skip navigation
Mayerling

Mayerling(1969)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Mayerling - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Mayerling

    • Judy
    • 8/10/14

    Saw the short about the making of the film in Vienna and would love to see the scenes in the historical places. Also, I admire all the actors tremendously. Please show it soon!

  • Watched the promo - would love to see the film

    • Lorraine
    • 8/8/14

    I just watched the short "Vienna, Years Remembered" and it's all about the movie "Mayerling". I'd love to see the actual movie. Please bring it to TCM.

  • Myerling

    • GriGri
    • 8/8/14

    I'v never seen & am big fan of Omar & Catherine & all in movie. Please bring it to us who have not seen it- as is in vHS format and unavailable in DVD- I got TCM becasue after many years of ex husband complaining about " you and your old movies" I now Have freedom to watch TCM and so enjoy- I am differently abeled and TCM is my "Pain pill "as I am allergic to pain medications. If I can be brought into so many of your great movines I am good ,no pain during movie and after- what a blessing. Perhaps Omar and Catherine could intro movie - wouln't that be great. AHHHH Omar what a looker.

  • Mayerling (1969)

    • dorothy
    • 8/29/13

    I love this movie. Please bring to TCM channel or make DVD to purchase in English...........

  • Mayerling

    • AEC
    • 10/13/12

    One of my favorite films and so seldom seen on television. How can this not yet be on DVD? The fantastic cast, the locations, the score, and the tragic romance! I just saw the brief piece on the production (after Gandhi tonight) was was hoping that was a prelude to a date and time of broadcast, but NO! Come on - show this film!

  • PLEASE BRING THIS GEM TO DVD!!!!!!

    • Flora
    • 1/18/12

    I cannot believe that this movie is STILL not available on dvd. And from the number of votes (only 362), it looks like we're going to wait for a very long time in order to add this magnificent movie to our movie library. What a pity, when we see so much trash being released out there one cannot stop to wonder 'what is wrong with these people, don't they know a good movie when they see one?'. PLEASE cast your vote and let the dvd people know that we are impatiently waiting for the release of this movie. Until then, thank you so much TCM for airing this movie now and then!

  • Impressive

    • PattiR
    • 11/26/10

    Mayerling is an impressive epic film. A historical drama;an ill-fated romance. A great cast; it contains a terrific performance by Omar Sharif ( I can't ever recall him being any less that, though) as Crown Prince Rudolf. Also noteworthy is Ava Gardner as Rudolf's mother, Empress Elizabeth. I'm not a huge fan of hers, but I really enjoyed her performance in this film; she's lovely, warm and understated in it.More than anything,though, this is Omar Sharif's film. Like most epic films, Mayerling is a feast for the eyes; but Mr. Sharif's performance anchors the film and gives it real heart. You feel for his character: A man who was born into a certain way of life. A man who desires a more fulfilling one. And the impossibility of achieving that goal. Tragic.(DVD release,please! Until then, thank goodness for TCM.)

  • Fabulous movie!

    • KUNurseDoc
    • 11/21/10

    I saw this movie in the mid 1970's and have not seen it since. Travelling to Europe as a teenager, we were well educated in history and visited many of these places and palaces. The stellar performances by Omar Sharif & Catherine Deneuve along with exquisite costuming make this one of the classics not to miss! This movie needs to be on DVD...please!

  • A Neglected Epic Classic

    • Richard Brewer
    • 8/3/10

    I've watched this film innumerable times on TCM and have often wondered WHY it has not been reissued on DVD. With the sterling costars Omar Sharif and Catherine Deneuve one would imagine that the film would have a continuing fan base ready to add it to their film collections. I saw this film originally when it had its theatrical release in 1969 or 1970 and I became completely captured by the romantic and tragic story of Mayerling. Yes, the film strays considerably from the known facts, and highly romanticises the characters (especially the Crown Prince), but it is nonetheless a stunningly beautiful film. Costumes, sets, and even the music score all contribute to a very satisfying viewing experience. I hope that this wonderful film will soon be released in a pristine print transfer to DVD by someone!

  • Mayerling

    • Arlene Deaton
    • 7/17/10

    I am a fan of Omar Sharif and Catherine and have waited for a long time for this movie to be available. I hope it will be available soon I know a lot of people who would buy it.

  • Mayerling

    • D Collins
    • 3/9/10

    As an Omar Sharif fan, I have to say that his portrayal of the crown prince was wonderful. His ability to leave a lasting impression on someone for over 40 years, is kind of unbelieveable.. He has the same intensity in his eyes that only a couple of other actors have. ie ; Raymond Burr, Orson Welles. It is like they can see right thru you. He has that same intensity in most of his movies. Of all he's done, this one is my all time favorite. It also shows what adiction can do to anyone wheather they are a prince or a day laboror.

  • Mayerling

    • Gordon Brown
    • 2/11/10

    This is a fact-based story of the crown prince of the pre-WW II Austro-Hungarian Empire, his frustration with his domineering father the Emperor, his apparent admiration for the beauty of his mother, disdain for his "arranged" marriage, and his love for a much younger and very beautiful woman. It is exciting, dramatic, and romantic. Beautifully acted by Omar Sharif, James Mason, and Ava Gardner. I am shocked that I can't find it on DVD.

  • Chemistry!

    • Janise
    • 8/15/06

    Anyone who likes history and classic love stories will love this one. The chemistry between Omar Sharif and Catherine Denuve is undeniable. She is a beautiful and talented actress and there are not many movies available featuring heer. Please add this ASAP!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.