skip navigation
King Solomon's Mines

King Solomon's Mines(1950)

  • Saturday, July 26 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, October 17 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

King Solomon's Mines A spirited widow hires a... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Pretty Good Film

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/6/13

    The best part of this film is when they meet the Watusi tribe. I also was impressed with Granger, especially after seeing a couple of his other films. I think he shines here as I could believe he was a guide.

  • King Solomon's Mines 1950

    • Karen Welch
    • 5/6/13

    This movie is certainly the best of all the other versions. It holds up today and the use of actual natives so enhances the movie. Interesting and worth one's time. It's one that's in my vault. Karen Welch

  • Colorful African Locations & People

    • Sean Oliver
    • 5/6/13

    The actors, plot and story are above average, but not especially noteworthy. It's the cast of African extras vividly filmed in color and live sound on remote locations who steal the show - hands down. We're treated to footage featuring communal singing, drumming and dancing, the magnificent dress and appearance of hunters and warriors, and the odd-looking 'Watusi' tribesmen, rail-thin and seven-feet tall, towering over the actors. I'd imagine this footage was something of a rarity in 1950. Although photojournalists had already shot a fair amount of film featuring people in remote areas, they had to use hand-held 16mm cameras using grainy, low-light, B&W film. They seldom filmed in color, nor could they film using bulky sound equipment. It was too difficult back then.Here, we're fortunate to get both, in high quality, from a time when the inhabitants remained relatively untouched by the encroaching technological world.

  • Highly enjoyable movie adventure.

    • Muriel
    • 1/27/13

    When it was released on DVD a few years ago, some people said it was racist. Not sure why, since it starts out showing Quatermain's respect and affection for his native employees and his contempt for white "tourists". Later, as they get further into unknown territory, the superstitious & frightened bearers decamp. Well, that certainly happened in historical times, and there are many contemporary news items about how superstitious people still are in many african countries. So phooey on any accusations of racial insenstivity .For a Hollywood movie, this is an excellent adventure yarn. Stewart Granger is quite a hunk and it is emphasized by having him always with his shirt open and his sleeves rolled up.This is closer to the book than the 1937 version, which bore little resemblance to the novel.It's still not much like the book. There are no women in the original novel, which was more suspenseful, more dangerous and more violent.

  • King Solomon's Mines

    • Bruce C
    • 1/29/12

    One of the great "Africa" classics of all time. Some of the earliest color filmof the wildlife and the natives on the great continent. Pairing Stewart Grangerand Deborah Carr created good chemistry for viewers looking for mystery,adventure that builds with each scene. The cast of actors hits the mark. Itsnot over done, nor under done - perhaps is why it is such a classic film. Withtwo Oscars housed and three other nominations truly identifies its worth.

  • Better than I thought it would be.

    • Rachel Masters
    • 2/1/10

    When I read about this movie I thought it was going to be overwrought and goofy, and I was determined not to watch it but the other day my Dad happened to catch it on TV at the beginning so I thought why not watch the film. It turns out I really enjoyed this movie and the real treat was that we watched it in HD on TCM. Being filmed on location gives this film awesome cinematograghy and it's cool to see the animals too. There were some things wrong with the movie also, for example:1. Why are all the wild animals antagonizing only Deborah Kerr and no one else? Probably to add drama but they did that too much she was the only one who ran into the scary cretures.2.when a man is helping a woman down from a high place and they accidently bump into each other and come face to face is really used to much in ALL movies its like a cliche or something.3. Sometimes when you get in trouble the best thing to do is to be quiet, not scream. Deborah Kerr was just a little too Dramatic. Don't get me Wrong she is one of my Fav's but since this is one of her first movies I guess it makes sense that she would over do it a little... or maybe alot. over all it was an Ok film.

  • This is a cut version.

    • midge
    • 10/15/09

    This is one of my all-time favorite films. But this is a cut-for-a-2 hour-TV version. Please try to restore the lost scenes. The original ran closer to 130 minutes. The ending was literally a 'cliff hanger' and extremely suspenseful - here it's been cut to nothing. Also, I believe there were two tribal dance scenes in the original cut. The original cut is a far, far better movie - and would also make a wonderful DVD with the original cut restored.

  • An absolute jewel of a movie.

    • Monica
    • 6/14/08

    Intrigue, adventure, mystery and romance are set against an authentic Africa background with an outstanding cast of characters. The acting is superb, the story line keeps you on edge, and it's a insightful dipiction of Afican life in the late 1800's. Absolutely delightful! One of those movies that makes you dream of going on an African Safari. It is in my movie library and one of my top 10 favorites of all time. Subsequent versions do not even come close.

  • Great adventure movie

    • Helen
    • 10/20/07

    I have not read the book so I don't know how it compares to it. But I loved the movie. There is a lot of adventure in it and the acting is great. If you like adventure movies, you should like this one.

  • GOES FAR AWAY FROM THE NOVEL

    • r s sethi
    • 4/28/06

    it was disappointing to see this film which promised much in the earlier scenes. It should have stuck to the original novel as far as possible. The second half of the film was totally unconvincing and a tame thriller as compared to the novel.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.