skip navigation
Neptune's Daughter

Neptune's Daughter(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Neptune's Daughter Mistaken identity complicates... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A winning movie

    • Danielle
    • 12/24/12

    Neptunes's Daughter is exciting and fun. It's a great musical romantic comedy!

  • Neptune's Daughter (1949)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/16/12

    So-so film. Esther is beautiful and elegant ... Montalban shows that he can do comedic performances. Betty is good, too, and Skelton is less annoying than usual. Watch, or rather listen, for Mel Blanc doing a live-action Speedy Gonzales. **

  • Show Stealer

    • Condie
    • 11/18/11

    Betty Garrett is a show stealer in her delightful role as a man-hungry female with much to offer but few takers. Esther Williams is beautiful and swims like a fish. MGM is 100% MGM. There is lots of lively music and wet choreography. The musical numbers by Garrett and Skelton are worth the price of admission. Great movie!

  • Red Skelton is a hoot.

    • Chris
    • 5/17/11

    Good run-of-the-mill little musical. The songs are kinda lame, except the "Baby, It's Cold Outside" number.Esther is appealing if a little wooden. Montablan is sexy as hell, but boring. Garrett and Skelton are great together.They would have made a great comedy team. Good but not exciting.

  • Wonderful. Absolutely Wonderful.

    • Katie Dennis
    • 1/30/11

    This movie is my favorite of all time. I love Betty Garrett, Ricardo Montalban, Red Skelton, and, most of all, Esther Williams. Forget Marilyn Monroe. Esther Williams was the most beautiful woman of the 40s/50s. Her preformance in Neptune's Daughter was phenomenal. The movie overall was fantastic too. It combines all of the actors' talents. Red Skelton and Betty Garrett's comedic skills are at their best in this film, Ricardo Montalban's rendition of My Heart Beats Faster was so sweet while his duet with Esther was quirky and cute, and combining those with a "splash-happy" ending was the icing on the cake. I love this movie, it is very close to my heart and I hope that the generations that follow will appreciate this movie as much as I do.

  • A Bubbly Romantic Musical.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 6/28/10

    Hollywood's most beautiful mermaid, Esther Williams once again teams up with the outrageously funny Red Skelton, and with romantic leading man, Ricardo Montalban in this mixture of love, romance, and laughter rolled into one. It involves a romantic rectangle between a beautiful bathing suit designer (Williams), a bumbling masseur (Skelton), a suave polo player (Montalban), and Betty Garrett as the designer's sister. There's plenty love and laughter, and a colorful spectacular array of musical performances by Williams and the Neptunettes and music by Xavier Cugat and His Orchestra. The movie's composer, Frank Loesser won an Oscar for the song, "Baby, It's Cold Outside". Whether you're a fan of Esther Williams or if you enjoy watching beautiful girls. You'll love "Neptune's Daughter". With Keenan Wynn, Ted de Corsia, Mike Mazurki, Mel Blanc, Joi Lansing, Theresa Harris & Elaine Sterling.

  • Fairly decent

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/11/10

    Esther Williams made a few clunkers, but this in not one of them. The film is bolstered by the presence of costar Betty Garrett, who is cute as the younger lovestruck sis, and gets the chance to do some singing and dancing. Xavier Cugat adds to the mix, and Ricardo Montalban is charming as the South American polo player. But some of the physical comedy generated by Red Skelton is truly funny, and Keenan Wynn balances it all out with his business-like character. When you compare 'Neptune's Daughter' to a lesser effort like 'Texas Carnival,' you wonder a) what went wrong in the second film; and b) what made the first film so great. I think what makes this one great is the casting, the music, and the comic dialogue provided by Ray Singer. It is definitely worth watching, but 'Texas Carnival' isn't (unless you're a true die-hard Esther fan).

  • Neptune's Daughter - great movie

    • Laurie
    • 4/8/07

    Not too long ago I became very interested in Classic Movies. I loved Neptune's Daughter. It was so entertaining and it should be released on to DVD or VHS so that it could be shared with a younger audiance.

  • neptunes daughter

    • heather
    • 2/19/07

    i think this is a funny cute love story i like that there is great music also

  • This is a beautiful movie

    • Heather Jones
    • 5/31/06

    It's a movie I remember watching with my oma as a child filled with beutiful characters, great music like baby it's cold outside, a fantastic male lead and female lead. I would recomend it to anyone.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.