skip navigation
The Hard Way

The Hard Way(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Hard Way An ambitious woman... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Hard Way

    • Goetan
    • 6/22/14

    Standard hard-boiled drama from Warner Bros. Impressive performances from the cast, particularly Lupino and Carson, both fighting for Leslie's career and personal life. Weak, implausible story. Good, common Warner Bros. fare. I give it a 3/5.

  • Great Film,Thanks TCM & Ida Lupino

    • fantwo
    • 6/12/14

    Ida Lupino is so much more an actress than Joan Leslie,I agree with Old Movie Fan.Everyone else shines but her.And what a heartbreaker what's done to Runkel.Jack Carson is great as always,never havig gotten the fame he deserved.

  • A Must See Show

    • Donna L. Tolliver
    • 3/6/13

    Very impressive movie. It captured my attention the minute I saw it. If a movie does that in the first few minutes it has won me over.....Ida Lupino very beautiful....

  • A Must See!!

    • muriel
    • 1/30/12

    Wow! Very impressive acting by all. Jack Carson's performance is very touching. Dennis Morgan makes his character very interesting and complex. Gladys George as the falling star who is ruined by Ida Lupino gives a real a tour de force performance. Worth watching the movies just for her! Ida Lupino is also very beautiful when she gets rich and wears stylish clothes. A fascinating melodrama.

  • less than the sum of its parts

    • old movie buff
    • 1/29/12

    I used to have a rush on Joan Leslie when I was in high school. I can't figure out why now. Can't sing. Can't dance. And can't act. Oh, well. The movie is enjoyable thanks to the talents of Lupino, Carson and Morgan. Although Lupino dominates, I liked he latter two, especially Carson. I doubt he ever gave a bad performance, no matter the movie genre.Should be made available on DVD --- an interesting bit of movie history.

  • A Must See!

    • Laura J
    • 7/15/10

    How did I ever not hear of this movie or see it before? A movie that should be shown more often so more viewers can enjoy it like I did. Queen Ida Lupino, almost every movie you are in is great, I adore thee.LOL Jack Carson who is usually in comedies is actually great as a dramatic actor, and Dennis Morgan is quite good also. The storyline is so good and then to find out that it is loosley based on Ginger Rogers life, it makes you want to go back and watch it again. Like I said A Must See!

  • "The Hard Way" -nice movie

    • Richard Jerome
    • 10/7/08

    It's very heartening to see the reactions to this somewhat overlooked film and to notice how it has acquired a kind of "cult following" in recent-years. Charles Busch, who chose it as a "fav" pretty-much nailed it: A strange hybrid of film-noir and "woman's picture" ala "Mildred Pierce".It's particularly gratifying for me, as my grandfather, songwriter M.K.Jerome, worked on the film, composing "Youth Must Have It's Fling" -- which is somewhat the center-piece of the story. (He also appears briefly, as "rehearsal pianist" in the scene with Gladys George). Of the many films he worked-on at the studio, this was one of his personal-favorites, and one of the few I ever heard him talk about directly in later years.I was present at a screening of this in Hollywood, several-years ago, honoring Joan Leslie and director Vincent Sherman. Prior to the film, Leonard Maltin read a telegram he had received that morning from Ida Lupino, saying how much she loved this assignment and extending her congratulations to her colleagues who were present. She died about a week later.Afterward, I introduced myself to Miss Leslie, and she spoke very warmly about my grandfather, and the work they had done together at Warners'.I know M.K. would have been very-pleased at how fondly this film is remembered.Best, Richard Jerome

  • Oh Fame, thou Cruel Mistress!

    • free rock city
    • 4/19/06

    Tough-as-nails, comedy in wartime - disguised as backstage Noir but actually is some kind of working-class hybrid in equal parts of "All About Eve" and "Mildred Pierce". Fantastic performances, and even though it's easy to see why Lupino won the prize, there's hardly a weak performance, from Dunkel & Collins (the vaudeville "couer simple"-tons) on down to the many showbiz casualties who are held in such high regard in the film (and I'll wager, their best lines left IN the studio cut). "Cut it out", Dunkel tells Frenchie, shortly before his death in a nightclub. Cut it out Frenchie, indeed. (Oops, I spoiled it. But NOT REALLY.) Also contains an excellent "Vorkapitch"-type section. Oh Fame, thou Cruel Mistress! THIS FILM DEMANDS TO BE RELEASED ON DVD!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.