skip navigation
Third Finger, Left Hand

Third Finger, Left Hand(1940)

  • Wednesday, September 17 @ 03:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, November 2 @ 08:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Third Finger, Left Hand A man-shy fashion editor... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Didn't know Wapakoneta was so famous

    • Cheryl
    • 3/21/14

    I live in Wapakoneta, Ohio, which is a small rural farm town in Ohio. Wapakoneta was never even on the map before Neil Armstrong made his famous walk on the moon (hometown boy), so I about fell off my chair when Wapakoneta was first mentioned, let alone all the way through the film in 1940. I thought this was a delightful movie with Myrna Loy, one of my favorite actresses on TCM.

  • p.s.

    • westphal
    • 10/7/12

    ernest whitman, who plays the porter "sam" in this movie, is the black carpetbagger driving the carriage (with the old tara overseer wilkerson) through the returning rebel troops in 'gone with the wind'. his role in 'third finger' is one of the few instances where a black man holds his own with the white men around him, actually being ahead of them all in the end.

  • terrific froth

    • westphal
    • 10/7/12

    i went to the gym at 4:45 this morning because i knew this movie was on and no one would be there to see me watch it. i'd never seen it before, never even HEARD of it before, but the dialogue was funny, the chemistry between loy and douglas crackled, and the mgm touch (wardrobe, sets, etc.) gave it all a luster. the movie did lose a bit of its initial pacing after the "dinner at home--with guests" scene, but i never felt disappointment and didn't stop watching though i occasionally stopped working out. a hangover from the movie is the "round on the ends and HIIIGH in the middle" song which i've been humming for the last hour. this would make a great movie to watch on a rainy cold afternoon. thanks.

  • Please Run It Again!

    • Rachel Edwards
    • 1/30/10

    A totally enjoyable movie, especially for Buckeyes from OH-IO! If we can't buy it on video or DVD, could you pleease run it again soon so we can record it? It's perfect for an Ohio-lovers film fest.... (Only problem with it was, they omitted "The" from references to The Ohio State University.)

  • "Wapakoneta, Ohio"

    • Judy Von Blon
    • 1/27/10

    Wapakoneta is a town in Ohio and only about 10 miles from where I live. In this movie, "Third Finger, Left Hand," is where Melvyn Douglas told Myrna Loy that he was from Wapakoneta. Myrna Loy then tried to pronounce it and stumbled over the words. Melvyn Douglas in this movie said his Mother and Father lived in Wapakoneta, Ohio and his Father was a pharmacist. "Wapakoneta" was mentioned many times in this movie. Also, in this movie, loved The Ohio State University, Alma Mater, "Chimes," sung by the OSU Glee Club came on the radio when Myrna Loy turned on the radio. Great movie!

  • Delightful!

    • Mary
    • 1/27/10

    Love Myrna Loy and Melvyn Douglas. Had to leave for work but stayed to watch the end! Well worth it and kept humming, "Round on the end and hi in the middle, Ohio" all morning. Would really like to see it again.

  • An interesting surprise!

    • Iris Fairfax
    • 1/27/10

    I fell asleep with the television on and awakened to find this delightful trifle of a comedy. I was familiar with the chemistry between Myrna Loy and Melvyn Douglas from "Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House", so it was neat to see them as each other's love interest this time. But even more fascinating was the black porter at the end--what was his name?--who read from the legal book, spoke so eloquently, and even was shown giving legal advice to Douglas' character! What a joy it was to see a black man depicted so beautifully--that even as a porter he was sharp, well-spoken and intelligent, and even managed to get the last word! For 1940...wow! Is anything known about that actor?

  • Myrna Loy again..wow!

    • Bob Roehrer
    • 1/27/10

    Myrna Loy and Melvyn Douglas in a romantic comedy..perfect! Got to have it. And if you are from Ohio, or an OSU grad/fan, even better!!. (Melvyn can be heard humming the OSU fight song several times.A perfect "fresh pot of coffee on a cold Ohio morning" movie. Plot is common predictable mostly, but who cares. Its the character play..and Myrna always delivers!! (sigh..) And its refreshingly timely, with the references to 'working women' etc. Please vote for it to be released on Home Video (TCM movie page link).

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.