skip navigation
Dream Wife

Dream Wife(1953)

  • Tuesday, December 30 @ 06:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dream Wife For state reasons, a diplomat... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I agree ...

    • JennyFur619
    • 4/27/13

    ... with the last couple of reviews. This movie is terrible on so many levels.

  • I Really Like Cary Grant, But..

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/25/13

    This film just doesn't work for me. I'm all for Cary Grant in silly far-fetched stories where hilarity ensues. But, if I'm honest with myself, I have to try and work at it to even like Mr. Grant in this one. Sometimes I don't particularly like the film he's in, but I like him so much it doesn't matter. I can't say that here. I don't think he can even give validity to this movie. Deborah Kerr doesn't help matters either.

  • Inane film

    • RedRain
    • 8/13/12

    Silly fluff piece not worth watching except to gaze at the gorgeous Cary Grant! Firstly, it would never have happened in a million years. Secondly, I can't imagine why Grant or Kerr even agreed to make this film. They must have either been forced to by their studios or they needed the money. I'd rather watch "The History of Asphalt" than watch this film again. btw: The actual history of asphalt is very interesting!

  • Politically Incorrect...My Foot!

    • charles henry
    • 12/19/11

    DREAM WIFE was produced in 1953...Do you hear that every one?...1 9 5 3. It is grossly unfair to judge a film made in 1953 by our oh so highly sensitive 'politically correct' standards of 2011. I am so sick of all of this 'politically correct' nonsense that dominates our 'politically correct' society. DREAM WIFE is a charming, witty film that shows off the foibles of the society of the times. Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr are terrific with the way they banter back and forth and light up the screen with their presence. All of the characters are crystal clear and know their way around a broad farce like this. The movie moves along at a quick pace keeping the audience interested and waiting for the next situation. Yes, it probably couldn't be produced today and we would be all the poorer for missing out on a sparkling comedy farce. So lets lighten up on this 'politically incorrect' nonsense or we'll be banning 'THE KING AND I' AND 'MY FAIR LADY' next.

  • Politically Incorrect Fun

    • Mr. D
    • 7/29/11

    I'm glad I didn't spend $20 to buy this 1953 movie, but it was a pleasant enough way to spend a couple of hours in front of tcm. You absolutely could not make a politically incorrect movie like this today. Even my wife got a little annoyed by the male-centric viewpoint of the 1st half of the movie, and she adores everything Cary Grant does. The dialogue is not topnotch, but Cary Grant could make any script work. In the end, Cary Grant & Deboarah Kerr realize they were made for each other, and so once again amor omnia vincit. Of course these 2 would work again in An Affair To Remember, which is a superior movie to Dream Wife.

  • okay

    • Chris
    • 7/20/11

    This is okay Grant comedy. Not his best, though.

  • Grant-Kerr

    • CBlackford
    • 10/15/09

    Only From the creation of TCM could I ever enjoy a Grant-Kerr movie!!!How I wished all of their movies in the (golden age)could be digitally mastered in color and closed captioned for the hearing impaired.Super thanks to Mr Turner!!!

  • Dream Wife

    • Misty
    • 4/11/09

    I love Cary Grant & Deborah Kerr. I didn't know they made a movie together besides "An Affair to Remember." TCM really needs to play it again soon.

  • Dream Wife

    • judy campbell
    • 3/3/06

    I am a Cary Grant fan and have never seen this movie. I missed it this morning and came to the website to see when it plays again. I couldn't find another listing. Can you provide a date? Thank you so much!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.