skip navigation
The Birds

The Birds(1963)

  • Saturday, October 25 @ 05:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, November 20 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, November 28 @ 03:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Birds In a California coastal area,... MORE > $80.99 Regularly $119.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Birds of a Feather...

    • Delia
    • 1/24/14

    Ok. I watched this again recently, having had the socks scared off me as a kid. From what I THINK I now understand, Hedren sets off a major shift in the cosmos when she opens her heart to Taylor. The love birds, featured prominently in their first meeting at a pet shop, symbolize what could be for two lonely people...IF they can get past her pride/resistance and his sarcastic psychological banter. She writes him off as a loser, but decides he's bold and edgy. She likes him and sets off to his Bodega Bay crib in a borrowed little motorboat to find him, wearing a fur coat no less. But before she makes it to shore with two love birds in tote, a mean little bird swoops down and plucks her right on the forehead. There will be some obstacles to their love. These obstacles are in masse. These obstacles have wings. Long of the short, the birds go crazy when those little love birds (literally and figuratively) land at Bodega Bay. Great scene in the town diner when a resident tells Hedren that she's the cause of all the bird attacks, which is true. Hedren promptly gives her a good slap in the face for that comment. But she works her way through it--the senseless bird attacks, the fear of the attacks, the sad ex-girlfriend of Taylor, the dominating would-be mother-in-law who is none to happy to share her bachelor son/substitute husband with a fur coat gal in a drop-top roadster. The final scene when they exit (she, he, his mom, his daughter) after Hedren is brutally attacked by the birds--finds the birds en masse again. But this time, they do not attack. This time they watch as the lovebirds, human and feathered, leave Bodega Bay. Nothing will ever be the same for the 4 of them. And that is how it should be.

  • The Birds

    • Kat
    • 10/18/13

    I enjoyed this movie and would like to see it again. Wondering why TCM doesnt show this one if they do all the other old ones at halloween time

  • The Birds

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-5/5Titles-4/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • The Birds (1963)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/21/12

    What's far more mysterious than why all the birds suddenly go crazy violent in this film is: How can a movie without any actual plot or ending, and with so ridiculous a premise, be so well-regarded? Hitch really pulled one over on his fans with this one. If you want to be scared by wild animal attacks--only without unconvincing special effects and hilarious editing cuts--you might try tuning into the nature channel instead. But if you like this type of movie, you might also want to check out "Night of the Lepus" (about giant killer bunny rabbits) and "Frogs" (about, well, menacing frogs). Both are about the same quality as "The Birds" but without the (apparently incontestable) Hitchcock label.

  • Modern film makers take note!

    • Jordan
    • 2/17/12

    They simply do not make movies like this anymore. Without ever getting too graphic or gory, the film manages to be terrifying. A lesson horror and suspense film makers would be wise to learn nowadays. Gore does not equal scary! The moments of silence are the most unbearably intense and startling moments in the film, and the characters are developed well beyond the modern caricatures that are then picked off one by one without the audience feeling a thing. You care about these people, and what happens to them.Most importantly, we are given next to no answers. We never learn what really drives any of these people, or who they are underneath the exteriors they show to one another. We never really learn why the birds attack, and we never learn what becomes of our heroes. We are given just enough to let us reach our own conclusions, which just adds to the films suspense and again helps the film connect to its audience and ensnare them in a way very few modern films manage.Add to all of this brilliant camerawork, and effects that, although dated, still manage to be unsettling, and you have a near perfect Hitchcockian masterpiece that should not be missed by anyone who loves movies. Especially the truly scary ones!

  • "THE HUMANS"

    • Lee Dorbad
    • 8/26/11

    Hitchcock's output during this golden era (1952-65) is always centered on human beings, always, and there's been more than a mild tendency toward everything but this angle when it comes to both public and professional opinion on "The Birds." It's clear from the start that there is some organic imbalance in Melanie's soul, some unfinished and rather rough baggage from the past (most likely attributable to the clearly painful disconnect from her mother years ago). And then handsome Mitch (Rod Taylor) insists on instigating what he thinks might be a real/legitimate relationship with her, but his own mother cannot deal with this otherwise normal prospect becuse she too is clinging to her own unfinished baggage from the past. Hence we have this little triangle of three Hitchcockian souls, two women and one man, and apparently a world thrown off its natural balance because these humans simply can't get it right. In this sense, then, the birds' unnatural behavior is nothing more than a symbolic device that serves to depict the various and subtle electrical systems between mortals and angels, heaven and earth, mother and son, lover and lover. It's Hitchcock's most physical film and also his greatest artistic risk. And it might help the viewer to adopt the same mindset left over from a viewing of "Vertigo." "The Birds" is subtly dreamlike, even subterranean in its wonderful ability to depict moments that refuse translation onto mere paper. It's all about inner states and those most ingrained fears which never seem to achieve verbalization at tea time, lunch, or dinner.

  • Scariest Scene Ever

    • Mark
    • 9/10/10

    I saw this movie when I was 12 years old and not only fell in love with Tippi Hedren, but it has been one of my favorites ever since. I still think the final scene with Hedren up in the bedroom being slaughtered by birds is one of the most horrifying ever filmed. Especially knowing now that those weren't fake birds or trick photography. They were hurling birds at her for a week. There is something about this scene that still haunts me every time I see it. Yes, tame by today's standards, but scary stuff.

  • The Birds

    • Ellen
    • 4/25/10

    I loved this movie. It was a great movie and it scared me to death...... A must see. if you have not seen it!

  • Alfred Hitchcocks' The Birds

    • Roger Smith
    • 4/1/10

    I saw this movie when it first came out in 1963. I was seven years old. It was a Saturday afternoon in Denton, Texas at the Campus Theater which was packed with mostly children. When Jessica Tandy discovers her neighbor with his eyeballs pecked out, we all screamed and hit the floor! It was my first Hitchcock, and my first scary movie, and it has stayed with me ever since. I place this on my Top 5 list. Terrific!

  • h

    • littledoggylover
    • 1/9/10

    nice movie

  • First Hitchcock

    • Bob Hamilton
    • 10/28/09

    I went to see this for my ninth birthday. (In a Drive-In, no less!) It was my first Hitchcock movie and I was thrilled by it. This is one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. I've seen it so many times I even know what scene Hitch is in.

  • Dialogue

    • Jerry Flores
    • 4/30/09

    The thing that I always notice about this film and its amazing; is the even ping-pong rhythm of the dialogue. I find it fascinating and slightly amusing. Am I the only that notices this?

  • One Of Hitch's Best

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/30/09

    I first saw "The Birds" on TV when I was 10 years old, and I sensed it was something more than the few horror films I had seen. Seeing flocks of birds of all kinds flying around killing people and causing destruction in a small California coastal town was a very shocking thing to see, even on a small TV screen instead of a wide theater screen. The many times since that I have seen it (I have the DVD) it always scares the (expletive) out of me! "The Birds" is a prime example of how Hitchcock could take a seemingly harmless thing (birds) and turn it into a sinister and lethal force capable of mayhem and death. The most frightening scene to me is toward the end where Tippi Hedren opens the door to the attic room and thinks everything is OK until the birds suddenly attack her, and her flailing her arms at them trying to keep them away while trying to get out of the room. The very last scene where they drive away from the house and see the masses of birds that have finally taken over has to be one of the most chilling endings to a film ever.

  • One of a kind film!

    • Tony
    • 12/24/07

    Everything about this film is amazing! The build up to all the shocking scenes is so intense, especially the attack at the restuarant when the gas station explodes! Tippi Hedren's character is so interesting, since you're never really quite sure of who she really is inside. I had my son-in-law watch this with me (he thinks he's a tough young guy), and after it was over he said he never wanted to see a bird again or go outside!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.