skip navigation
Pandora's Box

Pandora's Box(1929)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Pandora's Box - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Pandora's Box

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/6/12

    One of the last great silent films of the '20's. Brooks is extraordinary as a woman whose sexuality ruins the lives of those around her, including herself in a chilling finale. Stylish sets & costumes are part of a modern, unique & sometimes dull story. Will be best remembered for Brooks' performance. I give it a 4/5.

  • What a treat!

    • Joey Traughber
    • 11/23/11

    Louise Brooks is totally brilliant in this movie! That's basically all I can say because I totally love this movie!

  • More than meets the eye

    • FMC
    • 11/14/11

    This was an excellent film, great character development and showed how actors without the need for dialog can convey so much more than words. The one ability of humans is their ability to convey so much with a look, a gesture a slight movement. No other animal does this so well. The subtle nature of this great American born actress, Louise Brooks, is dramatically demonstrated here. She captivates you and portrays a rich and 3 dimensional person with amazing grace. I highly recommend this film.

  • Pandora's Box

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ***1/2

  • best ever

    • tom
    • 2/24/11

    This is the best silent film I've ever seen. Louise Brooks portrayal as Lulu is timeless. I was seduced by her! I also enjoyed how the movie's different acts kept you entranced--wanting more. What an ending!

  • Loved it!

    • Lauara J
    • 2/2/11

    First off, I taped this movie on DVR and unfortunately it wasnt timed right by TCM because it said it was 2 hours and it ran slightly higher thus I didnt see the last few minutes and really have no clue what happened. However, that being said the rest of the movie was awesome! A real shocker considering this is from 1928, however I beleive Germany was advanced as far as movie making goes and I would like to see not only this movie again with correct timing by TCM, but more from this diretcor. Dont miss it.

  • Pandora's Box (1928)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/16/10

    Louise Brooks is hauntingly beautiful and mesmerizing. The movie is a lot more risque than you would expect. It is well acted by all. Excellent cinematography and costumes. Francis Lederer is quite memorable. His silent film performances are better than his talkies. Great story, a bit too long but it is a fascinating film.

  • Pandora's Box

    • Willis
    • 1/24/07

    G. W. Pabst brought Louise Brooks to Germany to make this film. Her role as Lulu is one of the great performances of all time. Her Dutch bob hair style and tremendous sex appeal made her an icon of the Jazz Age. She was a sexually liberated woman who played a similar character. This film was very modern for its day and was a ground breaker for showing Lulu's relationship with a lesbian.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.