skip navigation
In the Good Old Summertime

In the Good Old Summertime(1949)

Up
Down
Contribute

FOR In the Good Old Summertime (1949) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

In the Good Old Summertime In this musical remake of The... MORE > $13.46 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of my favorites!

    • Shara
    • 12/3/17

    There is nothing I don't love about this classic. It always puts a smile on my face. The Judy Garland, Van Johnson pairing is a dream. I make sure to watch it every time it airs. Such a treasure! 5 stars!

  • NOT NEARLY AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL

    • Louise
    • 12/13/15

    Another not as good as the original. Oh yes, I know they changed the story a little, but SHOP AROUND THE CORNER is so much better. I love Frank Morgan, but he still doesn't make up for the insipid version of the story and Van Johnson's so so performance.

  • IN THE GOOD OLD SUMMERTIME OR ANY TIME

    • JOHN R.
    • 10/5/13

    AL JOLSON ONCE SAID, JUDY GARLAND IS THE GREATEST FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY.AND JOLIE DIDNT HAND OUT COMPLIMENTS UNLESS YOU EARNED THEM.

  • Such a Surprise

    • BanteringRN
    • 12/24/12

    I just loved the movie. In this day of emails and text messages the idea of simple pen pals and letters was wonderful. Shop Around the Corner and You've Got Mail. This is the best of them all

  • Admiravel

    • Sonia
    • 11/1/10

    Este filme to gracioso. A Judy e o Van Johnson esto reluzentes. Um musical dos melhores.

  • Loved It!!

    • Brittney
    • 10/11/10

    I was so taken away by Judy Garland & Van Johnson's performance! It was a great movie! it made me laugh as well & I enjoyed it!! :)

  • A Summertime Musical Romance

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/3/10

    Judy Garland and Van Johnson are the main players in this lavish musical remake of the 1940 movie, "The Shop Around the Corner". Garland and Johnson are two squabbling music shop clerks, who wind up being pen pals, and don't even know it, and later, would end up falling in love. Co-stars S.Z. "Cuddles" Sakall, Spring Byington and Buster Keaton provide some hilarious moments, even though, the humor is somewhat stale. This may not be up to most of Judy's earlier MGM vehicles, but still pleasant. Featuring songs including the movie's title song, "Meet Me Tonight in Dreamland", "Put Your Arms Around Me, Honey", "Wait Till the Sun Shines, Nellie", "Play that Barber Shop Chord" and "I Don't Care". This was Buster Keaton's last film for MGM. Look for three-year-old Liza Minnelli in the final scene. With Clinton Sundberg, Marcia Van Dyke, Lillian Bronson, Charles Smith & Joi Lansing.

  • Superb Entertainment

    • Jon Ehrsam
    • 7/23/09

    You will enjoy this movie. It has an uplifting feel about it. Van Johnson and Judy Garland really play off of one another in a pleasurable way. Most likely, this is the best performance I have ever witnessed in Judy Garland. In one of the special features, it is mentioned that Judy Garland sometimes led audiences to applaud her in movie theaters and her job in this movie allows one to see the possibility of that happening. S Z Sakall, as he always does, adds a special flavor to the movie.

  • Interesting Sidelight

    • Carl Beyer
    • 7/1/09

    I found it interesting that Charles Smith who played Rudy in "The Shop Around the Corner" appeared as an unbilled barbershop quartet singer in this remake. He was the young guy with the mustache backing up Judy Garland.

  • Great Old Movie

    • Brad
    • 11/30/08

    My family and I have watched this movie for years at Christmas time. It's a classic hate you/love you story with great performances from Van Johnson, Judy Garland, and Cuddles Sakall (as Mr. Oberkugen). Buster Keaton also does a wonderful job as Oberkugen's lapdog...er, nephew. With a wonderful mix of drama, comedy, and romance, you'll enjoy this movie if you like old movies. Grab some hot chocolate and your family, and sit around the Christmas tree while you watch. The whole family will enjoy this: even our X-box teenagers loved it.

  • Great Musical Comedy

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/23/06

    A wonderful 1940's musical comedy. Judy Garland, Van Johnson and "Cuddles" Sakall are especially good, and the great silent film star Buster Keaton is hilarious in the violin scene with Sakall.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.