skip navigation
Balalaika

Balalaika(1939)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Balalaika Refugees from the Russian... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • BALALAIKA still is entertaining

    • Elliot
    • 7/20/13

    BALALAIKA may be an old fashioned movie with a weak script, but it still has its moments of charm. Beautifully presented by MGM, Star Nelson Eddy is excellent, not only in his singing, but shows he can act as well. Pretty Ilona Massey fitted the role, although her voice is just passable. The supporting cast, with many familiar faces, added to the enjoyment.

  • Unique and Enjoyable

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/13/13

    I loved this film. Nelson Eddy and Ms. Massey were a beautiful on screen couple. Eddy's voice was a treasure and it is really nice to see him do something a little exotic with such a gorgeous actress like Ilona. What a fantasy. BTW, I hardly ever agree with Mr. Maltin. He seems to dislike the films I love and love the films I really dislike. Sometimes there is no accounting for taste. The tone, story, acting, directing, cinema photography are everything I consider too when watching a film and some are just straight up appealing in every way like this film.

  • I must disagree ---

    • Richard
    • 1/13/13

    Despite Mr. Maltin's review, it's refreshing to see the history, even though it's a a bit off center, of Russian history and even though a musical, I found it refreshing. Thanx TCM.

  • Balalaika

    • Robert Petersen
    • 7/28/10

    As a fan of great baratones Eddy is by far the best. If on horseback, barefoot or in the swamps singing he is superb. The music is excellent for his voice and whether on horse back or not he is the king of the bartones. As a Prince he is the finest, as a Marine & horseman I bow to his leadership. The music whether Russian or Italian is outstanding. Let's put these priceless films on DVD for all the world to marvel at the greatest talent of all time.

  • Balalaika (1939)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/8/10

    52/100. Maybe it's me, but an operetta with Nelson Eddy as a Russian Cossack prince, singing on his horse no less, just didn't appeal to me. A rather bizarre movie and I found it a bit boring and hard to sit through. Some good costume design and art direction.

  • Great Nelson Eddy!

    • Anne
    • 3/6/08

    The last scene where all the nobility of Russia gather together in Paris for Easter is great! Well wroth the time to watch this.

  • Performance of Dalies Frantz

    • Joan Macon
    • 1/30/08

    Dalies Frantz was not an actor, but a very young World Class Pianist. (If you watch his hands you can see this. He was discovered by MGM, most likely by the same aide to L B Mayer who found Nelson Eddy at a concert where he substituted for Lotte Lehman. Frantz had been a child prodiigy from the age of nine, had worked his way though the New England Conservatory of Music and the University of Michigan. He studied in Europe with Artur Schnabel and Vladimir Horowitz. He then won the three most prodigius US piano prizes of the time, and had a ten year career as a critically aclaimed pianist playing with many major US Orchestras. He made three films in supporting roles, and had signed a major contract not only to perform the piano score in a major film about Chopin, but to also play the part of Franz Liszt, when WWII interfered. The film was postponed and Frantz entered the Army Air Corps as a First Lieutenent intelligence officer in a West Coast Fighter Squadron. He was medically discharged two years later, and was plagued by ill health from then on. He could no longer concertize, and spent the rest of his life as a distinguished piano pedagogue at the University of Texas at Austin, beloved by his students. Many of his students have become prize winning concert pianists and some still head the piano departments of well known universities. Dalies Frantz died on December 1, 1965. Before his health failed him, Dalies Frants was considered by many critics to be the finest American Born pianist of his time.

  • A White Russian Dream

    • songbird2
    • 7/11/06

    An operetta set in Russia just prior to the revolution features wonderful Russian music and song, slavic soulfulness, lovely performances by the supporting cast--especially the indominatable Charlie Ruggles, Frank Morgan, (you will shed a tear when he sings in the last scene), and the beauty of Ilona Massey. Nelson Eddy actually seems to be more relaxed here than he usually does in his Jeanette MacDonald movies. Bravo, and please show this again soon, TCM.

  • Great Performance.

    • Jim Andrews
    • 5/13/06

    The performance by Nelson Eddy of the Volga Boatmen Song is the best thing I have ever seen on film. He sings it in Russian and does it magnificently. Watch for this world class moment in film making.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.