skip navigation
Sunrise: A Song of Two Humans

Sunrise: A Song of Two Humans(1927)

  • Monday, November 17 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sunrise: A Song... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Sunrise: I Married a Psychopath

    • noodles
    • 9/17/13

    After my first viewing of this movie, I could never board a row-boat without first checking for bulrushes.

  • Can't believe it !

    • Alice
    • 9/17/13

    I surprised myself at how much I enjoyed this film. I wasn't even going to watch it, until I heard Robert Osborne talking about it. It wasn't long after the film began, I was hooked on it. I couldn't do anything else but watch and enjoy myself thoroughly. Loved the story, the actors, even the grandmother ! Loved the camera work. Great movie. Thank you so much for blessing us with it, and thank you, Robert, over and over again, for your fine expert descriptions and commentary. Keep this up, and you'll make a silent movie fan out of me. I still don't care for foreign flicks though.

  • Sunrise

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-2/5Lead Performers-1/5Supporting cast-1/5Director-4/5Screenplay-1/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-2/5

  • Love It (and I'm not a silent movie fan)

    • KonaRose
    • 6/24/13

    I just thought I would give it a try - boy was I hooked on this movie. It amazes me how much boldness and innuendo these older movies throw in, before they had stricter guidelines. It had the usual type of plot, but it didn't play out as expected. The scenery is beautiful, the little teeny town and the water, the walk through the woods -- glorious! The morality issue remains strong throughout the movie and I really enjoyed how it turned out.I hope TCM will play it again soon because it is a very enjoyable movie.

  • GOOD movie

    • Margarita
    • 11/8/12

    REQUEST : TO SEE -- MYSTTTTERIOUS LADYTHANK YOU VERY MUCH

  • Sunrise

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/1/12

    Not only a good film from the silent era, but the greatest of all silents. O' Brien & Gaynor give sensetive & emotionally charged performances, with Gaynor winning the first 'Best Actress' oscar. The ground- breaking cinematography is something that needs to be seen to fully appreciate the artistic power of 'Sunrise.' Overall, a film that's still wrought with mighty power. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Sunrise - a source for Hitchcock?!

    • PC
    • 3/31/12

    I fell in love with this movie a few years ago when I accidentally watched in the wee hours of having insomnia- it was perfect because I was in a sleepless trance yet this movie totally captivated me and I didn't need sound so I wouldn't wake the household, intermittently muting it except for the dramatic scenes-- but what cinematography?! total eye candy for a photographer like myself! And I've never been so moved by straight-up acting with no sound... and filmed in this illustrative way- especially for a silent movie! I've since learned what an important movie it is (not that I couldn't have guessed it) and tonight for the first time WITH sound (no muting) heard something that blew my mind... it was the Alfred Hitchcock Presents snippet "Funeral March of a Marionette" during the photo portrait scene!! all along I felt a Hitchcockian presence in the film, especially the thriller format portrayed in a love triangle, and of course the beautiful settings traveling contrasting country and city which reminded me of The Birds, Strangers On A Train and even Vertigo, to name a few... So it turns out this was no mistake by Hitchcock and he actually chose it for his tv theme, and I can see why... in the scene, the blunder of this naive couple with limited culture thinking they broke a headless statue and the mischief that ensued was a cheeky twist of irony and hallmark of Hitchcock's sense of humor! the innocuous "McGuffin" play that emerges innocently and keeps you guessing what it was supposed to mean, which is usually nothing but ALWAYS entertaining!! Every time I see this movie I discover something new- being a Hitchcock fan this was a big epiphany for me!

  • Perfect

    • Kimberly
    • 7/20/11

    This is one of my favorite silent films and my favorite by F.W Murnou. Janet Gaynor is simply adorable as the faithful wife and you can't help but root for her. The city scenes were mesmerizing and instantly makes you feel as if there is no one else in the world but these two people. This film is so gripping, you can't take your eyes off the screen. It's now one of my 20 year old daughter's favorite movies as well!

  • Sunrise: A Song of Two Humans (1927)

    • Jeff
    • 6/28/11

    The greatest silent film didn't involve Chaplin, Keaton, Garbo, Lloyd, Gilbert, Valentino, or DW Griffith. It was made by FW Murneau and set the standards for many films that would come after it. The film is about a man (George O'Brien) who is almost convinced into drowning his wife (Janet Gaynor). The leads, O'Brien and Gaynor, turn in the best performances of their careers. However, Murneau's direction is the true MVP. This film is still haunting after all these years.

  • Sunrise

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    *****

  • Surise, A Song of Two Humans

    • Natacha
    • 2/6/11

    Beautiful story, amazingly told by F.W. Murnau. The cinematography is brilliant, ahead of its time. Well worth watching. All the actors do a fine job.

  • Sunrise (1927)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/16/10

    This amazing silent film is very poignant and brilliantly acted by Janet Gaynor in an Academy Award winning performance. Well acted by all. The cinematography is striking. F.W. Murnau has crafted a beautiful and unforgettable film.

  • A Masterpiece

    • Rick
    • 3/23/09

    I you are a fan of silent films do not miss this one.

  • A TRUE GEM!

    • Laura J
    • 2/1/09

    When I first saw the movie I thought it was reall good, however it needed a few days to sink in and then I realized this was not good but GREAT. A movie like no other I have seen and it is just amazing how actors had to get there thoughts and feelings across with there eyes and movement during the silent film era. Dont miss it.

  • First Rate

    • Lola
    • 4/6/08

    Exquisite...five stars

  • Oscar for Beautiful

    • Deb Peg
    • 2/7/08

    In 1927, "Wings" won the award for best movie. In that same year, and only in that year, an Academy Award was also given to this film for most beautiful. I suppose it was before they had a word such as cinematography. Anyone who would hope to live up to that word would have to see this film. It is a beautiful movie. Yes, the story is sentimental at times, but the emotion is portrayed in a manner not usually, perhaps not never, seen in any movie made since with sound. It is what it is, a beautiful film. The images are spectacular. I will watch it over and over.

  • A Pinnacle of Excellence

    • Fairb38
    • 2/4/08

    The high praise for this film is not excessive. One of the most tragic things about having finished my teaching career 15 years ago was that no print of Sunrise was then available. Consequently, hundreds of young people were never exposed to Murnau's genius and to the exquisite poetry of this moving work. Some of the acting is excessive and banal. But the film, as a complete work, never falters. No American student should finish his or her education without seeing and understanding the wonder of this film. It is not a German film but a genuine example of what can happen when universal genius is channeled through the technical and creative force of American creativity. To not know this film is to not know movies at all.

  • Sunrise- Pure Perfection

    • Barry Nevin
    • 9/20/07

    I'll make this review a short one- Many films may strive for perfection, but I am not exaggerating when I say that Sunrise most certainly achieves it: I have yet to see a film of the same excellent quality that conveys raw and tender emotions, such compelling performances (Janet Gaynor certainly deserved her Oscar) and beautiful effects, that is universally appealing (as is Sunrise).....and I doubt that I ever will.

  • Sunrise

    • jane adams
    • 5/1/06

    This is a wonderful heartfilling movie. It has every emotion and all are so believable that you just can't take your eyes off the two beautiful stars for a moment. There aren't many words(captions) and they don't need them. It is a beautiful forever kind of movieEverything about this movie is a 10.

  • The FIRST TALKING picture......

    • Chuckee
    • 2/5/06

    I must rate SUNRISE a large TEN.....Why is Sunrise the first TALKING film...? If you listen closely at one of the city scenes you will hear all sorts of marvelous city sounds. Then all of a sudden you hear a workman talking...actually shouting out a command. He must have been a foreman. It is in the film that features all sort of sounds to get feeling and mood. I have always thought that sound was so new they were not sure how to handle it....again and again such marvelous sounds but no talking....YET. There is a streetcar scene that is astounding. You feel you are on a streetcar that is a part of the story. The action takes place in a tremendously long shot....you see what actually was going on in real life at the time as it moves. The lack of too many titles makes the film more real also. Sunrise pulls you right into the film. Janet Gaynor pulls at your heart strings. I go so excited when I read it would be on TCM (of course) I spilled some coffee. There is even a music score that is great.....You will love it.....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.