skip navigation
Min and Bill

Min and Bill(1930)

  • Thursday, July 31 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, September 7 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Min and Bill Two crusty waterfront... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Marie Dressler

    • Stella W.
    • 3/10/13

    I saw Marie in "Dinner At Eight" and she was fantastic (they ALL were), so I went looking for more. "Min and Bill" knocked my socks off. The bulk of it is comedy - quips, a corny out-of-control boat scene, and a hysterical knockdown dragout fight scene when she catches Bill (Wallace Beery) baiting his hook for another woman. All in all, it looked predictable, and I anticipated a funny little feelgood ending. This wasn't the case. The last bit was a total genre-jump and the ULTIMATE tough trip. If you haven't seen it, DO NOT GOOGLE A PLOT SYNOPSIS. Watch this thing. In the final scenes, Marie doesn't speak a word. She communicates everything with facial expressions that must have been honed with decades of stage acting and silent movies. She got an Oscar for Best Actress for this. I imagine it was the easiest decision they ever made.

  • Marie Dressler

    • Robert
    • 2/15/13

    I stumbled upon the last 15 minutes of this film but I found myself hooked on watching to the end by the sheer force of character Marie Dressler brought to this role as 'Min'. This was like seeing a REAL character come to life on the screen with sorrow, pain, hurt, delight, anger, sadness all remarkably reflected by Dressler's impressive face on the screen. From the scenes I saw, Ms. Dressler well deserved an academy award for this performance.

  • Min & Bill

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/15/13

    A cheesy drama with an unforgettable duo. Dressler won the Oscar as Best Actress as a hard-boiled innkeeper who with Beery's fisherman raise an abondoned girl. Quick-paced story is sentimental throughout, with instances of light humour and action. A good film to see from time-to-time. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • An Observer's Review of Min and Bill

    • Jared Wyatt
    • 11/20/11

    I think that this film is a delightful dramedy classic filled with hilarious comedy between a terrific duo Marie Dressler and Wallace Beery and drama keeping their secret over their daughter. I think Marie Dressler so deserved the Academy Award for Best Actress in 1931 for this film

  • Min and Bill (1930)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/30/09

    A delightful classic, Marie Dressler, as always is wonderful. It balances drama and comedy very well. Great supporting cast. Well produced.

  • "Min Bill" on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 1/21/09

    I say this movie should be on DVD. I do like Marie Dressler (who won an Academy Award) and Wallace Beery.

  • Frances Marion Keeper

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 10/12/08

    Famed Hollywood screenwriter (who helped revive Marie Dressler's career) gives us Min and Bill and their unconventional daughter in this fun tale of waterfront impropriety. Other reviewers have noted that it is Marie's movie, and more about Min, than Wallace Beery's Bill. I agree on some level, because it certainly is a woman's film and comments on all of her relationships, from customers to family to law enforcement and school personnel. Granted, the plot is a bit prodding in the beginning, and the comic bits seem to play like tangents that keep the film from reaching its more serious moments. So, it's a combination of early sitcom and social melodrama. But for those who decide to stick with it, Marion's script offers plenty of reward (and so does Dressler's academy award winning performance). This would be a good film to pair with the 1930s version of 'Anne of Green Gables' and the original 'Stella Dallas' entry with Barbara Stanwyck. And if we're going to focus on Marion's brilliant writing career, it would be a good counter-piece to her earlier 'The Champ,' also featuring Wallace Beery.

  • excellent movie

    • Renea CooperSmith
    • 8/7/08

    When does the movie play again on tcm?I want to be sure to invite all my friends to a movie party and watch this wonderful movie.

  • Min and Bill

    • polly hopkins
    • 3/29/06

    Loved this movie - great story of self sacrifice and love

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.