skip navigation
Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes(1922)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Sherlock Holmes Sherlock Holmes faces off... MORE > $24.95 Regularly $24.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Sherlock Holmes

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/7/13

    A film adaptation of the play that was adapted from Conan Doyle's stories. Barrymore plays one of his most prestigious roles as the title character, the film marked the debut's of William Powell & Roland Young. The story has faults that weren't improved from the play, but the film can hold interest long-enough to see how the film ends. Highly recommended to those who are fans of Barrymore and the famous detective. I give it a 3/5.

  • What A Lovingly Done Restoration

    • Karin
    • 11/16/12

    Everyone is entitled to their favorite Holmes,and Mr Barrymore is excellent.This was before dissipation set in,very apparent in Romeo And Juliet,and is a sad loss of a great actor in the 1940's.I'm sure his father's ill health and hospitalization didn't help his drinking.He's a young-looking 40 here,and a remarkable actor,and after reading his thoughts on the camera,I see his disapproval of films.

  • Excellent film!

    • RedRain
    • 11/12/12

    I so look forward to Silent Sunday and this film was such a reward for that anticipation! What other medium could bring us the legendary John Barrymore from 1922? He excels in his role as Sherlock Holmes and I suspect that had he portrayed Sherlock in the talkies, he just might have been the best ever. Interesting to note this was William Powell's first film and he was 30 at the time. Hedda Hopper had already made 14 silent films before this one. The nuance expressed in silent film should not be missed, as the actors had to be so much better in order to put the film across. Silent films also give us a snapshot into the history of our country, as well as the evolution of film in general. A milk truck driving down the street, an iceman delivering to a home, the hems on the ladies' dresses going up as the 1920s become more decadent...these are all what silent film is about. They are not to be missed, as few are ever shown in theaters today, and I hope TCM never cancels Silent Sunday!

  • In appreciation

    • mHomes
    • 11/12/12

    "It's a World of Strange Complexities, Watson"!Some peeps get it, some don't :)

  • I LOVE Silent Sunday Nights

    • Cynthia
    • 11/11/12

    I am sadly disappointed in the short-sighted and egocentric review "Karen" posted. One doesn't have to have been around in the 1920's to appreciate silent movies. My father, who was born in 1923, introduced me to Laurel & Hardy, Charlie Chaplin, and Buster Keaton when I was an adolescent. I loved the comedies back then, but have expanded my taste to appreciate all genres of silent film now. I am intrigued and impressed with how much was accomplished with such little technology. I love the lighting, the sets, and the physical acting. While viewing, I have laughed, cried, and lost myself in the plots. I am ever so grateful that TCM understands and values ALL types and ages of film making. Thank you, TCM, and please don't ever consider taking away our Silent Sunday Nights!

  • Can't wait to see a 30 year old William Powell!

    • Maureen
    • 11/10/12

    I will set my alarm in case I fall asleep before the midnight start of this film. I love the Barrymores, but I especially love William Powell and look forward to seeing him in his silent self. Thank you TCM!

  • B&W Films~~Art & Impressonism all-in-one.!

    • Dios
    • 12/2/11

    The better made B&W, such as this Shelock Holmes, demand more attention to the details, moods, and movements throughout the entire piece, which involves the viewer more than most current films with a lot of dialogue that can be distracting from the scene, specially with today's in-vogue style of "talking-heads" zoom-in.I don't want to see the actor's pores or the wet saliva on their lips. Unless I am watching Porn!The B&Ws were filmed and modeled after the Theatre Stage and can equal, or create a form of Impressionist style of painting~~A more refined Art form than what's created with Special Effects, incredible stunts, explosions and rapid changing scenes.

  • slow do and watch it, 90 years old.

    • steve
    • 12/2/11

    Acting as good at as Basal, Robert or Jeremy. He is after all John Barrymore.

  • Geez, I'm loving the silent Sherlock!!

    • Zack
    • 12/2/11

    Sorry, Karen. You strike me as suffering from tunnel-vision. And that, over time, makes you as arrogant, as smug, as patronizing as some of my students do. And that is naive at heart. They don't watch black & white films. Only films in color. (Geez, you wouldn't be ROTFLYAO watching Young Frankenstein?) You can watch all the current crap you want, but do not deny me & others one specially wonderful channel, TCM, and thus the right to watch the part of our precious cinimatic heritage that's beenj painstakingly saved. There are so many reasons why you are very short-sighted, but ... Consider this: just before I tuned into this 1922 Sherlock silent, I saw a commercial for the 2011 Sherlock movie coming out any day now with Robert Downy, Jr., and Jude Law. John Barrymore as Sherlock? Cool! In one channel switch, I see the character of Sherlock works still 90 years later. The characters of Watson & Moriartity still have currency, too! You would deny me that? And there is so much more that's incredibly valuable and wonderful! Another example ... Look at the scenery behind the actors in those old movies. See a world that pre-dates your prejudices. Read the signs on the walls, the prices in the restaurants, the make-up the actors wore, the vehicles on the streets. Look at the trees and see what 90 years of growth has produced! This is especially useful in Hollywood silents. Those chest-high palm trees still exist in Beverly Hills, only now they are 90, 100 feet high. Chedck out the old Hollywood silents: the very landscape in the background has changed. Los Angeles WAS just farm land when those films were made. The hills these days are no longer wooded, but erased by the houses & apartments built upon them. Look at the trolleys. The first freeway wouldn't happen for the next twenty-plus years. Oh ... and I am only a couple years younger than you. Don't let yourself get so calcified. Enjoy!!!

  • File the 20's and early30's PLEASE

    • Karen
    • 12/2/11

    I'm 66, John Barrymore died before my birth and with few people from the 20's still around, I doubt they'd tune in to see the "silents" anyway. John Barrymore couldn't remember his lines when he got into "talkies". Basil Rathbone and Robert Downey played Sherlock Holmes very well. I cannot imagine a raging demand for regularly airing 20's and early 30's films on TCM. There are thousands of very good movies in your vault, why not show them instead of looping wonderful movies, and showing often sub-par films, foreign subtitled, and antiquated silents. People in this economy can't afford premium channels, hate unending commercials so they tune to TCM for ad-free entertainment. Do the country a favor, please, show the well hidden gems for the good of the country.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.