skip navigation
The Mating Game

The Mating Game(1959)

  • Thursday, January 22 @ 11:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, March 15 @ 02:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Mating Game A tax agent falls for a farm... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The tax game

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/31/10

    The film reminds me of the 'Ma and Pa Kettle' series. I could easily have seen Marjorie Main & Percy Kilbride handling the acting chores done by Una Merkel & Paul Douglas in this story. The delinquent tax plot is a bit far-fetched but produces amusing results. Tony Randall and Debbie Reynolds are fun together and have excellent chemistry. I wish Debbie would've sang at least one number. Another film this one reminds me of 'Li'l Abner.' In fact, the next time I watch 'The Mating Game,' I will probably follow it with a viewing of either 'Abner' or a Kettle film. Highly recommended...for its sheer fun and its great physical comedy (especially that barn brawl scene).

  • The Mating Game

    • Anna
    • 1/31/10

    Such a great movie, this was my first time watching this movie! I was cleaning my room and I stopped to take a quick glance and next thing I knew the movie was over! It was sooo captivating!!! An amazing movie!

  • Enjoyable comedy

    • GNS
    • 10/28/09

    I really enjoyed this comedy. Tony Randall and Debbie Reynolds are both very good as are the rest of the cast. This film is an Americanised version of the Darling Buds of May. It was ahead of its time in 1959 because it is the lady who makes her intentions very clear and the man who has to catch up with her. Tony Randall's character is very funny when drunk and the misunderstandings the next day add to the comedy. It is a film that is well worth watching if you want to be cheered up. However, it is a shame that it can only be bought on DVD in America and not in Europe where I live.

  • The Mating Game (1959)

    • Jay
    • 4/6/09

    The cast makes this fluff enjoyable, particularly Tony Randall. Good production. Entertaining, but there isn't anything significant about the film. Good supporting cast.

  • Same story on TV

    • Linda
    • 1/20/09

    This movie based on a book is great fun. The TV runs a series called darling buds of may, based in england it is the same story as the movie but with lots more stories. If you loved the movie you will enjoy this series. Check your local listings if not on then contact your station and see if they will run it.

  • Great!!!

    • Lauren
    • 12/8/08

    OMG, I loved this movie. Idk if it was because of where i was in my life or it was just a hilarious movie. The whole cast does great. The plot of the story is just great. I would suggest this movie to anyone unless ur a stiff that doesn't enjoy a good laugh.

  • LOVED IT!!!!!

    • CAROLYN SLUSHER
    • 10/17/08

    MY TWIN SISTER AND I WATCHED THIS MOVIE-IT WAS THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER-WE HARDLY EVER WAS ABLE TO SEE A MOVIE-I VERY MUSH WOULD LIKE A COPY OF IT-IT WOULD MESN SO MUCH TO US- WE ARE NOW 66YEARS OLD AND I REALLY NEED A GOOD LAUGH AS THERE IS SO MUCH TROUBLE IN THE WORLD TODAY.DEBBIE IS SUCH A GREAT ACTOR. THANK YOU-CAROLYN

  • The Mating Game

    • Bernadette Forward
    • 7/3/08

    I'm a Tony Randall fan so I love this movie. As it turns out, the brit series "Darling Buds of May" starring a young Catherine Zeta-Jones must be an actual take on this movie because it has the same characters, plot, etc. I didn't initially make the connection until just recently. Well....imitation is the most sincere form of flattery.

  • The Mating Game

    • John Kizzire
    • 3/26/06

    3-26-06 I had the opportunity to see The Mating Game around 1960 or 61 at a local movie theatre in Alabama. I was around 10 or eleven years old and, although I was quite young, the movie seemed to have a certain enchantment, it was very entertaining and non-offensive, and afterwards I came out of the theatre with a crush on Debbie Reynolds. Thirty-or-so years after first seeing the movie I had the privilege of meeting and speaking with Debbie Reynolds at a venue where she was performing. I told her how The Mating Game had given me a crush on her and she replied with a smile and laughter, "Thats just because you saw me rolling around in the hay with Tony Randall." As a result of the brief personal encounter with Ms. Reynolds, which of course is unforgettable, The Mating Game became even more of a precious childhood memory. If you haven't seen The Mating Game you owe it to yourself to give it a viewing, its delightful and a fun movie-going experience.John K.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.