skip navigation
City Lights

City Lights(1931)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

City Lights In this silent film, the Little Tramp tries to help a blind... MORE > $23.99 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • City Lights

    • Goetan
    • 9/13/13

    The masterpiece and summary of what Chaplin's films were about. Chaplin falls for a blind flower girl and has a complicated relationship with a drunken millionaire. Although it was evident that sound was here to stay, Chaplin still uses silent cinema to make use of his Tramp's body language. The story is funny, particularly in the boxing scene, and touching with one of the most emotional and eye-swelling endings ever. Although some might say "The Gold Rush," "Modern Times" or "The Great Dictator" are Chaplin's best, "City Lights" would be a close second. I give it a 5/5.

  • One of the all-time greats!

    • Andy
    • 3/11/12

    Charlie Chaplin's hilarious, moving and heartbreaking romantic comedy is by all means a classic. One of the most beautiful and hilarious films I've ever viewed, Chaplin does brilliant work, directing, starring and writing with not only slapstick energy, but with excellent romance and heart. Featuring some of his funniest scenes (like the hilarious Boxing scene), Chaplin also brings a beautiful heart to the film, which leaves you very moved!

  • alec baldwin

    • r. ray
    • 1/13/12

    On the essentials alec compared Charlie Chaplin's genius to jim carrey and I believe it was ben stiller. Robert Osborne gave good reasons why carrey and especially stiller are not of the caliber of Chaplin. The obvious comparison would have been Woody Allen a screenwriter, director, actor, soundtrack writer, and musician. And I thought Rose McGowan was a bad host.

  • Simply beautiful!

    • RedRain
    • 1/7/12

    This film was made for $1.5 million - a staggering amount of money for 1931! Chaplin, ever the perfectionist, insisted on take after take as he always did and the money added up quickly. You laugh and you cry throughout the film and many believe it is Chaplin's best. As in many of his films, if you can keep a tear from your eye at the end, you don't get it. Get ready for an emotional rollercoaster ride. There's comedy, there's pathos, there's compassion and there is so much soul. It's a visual feast and it warms your heart! A truly great film!

  • My Favorite

    • gerry mandel
    • 1/7/12

    Chaplin had a lot of great films. "City Lights," in my opinion, was his best... and that says a lot. All I can say is, if you haven't seen it since its digital restoration, you owe it to yourself to check this out.

  • the black fighter

    • Kris
    • 7/2/11

    loved the movie, as I do all Chaplin's. However, isn't the black fighter Joe Louis? I don't see him in the credits. Pity.

  • City Lights (1931)

    • Jeff
    • 6/30/11

    Charlie Chaplin's film is a definite masterpiece of comedy. Made silent when the sound era was emerging, this was a huge score for Chaplin. The film is about how the Little Tramp (Chaplin) tries to impress a blind girl (Virginia Cherrill). Chaplin's performance, as always, is excellent. His direction is the same. The film is hilarious, just what you would expect of the best comedy of all time. The highlight of the film is when the Little Tramp must go into a boxing match.

  • City Lights

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/8/11

    *****

  • My favorite Chaplin film

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 2/20/08

    City Lights is my favorite Chaplin film because of it's simplicity and sweetness, and it's a very well made film. I laughed and cried at this one, and who couldn't fall in love with the Little Tramp's efforts to help the woman he loves? I'm glad that, even though "talkies" were becomming more and more popular in Hollywood at this time, Chaplin chose to make this a silent film. In my opinion, the film is flawless.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.