skip navigation
Baby Face

Baby Face(1933)

  • Friday, September 5 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Baby Face A beautiful schemer sleeps her... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Use men!

    • Russ
    • 2/22/14

    "A woman, young beautiful like you has power in the world! You must use men, not let them use you. Be the master and make them your slave. Exploit yourself! Use men! Be strong! Use men to get the things that you want!"

  • 80 years and nothing has changed!

    • RedRain
    • 6/11/13

    I actually laughed aloud when Robert Osbourne and Molly Haskell discussed this film tonight! I know it was considered scandalous in the pre-Code era but eighty years later Stanwyck's character, Lily, is alive and well. Robert and Molly never mentioned this fact and they made it appear that things like this only happened back in the day. I worked for women exactly like Lily. They came from nothing and "worked" their way up. One married a member of the President's cabinet, another indeed married the President of a Wall Street bank! I love this film because I've known women like "Lily" all my life. Stanwyck's "conversion" to a decent sort at the end is because she finally fell in love with a man, instead of using him to fill her emptiness. She finally realizes that all the jewels and the bonds in the world don't put their arms around you at night!

  • WOW!

    • BarbaraS
    • 1/27/13

    What a story. Somehow she plays a completely conniving, heartless femme fatale, yet you end up liking her! Barbara is so great in this you know you can't watch it just once. I've seen both versions and the pre-code one is much grittier, better by far. The post-code version attempts to be some sort of morality play, but the pre-code one is a portrait of a girl doing what she has to do to survive in hard times. It's Barbara at her finest, cute and spunky! Knowing her real-life story, I wonder if some of the toughness was not all acting, especially when she remarks about the stuff she's put up with "since I was 15." Love her "look", the kind of sideways smirk of disdain she does when she is skeptical or fed up with someone; I've seen it in other of her early films.

  • Baby, look at her now ...

    • Commenter77
    • 3/5/12

    This girl had it all pulling her down from the get-go. I'm thinking that Barbara Stanwyck beats Joan Crawford as a toughie. (Betty Davis? hmmm, not sure about that) I can see why this was pre-Code. She was blatant in her come-on, albeit in look. In any event, her targets quickly get the message. But her temperature suddenly dips when her interests aren't being served. One of her targets catches another in her penthouse, shoots him and then himself. She basically just calls down to the lobby and tells them to see about getting it cleared up. It's very interesting to see her angle her way through the various men, co-workers and situations to get that far. But, she gets stubborn over Brent (at first meeting) and his assumption that she will play according to type with the offer he makes her to transfer out of the country after the scandal (the bump offs in her penthouse were execs from his bank). She digs her heels in another way, to disprove his cynical presumption that she will blow the new job and resort to party life. That part is not so active in some ways, but I think interesting to see her character take a turn. And she keeps turning, going from hard boiled to soft boiled. Brent really loved her, and that came to bear on her conscience. Anyway, she is heartfelt in her moment of reckoning at the end (details concealed here). She had changed her M.O. to prove him wrong, then got him to marry her rather than just keep her. However, his loyalty to her worked on her until she ends up with a woman's heart, for the first time in her life.If that sounds sappy to you, catch the first half or two-thirds. Otherwise, you might enjoy the whole thing. It's good.

  • Baby Face

    • Russ
    • 9/30/11

    I saw this movie the other night on TCM and was completely mesmorized by it. Barbara Stanwyck was such a beautiful woman and the story so believable. Like they say, "They don't make them like they use to".

  • Stanwyck the Magnificent

    • David Atkins
    • 8/5/11

    I saw Baby Face on TCM and was knocked out by Barbara Stanwyck's sizzling performance. Amazing movie,and great to see John Wayne in one of his earliest movies in support of Stanwyck.This is a great movie and I repeat it is Stanwyck's all the way.What a Broad ( When Barbara Stanwyck fell ill and could not do a movie Heat of Anger she was replaced by Susan Hayward who sent Stanwyck a big floral bouquet "From One Brooklyn Broad to Another, and when Susan died Stanwyck's wreath noted "From One Brooklyn Broad to Another"

  • CLASSIC

    • Judy
    • 7/23/11

    Another gem by Barbara Stanwyck who needs to has a COMPLETE box set released of ALL her films.

  • Baby Face [1933]

    • Michele
    • 3/26/10

    Thank You TCM for showing Baby Face. What a fantastic movie...Stanwyck...FABULOUS as always. TCM...u r the Best!

  • BABY FACE Hey Baby (STANWYCK)

    • Derrick T. Ivory
    • 2/15/10

    Barbara Stanwyck in this film, is one of the reasons why I watch T C M. As a kid growing up watching her on Big Valley I was a true fan. And now seeing all of her films, just blows me away. A well knowed hollywood bigshot, stated that she was not sexy enough to be in one of his films. I'm going to expose him Sam Goldywn, she was a kind of tomboyish but she had it, STAR POWER and she knew how to use it. And why is it that Billy Wilder used her in a lot of his films, shut up Sam Goldfish. George Brent as Courtland Trenholm was no match for her as Lily Powers. In this film she WORKED IT, and got what she wanted. Her flavor is very rare just ask Fred MacMurray, Robert Ryan, Henry Fonda and Robert Taylor, and you must see her on TCM. Did you see John Wayne before stagecoach. For All STANWYCK FANS.

  • Stanwyck sizzles in this one

    • Ross
    • 7/13/09

    Terrific pre-code film. A must see for Stanwyck fans. She excels in her part as a vamp who works her way to the top bedroom by bedroom.

  • Pre Code has the Edge

    • dAN
    • 7/16/07

    A film like this during Pre Code somehow has the edge over the ones after 1934. The content in this film would not be shown after '34 and this is why I find this very fascinating and one great film. Stanwyck nails her character down wonderfully as one of Hollywoods ground breaking achievement in films. This one should be a must own on DVD.

  • One of My new Favourites

    • ian b
    • 7/16/07

    I had never seen this movie before, but it is now one of my new all-time favourites.Stanwyck is tremendous in this depressionera soap opera type movie... it is one of the best kept secrets of the 1930's.I had never been a huge Stanwyck fan, but after seeing her last few movies on her 100th birthday event, she has shown me her power,beauty,talent,and vulnerability .

  • She was a female archetype for the Depression.

    • Victoria
    • 12/31/06

    Sad to say my mom and countless others of her generation were forced to such rude circumstances and 'choices' in order to survive. Lily is an archetypal representative of so many women, past and present. - They felt that their transitory beauty was their only ticket to survival. - Were they right? You decide.

  • Phenomenal movie

    • David
    • 12/13/06

    Great movie. I'm glad I saw the documentary "Complicated Women" first. Knowing about the pre-code era makes "Baby Face" all the more enjoyable. Imagine what the world -- not just movies -- would have been like if not for the movie code in 1934. The whole Women's Liberation movement wouldn't have been necessary, or if it had, would have happened 30 years earlier.

  • I love this movie

    • Stefanie
    • 12/6/06

    Every women should see this movie

  • Which version is TCM showing?

    • Doyle
    • 12/4/06

    It would be great if TCM shows the original. Surely it can't be too racy for current sensibilities, and true film fans would welcome the opporunity to see it as it was originally filmed.What's it going to be, TCM?

  • Uncensored Version Screened

    • heh iii
    • 3/1/06

    In spring of 1933 this film was submitted to the New York State Board of Censors, who rejected it, demanding a number of cuts and changes. Warner Brothers made these changes prior to the film's release in July 1933. In 2004, a "dupe negative" copy of the film as it existed prior to being censored was located at the Library of Congress. This uncensored version received its public premiere at Film Forum in New York City on 24 January 2005, more than 70 years after it was made.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.