skip navigation
Lust for Life

Lust for Life(1956)

  • Thursday, February 12 @ 08:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Lust for Life Passionate biography of... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Brilliant Darkness

    • Condie
    • 7/28/14

    This production was filled with brilliant scenery. It was brilliantly directed, brilliantly acted, and brilliantly painted with darkness. Such brilliance is depressing.

  • Lust for Life

    • Goetan
    • 8/31/13

    A biopic as passionate, maddening and dynamic as it's subject individual. Douglas won the Golden Globe for his vivid reincarnation of Vincent van Gogh, and although he has little screen time, Quinn made use of his presence and won a Supporting Actor Oscar as Paul Gauguin. The story is alive, but occasionally drags and feels too much like a history lesson. An excellent biopic about one of the worlds most famous painters. I give it a 4/5.

  • A Kirk Douglas must-see...

    • ggtx785
    • 2/18/13

    This film is why Kirk Douglas fans...are Kirk Douglas fans. I can understand why Douglas was so disappointed when he didn't win the Oscar for this role--it's clear he threw everything into this Van Gogh. I don't use the L word often when I talk about film, but...I love this film.

  • A Masterpiece!

    • Mayra
    • 9/20/11

    I first saw this movie on television when I was approximately 11 or 12 years old, and that was quite some time ago! I am just as mesmerized with Kirk Douglas' performance as Van Gogh whenever I watch it now as I was then! it is my absolute favorite of his movies! As a history buff, as well as an admirer of Mr. Douglas,I particularly enjoy watching it on the TCM channel due to it's lack of commercials. The life, struggle,and work of this brilliant artist was depictedly superbly by an equally brilliant actor! Kirk Douglas definitely SHOULD have won the Oscar for THIS one!!

  • My Favorite Kirk Film

    • Camilo Shakir
    • 6/4/11

    This movie is dear to me. Van Gogh being a mentor, I was surprised how well Kirk Douglas performance was. I recommend this Film to anyone who champions passion

  • Kirk Douglas and his performance in Lust for Life

    • Ronald
    • 6/21/09

    This was probably, one of Mr. Douglass's best overall role, I always felt Detective Story was one of his finest, but his portrayal of a suffering, passion filled Artist way surpasses, his other performances. Thank You, Ron L.

  • Kirk Wuz Robbed!

    • Michael Valentine
    • 5/6/06

    Kirk Douglas lost out to Yul Brynner in "The King & I" for Best Actor Oscar and he was robbed. Although Brynner was having a good year with "The 10 Commandments" and "The Magnificent Seven." This, however, was Douglas at his intense best. Not simply by the passion and sensitivity of his portrayal but in his realisation of the multi-layered character of Vincent. Yet, this is also a significant film because of Vincente Minnelli's colourfully evocative direction and Miklos Rosza's moving score (which ought to be available on CD). The supporting cast of mostly British character actors/actresses provides a superb foundation to a film that has stood the test of time but has not received the recognition it deserves.

  • Superb!

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/5/06

    One of the greatest living actors, Kirk Douglas, brings Van Gogh to life in this superb performance. Anthony Quinn is great as Gauguin. Original locations in France add to the magic of this film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.