thought of it again when War Horse came out. I thought War Horse might be a remake.Would like to see it again to compare.

  • One of those old gems !

    • Alice
    • 7/3/12

    What a great film for family viewing and for those who home school. This film teaches those kinds of values like repentance, taking responsibility for one's actions, and forgiveness. Parents and responsible older adults used to take the initiative and use life circumstances as "teachable moments". That is how character is developed in children, even today. Fine film. Thank you, TCM for showing this one. Please keep on showing this one and others like it.

  • revised w corrections: "

    • HarrisAllen
    • 5/13/11

    It also is about not merely just (perhaps those last 3 words r toO wordy?) a "father/son" (only child, n this case) story, but moreover that of a bit of a roust-a-bout "preacher" (sum what extreme

    • HarrisAllen
    • 5/13/11

    It also is about (not merely just?) a "father/son" (only child, n this case) story, but moreover that of a bit of a roust-a-bout "preacher" (sum what extreme

  • Great Movie! Loved It!

    • Jimmy Fan
    • 5/10/11

    Just seen this for the first time. I loved it! They don't make movies like these any more. Went to see if available for purchase, but unfortunately it's not. Hope they release this on DVD. Our family definitely wants to add to our home library.

  • Of Human Hearts

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    **1/2

  • Heartfelt!

    • Rosalind
    • 4/7/11

    Such a great gem of a movie from the past. This movie is named well "Of Human Hearts". The movie delivers such a great storyline showing the true depth of love and humbleness, while in contrast, showing the depth of human selfishness and carelessness. Movie great!

  • They Dont Make 'Em Like This Anymore

    • Laura J
    • 2/15/09

    What a great film. I knew when I saw the cast line up that it would be. A only child given whatever his poor Mom can give him but it never is enough. Takes Abe Lincoln to show him his selfish ways(when you see the movie you will know what I mean). Don't miss it!.

  • Terrific!

    • Golda Woods
    • 3/6/07

    What a wonderful family film! Had never even heard of it before we saw it on TMC. James Stewart was such a magnificent actor and so versatile. My 19 year old son was in awe of this movie. So many wonderful lessons in this story. You don't see many movies with good messages like this today. Please have it on your schedule again soon, and is definitely one we would purchase if it was available on DVD. Hopeful it will be sooner than later!

  • In the name of Love.....

    • FrankieCee
    • 3/6/07

    It's sad how we take advantage of those we love, for the sake of love and how we so selfishly, many times, consider only our own feelings...parental self-sacrifice in the name of love....takes me back to the days when "Dad" would recite that old adage; "money doesn't grow on trees"...this film is timeless in that respect, it will never grow old as long as there are parents and children of those parents. I especially applaud Jason's epiphany, his final realization, from the words proffered by Abraham Lincoln..a philosophy very much akin to Jason's father's, so long ago...a lesson well-learned is so valuable, especially when it is realized in a timely fashion....what a splendid film, great acting, great storyline, great "everything"...they (sadly) don't make movies like that anymore....

  • Great!

    • Richard D
    • 4/7/06

    This movie was Great and would like my children to watch it. Tt was emotional and I know that my family would like it.Please show again.Thank You

  • Great movie

    • Maggie Maguire
    • 4/6/06

    I had never heard of this movie before. I had a vacation day and was checking what TCM had on this afternoon. To my delight, it was a good black and white melodrama. What a movie. Portrayed a man with legalistic cruelty in a way that I hadn't seen before. That fight scene between him and his son was heartbreaking and powerful. Show it again! Good work, TCM!

  • Wonderful Movie

    • jsingle2@rochester.rr.com
    • 3/2/06

    This movie was definitely given an appropriate title. It connected to modern day life and the one constant connection between l938 and the time period of this movie which ends toward the Civil War, - is how the human heart does not change. It is a wonderful movie about parental love, children growing up and becoming mature and responsible!The acting was superb! - Jimmy Stewart at his finest.I loved it and hope Turner Classic plays it again and again - especially during the day time hours. I happened to wake up a little after 4:30 in the am, turn on the movie and sobbed into daylight. It connected to my heart from l938! Masterfully done and would certainly be a movie worth remaking again today. It could be enhanced by today's color, sound and music technology and artistry!Thank you Turner Classics for your 40 days of Oscars - I wish you would play more of them - more of the time - they are Classics and classics never grow old!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.