skip navigation
The Miniver Story

The Miniver Story(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Miniver Story A brave family comes together... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My favorite Greer Garson film

    • Leslie Fox
    • 8/26/13

    I didn't know this film existed until TCM aired it during April when Greer Garson was the 'Star of the Month'. Having viewed it now quite a number of times ..as well as having read several articles and reviews about it (both professional and viewer), I have decided this is now my favorite of all the sixteen films by Greer Garson I have seen. Her performance is so understated, wistful and dignified. Yes, it is a fictional screenplay..but one in which she took an active part in planning. Despite her own health problems as well as her husband having had a heart attack in NYC and her favorite producer, Sidney Franklin, being unable to join the cast in London and the director (H.C. Potter) having to leave England before the end of the filming, it is a beautiful film! I absolutely love it! There are some wonderful scenes. I would say my favorite is the scene in the doctor's office ("You're going to tell me something.") I've got it now on my iPad and iPhone and can call it up the entire movie any time. Yes, we know the 'true story' about what happened to her 'son' Vin and why he is not mentioned in the film. Just enjoy this one as it is. Her own performance rings true in every scene. That was her 'gift' to us. Even now, 60 years later, we can enjoy her performance just as we enjoy those of so many other fine performers, now 'gone', from the Golden Age, preserved for us on film. "Random Harvest" may have been her own favorite amongst the films she made..but this one is also a gem.

  • the miniver story

    • ted thode
    • 4/22/12

    the original "the minivers" was one of the first movies i had seen on tcm - it awoke me to the love of the classic movies ! although the "mrs. miniver " wasn't quite as good as the 1st part, i totally enjoyed it ! one question : didn't the eldest son get lost between movies ? i recall his new wife getting killed in an air raid and the movie ending in a sunday mass with "young miniver" seating himself next to his wifes grandma ! what happened ?

  • The Integrity Holds

    • Commenter77
    • 3/9/12

    I enjoyed this movie, though of course it is very different from the original. It was good to see their wonderful old house or the recreation of it, whichever it was. Garson is very appropriate with the effects of the changes her character went and is going through. Pidgeon takes up well.The little boy (young James Fox) is darling, though it's funny to hear his strong British accent and expressions in contrast to the American actors around the family table. But of course I wouldn't want fakey British accents. John Hodiak is refreshing playing a wholesome character. Don't think I've ever seen him as one. And Leo Genn is a favorite. He plays against usual type here as well. The daughter reminds me of Teresa Wright in appearance, though of course she is a different character entirely.No, I think they did a decent job, as hard as it is to do sequels. There is integrity in it. The Minivers have a solid marriage, with love that has deepened. Mother holds her own in the difficult crisis with her daughter, Judy. She's a strong woman who has been tempered and grown with life and difficulties, even tragedy. They both know what it means to come through.Though the director is very different in this, I think the real difference is in the Mrs. Miniver character. What she did formerly was more interesting than what she has to do here. She's winding down here, instead of verving up as in the original. Guess they could have written some new challenge for her, but what it is, it is. And if you appreciate certain people and elements of the original, you can enjoy this film.

  • Please replay "The Miniver Story"

    • Becky
    • 9/23/11

    I didn't know this movie was made. It looks like another great one, like the "Mrs. Miniver" movie. I saw the last few minutes of the movie, and when I looked to find out if it will be played again, it was not available. So, would you please consider playing the movie again? We love Mrs. Miniver, and this movie sounds equally as great! Thank you for your consideration! In anticipation....

  • double treat

    • Denis
    • 5/9/09

    I believe the two movies, Mrs Miniver and The Miniver Story, back to back, are such a great story and a must to not separate....The two movies ....are an xample to ....accept to "move on" in Life...as Life moves on, regarless we accept it or not....best then to accept....in the spirit of the two movies. I first and only saw them together just before Christmas 1995-96, in a time I was truly down in my Life....and seeing the movies together showed me, as example, to hang on to the beauty of the Spirit well lived in the two movies....Please, please....bring them together; will you?Denis Drainville

  • THE MINIVER STORY

    • sally
    • 2/23/09

    You should release this movie so the couls enjoy it.

  • Please Do It Again!

    • alice
    • 8/20/08

    Missed the latest (and previous) showing of the "The Miniver Story". Please, please run it again - soon. Please also encourage issuance of this movie on DVD. (I did vote.) Loved "Mrs Miniver" and would dearly like to add the continuance of the family's story to my DVD library. Thank you .. and thank you for just being. I spend a lot of time on the TCM channel.

  • What happened to Vin Miniver

    • Sheila
    • 8/17/08

    Vin miniver was all grown up in Mrs. Miniver but in the Miniver Story it shows Toby as a young boy. I loved both Movies but just wondering whatever happened to Vin?Thanks

  • Please show 'The Miniver Story' again soon!

    • Betsy
    • 8/16/08

    I, too, found myself in tears at the end of this moving story. Please schedule another viewing of 'The Miniver Story' again soon!

  • Subtle and haunting...

    • Barrie Hurst
    • 8/14/08

    I have to admit that I found myself in tears at the end of this film. Like Mrs. Miniver, there is an extraordinary dignity conveyed through The Miniver Story, which is beautifully acted. I think the sense of quiet struggle and desperation is what is so engaging in this movie. I would love to see this one again on the TCM schedule.

  • A pleasant surprise!

    • Todd
    • 1/28/08

    For years I'd heard about the inadequate sequel to "Mrs. Miniver" and avoided it out of an abiding respect for Greer Garson and Walter Pidgeon's earlier work. However, I sat down to watch it today and was blown away by its unique qualities, the heartfelt sentiment, directorial choices and superior acting. This is definitely a different movie from its prequel but it was for a different time, a post-war time. It's a shame it has gotten poor reviews because I found it a sweet, sad, powerful movie made all the better by the exquisite acting of Garson and Pidgeon. Will we ever see the like again?

  • mike

    • Darrell
    • 2/23/07

    hey mike, though there is no overview article listed for the movie, check out the Notes.

  • You've got to play this movie again!

    • Gisela
    • 11/1/06

    It is one of the simplest yet cleverer scripts I've ever seen with wonderful performances and effective directing choices. The fact that it is not yet released in DVD makes it even more important to show it again. Please!

  • help

    • mike
    • 11/1/06

    i remember a movie years ago called mrs. miniver. although this movie did not come out and say it, it did implie that it is like a sequel. does anyone have any info on this. mrs. miniver has always been one of my favorite movies. i enjoyed the miniver story as much, what a surprise and joy to have been lucky enough to have caught the movie on to see it. thanks tcm for many years of wonderful movies that you have brought us. i am so glad our cable company finally put tcm on our schedule. it took quite some time but i am glad your there.mike

  • A WONDERFUL MOVIE

    • DAVID P KELLY
    • 11/1/06

    THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I SAW THIS MOVIE AND WAS QUITE PLEASED.IT HAS QUICKLY BECOME ONE OF MY FAVORITES.I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IT AGAIN.IT HAS LEFT ME WITH A PLEASANT HAPPINESS.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.