skip navigation
Gunga Din

Gunga Din(1939)

  • Wednesday, August 13 @ 11:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gunga Din Three British soldiers seek... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • do not forget annie

    • catherine
    • 8/11/13

    Please remember the best actress Annie the elephant.

  • Adventure genre at its best!

    • RedRain
    • 7/15/13

    Five stars for the five great actors - Grant, Fairbanks, McLaglen, Jaffe, Cianelli - who give us an adventure and action film like few others ever have! The backstory is European colonialism that is caught up by the appearance of the worshippers of Kali, the Thuggees. Thuggees had marauded India since 1356 and were mass murderers. The British seek to colonialize India when two of their soldiers, Grant and McLaglen, stumble into a group of Thuggees. From here, the story unfolds. There is great action and a lot of humor. Sam Jaffee, looking nothing like he did in real life thanks to an incredible makeup job, gives an absolutely unforgettable performance as Gunga Din. I do not recommend this film for children, as there are some horrific torture scenes; however, for a first-rate film for adults, you can rarely get better than this!

  • Plenty of Both

    • Graham Thomas
    • 8/31/12

    Howard Thompson said that. One of, if not the best action adventure film from Hollywood. One of Cary's best. See also William Goldman's early novel Temple of Gold. That last scene always gets me. Ever see a grown man cry?

  • Adventure,Treasure,Comrades-in-arms

    • Cary On
    • 7/20/12

    Thanks for Mr Osbourne and the featured guests before and after on 7/19/12

  • Great Action/Adventure

    • Din
    • 7/16/12

    LOVE THIS MOVIE! Great Cary Grant part,enjoyed the Rover Boys/SGTs.Eduordo Ciannelli scary as the Guru.

  • Dashiell Barnes

    • Gunga Din
    • 7/16/12

    "Gunga Din" joins the list of first-rate adventure films from the 30's that includes "The Adventures of Robin Hood" & "Mutiny on the Bounty." Grant, McLaglen & Fairbanks, Jr. have amazing, brother-like chemistry & even under makeup, Jaffe is believable as the title character. Acute attention to detail & Oscar-nominated photography brings Kipling's poem to life, also added is humour & a shining story. An excellent film filled with suspence, humour & lots of action. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Gunga Din

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/22/11

    Pretty good adventure film but at a two-hour running time many scenes seem a bit too long. Also, some dramatic scenes come across as unintentionally humorous. The moments of intentional humor--mainly provided by Grant--are pretty funny though.

  • GREAT ADVENTURE MOVIE

    • alexander perez
    • 5/29/11

    this film was one of the inspirations for the Indiana Jones movies, it's use of thugees, deadly snakes, sweeping landscapes, stirring action, and touches of humor. Cary Grant outdoes himself here, being the most comedic out of Douglas Fairbanks,jr. and Victor Maclaglen. one of the grandest adventure films to come out of hollywood, right up there with THE CHARGE OF THE LIGHT BRIGADE, also about Britain's colonization of africa in the 19th century.

  • Gunga Din

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    *****

  • Gunga Din (1939)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 10/13/09

    Very exciting classic action adventure film with an awesome cast. Splashes of humor throughout add a great touch. Wonderful and rousing score. Never boring, always exciting. This film has it all - romance, action, adventure, drama, comedy..what more couold you want?

  • LOVE

    • Marilyn
    • 7/27/08

    this movie. It is a treasure. Every one of the main actors were top stars, including Sam Jaffe. This movie is definitely a classic, and a must see. It is one of my all time favorites. Plus, it came out in that Golden Year of 1939.

  • Too much fun!

    • David
    • 3/20/08

    This exciting and funny classic works on many levels. I watched it with my daughter when she was very young, perhaps just 4 or 5. She loved it . . . plenty of physical comedy and fast-moving plot developments. 25 years later, we both still love it!

  • "You're a better man than I, Gunga Din"

    • FrankieCee
    • 3/20/08

    "Gunga Din": one of the greatest adventure stories ever told! A story about a foreign legion in India and a lowly "water-bearer" named Gunga Din, a local denizen who aspires to be just like his military counterparts, 3 British sergeants whose loyalty and camaraderie for each other extend far beyond the bounds of simple patriotism. Their's is a true and abiding friendship for one another and each would be willing to give his life for the other. Gunga Din wants to be a soldier too, but can never attain the rank due to his subordinate social rank. But heroes are not made according to social standing, they're made through their willingness to sacrifice for the greater good of the others. Gunga Din proves the value of his mettle but can he ever attain the rank he so fervently seeks?...."You're a better man than I, Gunga Din"!

  • Colorized-

    • Jim
    • 1/8/07

    I know some people will disagree-- But I would love to see the colorized version agiain. A DVD would be fantastic.

  • Recommended classic film for adventure buffs.

    • Tracy Turner
    • 8/26/06

    I'm 53 and I first saw this movie when I was a teenager. It captured my imagination with it's far off adventures in India and the excitement of danger. I watch this film about once every 6 or 7 years and it still captivates me just as it did so many years ago. I place it in my all time favorites list with Casablanca, Maltese Falcon, To Have and Have Not, Key Largo, and others of the like. A classic for sure!

  • Gunga Din

    • Philip Fichaetti
    • 3/8/06

    A good action movie with great actors.A movie that is still a classic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.