skip navigation
The Seventh Cross

The Seventh Cross(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Seventh Cross Seven men escape from a... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Seventh Cross

    • db
    • 7/28/14

    I really enjoyed this movie. I ran across this film by accident on TCM the other day and thought the description was interesting so I decided to watch. It was interesting to see a WWII-era depiction of a portion of pre-war Nazi Germany. I was left wondering how the American public took to this movie when it was released in the summer of 1944, while still at war with Germany. Incidentally, this movie was released on 7/24/44. a mere four days after the assassination attempt on Adolf Hitler that was depicted in the movie Valkyrie (2008).What made this move extra special for me was the fact that the setting was in Mainz, a place I lived for over two years a a child. I was wondering where it was filmed.

  • The Seventh Cross

    • Jackie Heisler
    • 5/4/10

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I was a little taken aback when I found out Spencer Tracy's character's name. Spencer Tracy is one of my favorite actors, and he does a great job in this picture. As people say about him, he doesn't have to have many lines to be be a sceen stealer. Hume Cronin and Jessica Tandy make a great couple. This was the first time I ever saw them act together in a movie. They were delightful to watch. Fred Zinneman does a great job with portraying what it was like in Nazi Germany at that time. At the moment I am very into WWII movies, and would like to add this to my collection of movies. This one is very close to my heart.

  • The Seventh Cross

    • Dave Fox
    • 3/17/10

    Excellent movie with quite accurate depictions of characters and events that took place at this time in history. Spencer Tracy did a tremendous job as always and so did the rest of the cast! As a great movie should, this must released on DVD and forever be cherished as an absolute classic!

  • The seventh cross

    • Ronald Kent
    • 2/9/10

    This film is a classic with outstanding historical details of the actual living conditions inside nazi Germany in the 1933-1945 period. Spenser Tracy is excellent and demonstrates through his role the serious struggles faced by the resistance and anti-nazi citizens,many of whom were murdered by the nazi regime. Zinnemann has captured the tenor and societal details that impacted the lives of many anti-fascist persons and those of good will in the times of terror. Should be released in DVD!!!

  • Compelling and relevant

    • bonedaddy
    • 1/9/10

    Outstanding anti-totalinarian war pic. Tracy's brooding, thoughtful persona is a perfect cast in the lead role. This is a must see movie, especially in light of the fearful age that we live in. All in all a haunting reminder that those who choose not to learn the lessons of history are bound to relive them!!

  • The Seventh Cross (1944)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/6/09

    Excellent anti Nazi war propaganda with an excellent cast, especially Spencer Tracy, who has never given anything worse than a good performance. Jessica Tandy and Hume Cronyn make their first appearance together and give outstanding support.

  • Society under Totalitarianism

    • Jerry
    • 12/24/08

    Best representatnion of pre-WWII German's attitude towards their society as depicted by Hume Cronin, and his realization of the reality of Nazi government. Also a beautiful representation of an individual's discovering the friendhips in society drawing him away from evil..as excellently represented by Spencer Tracy.

  • A Morality tale for all ages

    • fse76
    • 9/1/08

    I started watching this movie & stayed up to 3:30 am CT to see the end. The performances of the actors & the story were that compelling. Even though this movie was made in 1944, the morals of the story are still relevant.

  • 07/21/08 The Seventh Cross

    • kcsundance
    • 7/21/08

    A typically great Fred Zinnemann film. That says it all!

  • The Seventh Cross

    • o.a.c.
    • 4/30/08

    A great movie and a typical great perfomance by Spencer Tracy. What a natural!!! Also mention must be made of the beauty and charm of Signe Hasso. This movie is a DVD must.

  • The Seventh Cross

    • Joyce
    • 4/30/08

    Excellent movie. Spencer Tracy is excellent in everything and this movie bears no exception.

  • The Seventh Cross

    • Henry L. Quihuis
    • 4/4/08

    Please bring back to the screen and on DVD this clasic film with Spencer Tracy and Agnes Moorehead. I first started to watch this great movie when I was just a lad and still did until The 1980"s, when all of a sudden it vanished into thin air. I"ve been waiting for the moment for it to be released very soon. I hope you and your competitors have a kind heart and re-consider. I'm a huge fan of Spencer Tracy and I have a large video collection. I am retired now and would like to purchase this fine intriging World War II two movie as soon as possible to continue to enjoy it.

  • Film making at its best!

    • Ketan
    • 8/3/07

    This is a fantastic movie. A must have for all Spencer Tracy and Classic movie fans. I do not understand why a gem such as this is still not released on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.