skip navigation
The Hunchback of Notre Dame

The Hunchback of Notre Dame(1939)

  • Saturday, November 29 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, February 13 @ 07:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Hunchback of Notre Dame A deformed bell ringer rescues... MORE > $7.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Incredible job!!!!!!

    • Bob
    • 3/3/14

    Although the director could not handle Hugo's vicious and tragic ending, he did an incredible job with this film! The acting was incredible, even unbeatable. The make-up, costumes, and set were supreme. It was close to the book mostly until the ending, but that was so brilliant I almost wished Hugo would have done it! Wonderful proof romance, wonderful movie! The scenes at the battle at Notre Dame were especially stunning. Wonderful watch!

  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame

    • Dashiell B.
    • 11/20/12

    This magnificent version of Hugo's novel is considered the best adaptation of his novel. Laughton deserved a Best Actor nomination as Quasimodo, U.S. debut of O'Hara & debut film for O'Brien, each are magnificent as the lovers. Grand recreation of 15th-century France is superb with striking details & haunting atmosphere. A great film overall. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Unforgettable and Memorable

    • T.Harold
    • 11/19/12

    RKO's signature picture of 1939 is a triumphant adaption of the Hugo classic. Charles Laughton is totally brilliant as Quasimodo and the entire cast shines. Maureen O'Hara is excellent and SO beautiful. Great set designs!

  • Brilliant Performances

    • Chuckles
    • 6/6/12

    Laughton shined in this movie.Wonderful performances,but Charles is deserving an award for Quasi,prefer this one to the Silent,which is excellent,but the story is created for this rendition.Too bad Basil wasn't his nemesis in the film as Frollo

  • ****

    • Adam
    • 12/23/11

    Laughton's performance is great and O'hara is just lovely.

  • I am Quasimodo...

    • Greg Jarnigan
    • 7/1/11

    Anyone who has ever felt ugly & unloved will relate to Quasimodo. The abuse he endures, his unrequited love for Esmeralda, his determination & courage in spite of it all, make him an unforgettable character. Truly a great movie.

  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1939)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****

  • Chaney's Perfect Successor.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/14/10

    Charles Laughton becomes the first actor to succeed Lon Chaney in the role of Quasimodo in this first talking remake of Chaney's 1923 silent film version of Victor Hugo's classic novel. Laughton as Quasimodo rescues the beautiful gypsy girl, Esmeralda, portrayed by a then-18-year-old Maureen O'Hara from being hanged for witchcraft. The make-up artistry has changed since Chaney's day and Laughton gives a superb performance of his career. A magnificent atmospheric studio recreation of 15th-century Paris. The movie marks Maureen O'Hara's U.S. film debut. Also starring Sir Cedric Hardwicke, Thomas Mitchell, Edmond O'Brien (in his film debut), Walter Hampden, Alan Marshall, Harry Davenport, George Zucco, Curt Bois, George Tobias & Rod La Rocque. Remade again in 1957.

  • "Why was I not made of of stone like thee"

    • Steve
    • 9/17/09

    Charles Laughton should've won the Oscar for best actor in 1939 - with all due respect to "Chipping".

  • Hey Gay, Get Real...

    • Steve Steinfeld
    • 9/17/09

    No screenwriter could improve upon Hugo's classic novel - this a screen adaptation. This is TCM, remember, w/ the emphasis on the "M" for movies...If u wanna do a book review go to a site where they review books!Sorry Gay, I don't intend to get down on you but we are suppose to reviewing movies not books' e.g. this is Edmond O'Brien first movie and he's a thin and a very young man who's performance is well done.This is Ms. O'Hara's 2nd film (both) w/ Sir Charles Laughton and is she stunning or what as the gypsy, Esmeralda - HELLO!!!And Thomas Mitchell who made 4 films in Hollywood's glorious year and why, becasue he's was one dependaple character actor. Like, Walter Brennan, the studio knew what they got when they hired Mitchell.Would Hugo be amazed or horrified if he was alive when this film was made - I really don't know - perhaps he would've been the technical advisor.At any rate, a must see film w/ many other fine performances by very fine actors.

  • Most memorable ending.

    • Stephen Maher
    • 9/12/09

    I was about 9 yrs. old when I first saw this film on TV. It has always been a favorite. The ending : when the camera pans up to the Hunchback hugging a gargoyle and saying " Why couldn't I be made of stone... is one of the best in all of film.

  • What a travesty!

    • Gay Griffin
    • 8/7/09

    Some screenwriter had the conceit to believe he could improve over Victor Hugo!The only commendable elements in this bastardized production are Charles Laughton's make-up and his brilliant performance.

  • Is there more you could ask for?

    • Todd
    • 7/24/09

    This film is near to flawless as can be.All the pathos and drama, brilliant performances, wonderful set and costume design and a beautifully integrated soundtrack.I doubt there is an actor alive todaywho could equal Laughton's tenderinterpretation. A "must love" movie.

  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1939)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/14/09

    Charles Laughton is absolutely brilliant as Quasimoto, what a genius he is and will always remain one of my favorite actors. Tragic, poignant, wonderfully produced with excellent art direction and cinematography. A brilliant classic.

  • A new Favorite for me.

    • Dawn
    • 1/13/09

    This is the first time for me to see this wonderful movie. I loved it in every way.Much to learn from this film and it was so well done. I just loved it! It touched my heart. I just loved it so much.

  • LOVE IT!!!

    • Brenda
    • 10/22/08

    I LOVE this story. I have seen BOTH this version AND the 1923 version with Lon Chaney Jr. many times and they are GREAT movies.

  • Charles Laughton at His Best

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 7/25/08

    This is one of my favorites of Charles Laughton's films. I once heard this is one of best performances and they weren't kidding.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.