skip navigation
Until They Sail

Until They Sail(1957)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Until They Sail Four sisters in New Zealand... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Golden Oldie

    • Loraine Hone
    • 10/26/12

    I think this is one of the best black and white world war II films I have seen in a long time. It has a fantastic story showing the draining emotions of waiting for loved ones gone off to war not knowing when or if they will return. I wish it was available in the UK on DVD (I know it can be bought for the US market). Brilliant film - should be on TCM more - I have only been able to see it once and it made a great impression.

  • Auckland, not Oakland

    • Karen
    • 7/12/11

    I think Evelyn and Tommy end up in Auckland, NZ. That makes much more sense and that is what I heard. Any one else? I am ordering James Michener's book of short stories that contains Until They Sail.

  • LOVED IT!

    • LINDA GOLD
    • 6/29/11

    It is rare that Paul Newman shows real love emotion. That's why I adore this movie. I wish TCM would play it more often!

  • Terrific Movie

    • barbara davis
    • 4/9/11

    This movie should be on DVD!

  • another great jean simmons movie

    • bill copper
    • 11/11/09

    there is no such thing as a bad jean simmons movie, and this one also has paul newman. as effective a war story as "mrs. miniver," showing that life on the home front could also be horrific. excellent, excellent movie.

  • Love This Movie

    • Sue
    • 2/19/09

    Great actors set in New Zealand during WWII. While it is a fictional story one can imagine that stories similar to this were actual happenings during this tumultous period in world history.

  • Wonderful Movie.

    • Mary
    • 1/25/09

    One of the best movies ever. TCM is the only station to play this great movie, and I am hoping they will show it again soon. A terrific movie not to be missed.

  • A favorite of mine

    • Eva Trapani
    • 2/12/08

    I have seen this many times on TCM, and always enjoy it. I've recorded it on a VHS tape so I can see it whenever I wish. Paul Newman at a young age--charming!

  • One of the best!

    • OldMovieFan
    • 3/15/07

    This is one of my favorite WWII romance movies & TCM is the only place I can see it, which is why I'm BEGGING you to please show it for me. Excellent cast, excellent script, excellent direction--what more can you ask for in a movie? This is one not to be missed!

  • Entertaining Movie

    • Movie Fan
    • 10/12/06

    Good entertaining war film with Paul Newman, Jean Simmons, Joan Fontaine and Piper Laurie. Good supporting cast as well. Recommended highly.

  • Fantastic movie!

    • Old Flick Fan
    • 8/10/06

    This is a great war/love movie, and all the actors shine in it. I'd like to see this shown at least once a year on TCM. They just don't make 'em like this anymore!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.