skip navigation
The Loved One

The Loved One(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Loved One An Englishman in Hollywood... MORE > $21.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Second Look, Ileana?

    • hswolfmaniac
    • 5/14/14

    I recorded this on my DVR and finally began to watch it last week. I kept falling asleep out of boredom after a few minutes the movie began . It took me over a week to see the whole movie. Second look? This movie didn't deserve a first look. What a waste. Joyboy's mother was disgusting. The only reason I kept watching it was just to see Anjanette Comer. Not a good movie to watch. Mediocre at best.

  • Overlooked Gem

    • Stephen Novalany
    • 4/19/14

    Very funny satire . Discovering this was akin to "discovering" and watching for the first time one of the great screwball comedies of the thirties or forties

  • What A Find!

    • Stephanie
    • 1/30/14

    This is a delightful and witty movie that came out the same year I was born. I've just read the Evelyn Waugh novella - which was the source material for this - a very biting and witty book. The book is from 1948 and Richardson updates his film to 1965 but he does not "ruin" the book. The updates are great. What a looney movie. Everyone is so good. I even love Liberace's small scene. He was a pretty good actor! The look of the film is perfect and almost has a Kubrick feel. Anjenette Comer is a new find for me and I thought she was perfect for Miss Thanatogenous. Jonathan Winters and a young Paul Williams also add to the hilarity. But nothing beats Rod Steiger's over-the-top performance as Mr. Joyboy.

  • Thanks, Ileana

    • Sherry
    • 5/26/13

    Caught this Friday night as part of Ileana Douglas's programming (bringing forgotten movies back). Although it can be annoying at times, as it was part of that whole 1960's madcap vibe, with jangling voices that irk, the visuals are riveting. I saw what looked like an alien sitting in a restaurant during a scene with Morse and Gielgud. Freaky!

  • The Loved One

    • Goetan
    • 5/25/13

    A satirical look at the funeral services in Hollywood. Morse gets involved in the funeral business after his uncle's suicide, great work from Winters in a dual role, Paul Williams in his debut as the boy genius he hires. When the story and jokes are actually funny, the film shines, but it can trend towards the vulgar and creepy at times. A good, but not great comedy worth watching from time-to-time. I give it a 3/5.

  • joined tcm.com because of this film!

    • milesfll
    • 11/16/12

    consider myself a movie buff, but i have never heard of this film! i worked in the funeral businessand got a charge out of that aspect. johnathon winters in a dual role (intentional i'm sure), paul williamsas the kid, rod steiger, liberace what a cast!!!!! look up the main charactors name in the dictionary, you will get close. this is definately a keeper. not as madcap as mad mad mad mad world, but great names just the same.

  • Never forgot it

    • Professorcool
    • 7/21/12

    I saw this movie when it was first released, and thought it was absolutely oneof the most outrageous, offensive, and hilarious satires/parodies on film. Certainly on a par with "Cat Balloo" and "Cheyenne Autumn" (which starred Sal Mineo as an Indian Brave!). The movie lampoons fat people, dead people, rich people, businessmen, air-head young women, and clueless young men. Truly the movie with something to offend everyone. See it!

  • great

    • Ryan petersen
    • 6/24/12

    The loved one is great for a mortician or post mordem comedey lover, I my self is a funeral director im usually just embalming but i do others and i tell ya every thing in the movie is done by a great prop maker because all the equitment is ones i use for perfecting the narrual look. some although are outdated but post mortem collectable treasure they should make a remake ied love to see that ecspecialy with jim carrey as mr joyboy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • The Loved One

    • The Phantom Stranger
    • 3/6/10

    .. An absolute hoot to watch! Let's say if this movie doesn't hit your funny bone,well then perhaps Mr.Joy Boy should be working on you, because you would have to be dead not to laugh at this Morbid comedy. Robert Morse is one of those actors, who can make you laugh out loud, even when he is just expressing his emotions. This movie is B/W from 1965. It is a little Gem of a Film, so before watching have yourself some adult beverages and some other things and kick back in a comfortable chair and be prepared for a very funny,offbeat, movie featuring some great stars of that era,who normally did not do comedy. Enjoy!! The Phantom Stranger/ reviews horror movies for Creepshow Mayhem.com. Check it out sometime..

  • Winner: Most Bizarre Film ever!

    • Deegee
    • 3/5/10

    I first saw this movie on very late night TV when half-hungover from a senior prom party in 1970 - I thought I had hallucinated, as I never heard any more mention of the film and didnt know the title. Then I found it on cable and was delighted to see that it was the movie that was so nutz and not any illegal drugs I may/may not have ingested. I love this satirical look at the funeral industry. It is truly the movie to offend everyone!

  • Weird & Funny Satire

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/18/09

    Although "The Loved One" is about a morbid subject (death and funerals) it is a very funny comic satire with a great cast playing some extremely strange characters, such as a lecherous businessman-preacher, an embalmer, a (Hindu?) advice columnist, a kid rocket scientist and some very wacky Brits. I just bought the DVD, and I have seen it on TCM a few times. If you like good satire then see "The Loved One". Of course, if you don't care for this kind of film, then stay away.

  • what a disappointment ... SPOILER ALERT

    • a
    • 11/29/08

    very slow, silly and NOT very funny but had sooooo much potentialtoo bad sir John Gielgud's character died so soon into the movie ... the movie died too

  • crazy film

    • PDW
    • 4/1/08

    I saw this years ago and could never find it untill I saw it again on TCL some time back. It is a dark comedy with a star studded cast!

  • Is this the darkest edge of black comedy?

    • Davzin
    • 7/9/07

    A friend once told me that she showed this movie to a relative dying of cancer.And the laughter almost killed the two of them! You may have thought Liberace was the pinnacle of smaltz...but who could have been a better casket salesman?Mr. Joyboy's mother meeting her fitting'end' is disgusting, revolting, and hilarious. Any movie with Jonathan Winters in dual roles can't possibly be missed by any movie fan of this genre. Before you plant a dear relative, or makeyour own funeral plans...be sure to watch The Loved One several times. I want the eternal-perpetual myself.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.