skip navigation
The Treasure of the Sierra Madre

The Treasure of the Sierra Madre(1948)

Contribute

FOR The Treasure of the Sierra Madre (1948) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Dobbs and Curtin meet up in... MORE > $5.98 Regularly $5.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Favorite Humphrey Bogart Performance

    • Judy
    • 7/23/14

    Of all of the performances by Mr. Humphrey Bogart, it is this role of Mr. Fred C. Dobbs that is by far my favorite. A true classic to watch time and time again, with some of the most famous quoted lines - '...no stinking badges' to view this masterpiece!!

  • A Real Treasure

    • Meredith
    • 8/1/13

    This is one of my favorite films. The actors are perfect; watching them change (or not) as they are faced with different situations keeps me engrossed every time I see it. And, I can't help but laugh with the ending - how true to life that is!

  • Best Ever?

    • tom
    • 8/1/13

    Yep. Not "Citizen Kane." Not "Gone With the Wind." Coming out of the 1948 Warner Brothers black-and-white gristmill, this film must have looked at first like just another "B" western. Except that it's not a western, and A all the way. Featuring what has to be the single most convincing and realistic performance in movie history (Howard, the grizzled old prospector-philosopher so vividly portrayed by the great Walter Huston), this film is about as perfect as a movie can be. My favorite scene is when the three prospectors decide to murder the claim jumper played by Bruce Bennett; two minutes later, when threatened by a horde of bloodthirsty bandits, the outnumbered prospectors are offering Bennett some lunch and calling him "friend." Of course, this is followed by Alphonso Bedoya's immortal "I don't have to show you any stinking badges." Just one unfortgettable line after another. They just don't make 'em like this anymore- and God willing, there never will be a remake. What a waste of film that would be- because you can't top perfection.

  • The Treasure of the Sierra Madre

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/8/12

    Warner Bros. chief, Jack Warner called this adventure masterpiece, "The best film made since movies started talking." A trio of American prospectors in Mexico go into the mountains for gold, where greed gets the better of them. Bogart is excellent as the middle-aged prospector who's the definition of paranoid venality. Huston, Sr. won the Academy Award for his supporting performance. Huston, Jr. won for directing & adapting Traven's story, which is a character study of how the men react under pressure. A magnificent film overall. I give it a 5/5.

  • TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE

    • IRISHMAN101
    • 2/3/12

    THE ACADEMY MISSED ONE HERE .MR. BOGART'S FINE PERFORMANCE,RATED AT THE VERY LEAST A NOMINATION.

  • Treasure of the Sierra Madre

    • Bruce C
    • 2/3/12

    Another fantastic Humphrey Bogart vehicle. Bogey's characterization of a man that is consumed isstartling. Clearly demonstrates how flexible he really was within his acting roles. His understanding of how to primitively portray an entity that goes from rags to riches is compelling.Bogey defines the persona of an individual surviving through the rigidity of physical labor, then being exploited for his back breaking efforts - before fighting for his fair share.He takes that same persona (mentality) onward. While the guidance (education) of prospector Howard (Walter Huston) brings him measured wealth, the predefined nature that comes from a school of hardknocks keeps him from being able to depend upon anyone or anything other than what is within his immediate grasp. He can't hear or see anything Howard conveys other than the physical work process.(Can't see the forest because of the trees).Many will dispose that Bogey's character (Dobbs) is consumed by greed, when it is equally as much as being a dirt poor person that suddenly comes into immense wealth, is without the resolve to understand how to handle it, as much as it is an actual desired greed. An inability to trust from previous happeningsis just as suggestive.Tim Holt's (Curtin) character plays off this conception with a square-deal for all - share alike - brotherhood characterization. Dobbs madness is real, being unable to fully control his thinking emotions. Making it morecomplex is how the film's ending contributes to the disposition of his mistrust, leading to his demise.

  • Ninos pick

    • Nino
    • 2/2/12

    One best films ever

  • Gold Hat

    • jose francisco garcia
    • 12/27/11

    Part of my top 10 movies to watch! Early on, the little pipsqueak kid, played by Robert Blake, is delight acting with Bogey's water-slap all over his face! Then there is the barber, as he uncovers Humphrey's face, eyeing his handy work with a critical eye.Treasures of the Sierra Madre, filmed on location around Tampico, Taumalipas, is a marvelous movie. I have to admit, that my favorite character is "Gold Hat", played by Alfonso Bedoya, who towards the end of the movie asks for his hat as he takes his position in front of a firing squad!

  • A must see for Bogie fans

    • Bud
    • 12/18/11

    Back in the day when actors actually had to act.There was no digital editing or computer enhancement. This one is truly Bogie at his best.

  • Bogie at his best

    • Dennis Kirsch
    • 4/1/11

    In my opinion this is Humphrey Bogart's best performance, but it is pretty much a dead heat with him in Casablanca. I've watched TotSM probably a dozen times, and just don't get tired of it. I see something a little different at each viewing. Not necessarily a recommendation, But I seem to remember it was Richard Nixon's favorite movie.

  • A Nerve-Shattering Adventure.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/26/10

    John Huston goes on location in Tampico, Mexico with Humphrey Bogart, his real-life father, Walter Huston, Tim Holt and Bruce Bennett to make this gripping-intense drama of greed, suspicion and paranoia based on the novel by B. Traven. Bogie and Holt are two hard-luck American drifters, who are joined by a grizzled old prospector (Huston; Best Supporting Actor Oscar) on a gold-prospecting expedition into the Sierra Madre Mountains, but soon, they will confront a most familiar enemy---GREED! Look for John Huston, who won an Oscar as Best Director, as an American tourist, of whom, Bogie asks for a hand-out, and look for a young Robert Blake as a boy trying to sell Bogie lottery tickets. Huston also won a second Oscar for Best Screenplay Adaptation. With Barton MacLane, Alfonso Bedoya, Manuel Donde & Jose Torvay.

  • TRAESURE INDEED!

    • Ben Lattanzio
    • 8/11/10

    I was lucky enough to see this film for the first time on the big screen at an old theatre called the TLA.(I'm sure many members from Phialdelphia have very fond memories of this venue!)I's always been a huge fan of Bogie but since channels like TCM did not exist at the time,broadcast TV was the only way to see classic film and you can imagine how frustraing it was waiting for some local station to show great films like this.Let alone the fact that they were often edited for time. (With less than quality prints to say the least)So I never had seen it on TV. It turned out to be one of the luckiest brakes of my film viewing life. I don't think there is even a mediocre scene in this film let alone a bad one.It is just about as perfect a film as Hollywood has ever made.All of the perfomences are top notch( especially Walter Huston).The screenplay is one for the ages. I suppose I may be preaching to the choir a bit but but even the subtleties stand out. Like the scene where director John Huston as an American tourist gives Dobbs money for the THIRD time,what does he do with it? He goes to a prostitute! This is a great forshadow of things to come. But its moments like this that set films like this and all others of their ilk apart from the norm. The theme of greed plays an impotent role yes,but there also lurks the paranoia of which of course is a by probuct of it. Any true classic film lover's DVD library is ,in my humble opinion, incomplete without this classic,

  • Gold Fever, Golden Movie!

    • GimmeClassics
    • 1/9/10

    Seen this movie for the ?time last night and enjoyed it all over again. I had my daughter(20) and nephew(8) watch it with me and they really liked it too. I think it's important to expose young people to movies like this so they get a full rounded view of what Hollywood has to offer. Its the movies from the past that have paved the way for todays great films. As far as writing a review about this great film..."badges?" Enough said.

  • Truly A Classic

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/21/09

    If any film can be thought of as one of the all time classics it has to be "The Treasure of The Sierra Madre", director/screenwriter John Huston's excellent adaptation of B. Traven's book about gold prospectors in Mexico. Humphrey Bogart gives one of his finest performances as the addled Fred C. Dobbs (Dobbsy), who together with Curtin (Tim Holt) and Howard (Walter Huston in an Oscar-winning performance) go into the Sierra Madre mountains of Mexico in search of gold and eventually fall victim to greed and mistrust. Dobbs is the one most affected, and as a result of his obsession with striking it rich he nearly kills Curtin, and then he himself is killed by Bandits. Great scene at the end, with Howard and Curtin laughing when they find out that after all their work and time prospecting their gold has blown back to the place where they found it. Four stars!!!

  • One of Bogart's best!

    • Richard
    • 12/1/09

    In an all too brief career as a leading man, this was one of Humphrey Bogart's best roles.......playing a really un-likable character......and really doing it well. 1948 was quite a year for him, given the fact that he was also outstanding in "Key Largo" that very same year. Both these movies and NO Oscar nomination......makes one wonder, doesn't it?

  • BOGEY DISGUSTING

    • COREY
    • 11/30/09

    SUCH AN ELEGANT MAN REDUCED TO A RAG PICKER.

  • The Treasure of the Sierra Madre (1948)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/6/09

    Director John Huston is at his best in this outstanding character drama. Superbly acted by all, Walter Huston deservedly won an Oscar for his role. The writing is magnificent, the characters are exceptionally well developed. A one of a kind film and one of the best from the 1940's.

  • BOGIES BEST

    • Todd
    • 7/1/09

    THis has to be one of Bogart's finest rolls. The direction was spot on for everyone John Huston should be proud of the material he got from ALL the actors, including his father Walter Huston. Ever time I watch that movie I can FEEL the angst and tension in Bogies character. In fact it makes me uneasy I have a hard time watching it because I know whats coming. THAT IS A GREAT MOVIE

  • Vanity and striving after the Wind

    • Pamela
    • 6/11/09

    This is an excellent film that I haven't seen since a child. Bogart is first class and what a role to play! Holt reminds me of our beloved Robert Redford. Holt played his part perfectly. I'm not sure if anyone received any rewards, but all of the acting was well done. Huston rounded out this pair with his experience and wisdom of the ages and brought humor to this piece of art work. The old story of greed and how it brings out the weak characteristics of humans was perfectly depicted. The words Dobbs used to trick the bandits were the same used by his former employer who wanted to cheat Dobbs before their journey of finding gold. An outstanding film. Thank you.

  • A superlative movie with no weaknesses !

    • Craig
    • 6/11/09

    This wonderful piece of cinematic history has been my favorite movie since I was a child. I vividly recall back in the mid 60's when I was about 10 yrs. old,my dad took my brother and I to see this in a downtown theater that was showing it in a retrospective of 'classic' films.At that young age,I recall being fascinated with the 'Gold Hat' bandit(wonderfully played by Alfonso Bedoya).His classic line..." I don't have to show you any stinking badges",had my brother and I rolling in the aisles.But only a few years later,I was captivated by this movie on another level.Walter Huston's Award winning role as the old prospector is just priceless.I loved his very critical comment to Bogart and Holt when they found gold and didn't know it.....You're so dumb there's nothin to compare you to !"And Bogart's slow and gradual descent into paranoia is extremely convincing.But what really makes this movie superlative,in addition to the terrific acting by the entire cast(including little Bobby Blake),is that it is a gritty and perceptive psychological study on human nature and greed. As Walter Huston stated," I know what gold does to men's souls". In my estimation,'Sierra Madre' is the best movie ever made.

  • A true Classic

    • Armando Barajas
    • 6/4/09

    This classic film works on so many levels that it truly elevates this film to an art form - from the morality lesson of greed to the amazing transforming of the Bogart character who descends into own his private hell.The characters are fleshed out and you feel as if you have an intimate look into their priviate thoughts. The movie takes place in Mexico and it does not have the typical Hollywood treatment given to the native population. Spanish is spoken thru out the movie but English translation is provided when needed in key scenes.And finally the the bandit character- Gold Hat played by Alfonso Bedoya has left us with the immortal words " I don't need to show you no stinkin badges" Its movie perfection and like Casablance you can watch it again and again .

  • The Very Very Best

    • Tom
    • 5/2/09

    This is a movie that must be watched. It is superb. When there are two or three movies from which to choose on TV, this is always the one. I've turned off Marilyn Monroe films to catch Walter Huston dance in the dirt! Loved Bogart's paranoia, and let's give Tim Holt a well-deserved and long overdue "bravo".

  • Classic

    • russ
    • 4/22/08

    The story, the acting by all the actors, and the presentation, in my opinion, all combine to make this the best movie ever made. Walter Houston's speech about prospecting to his prospective partners is a consumate display of his prolific acting skills. The bar fight is one of the most realistic fights in film. Tim Holt and Humphry Bogart give exemplary performances as down and out Americans in Tampico. Few actors are privileged to be in a film where the story, direction, cast, and all other components combine to produce a film that stands out as one of the best that was ever made in all aspects. A film that stands with a few, head and shoulders above the others. A great story, perfectly cast down to the bit players.

  • reaction to treasure of siee=erra madre

    • alan ferrer
    • 1/13/07

    one of the most underated films of all times bogart gave an oscat nominated performance even though he was not nominated this has to be best performance he has ever given everything in movie clicked beautiful shot of mountain great max steiner score, all performers on top df their game story was compelling

  • One of the best of Bogart!

    • o.a.c.
    • 11/28/06

    This classic adventure depicting man's greed has withstood the test of time. Humphrey Bogart , Tim Holt, and Walter Huston give outstanding performances. Truely one of the best films of all time, and my personal favorite.

  • A Great American Classic!

    • dlonz
    • 2/13/06

    This epic adventure is one for the ages. An absolute gem of a movie. Humphrey Bogart, Tim Holt, and Walter Huston lead the way into Mexico, where gold, danger, and betrayal await the trio. Watch what gold can do to a man! Huston gives the performance of a lifetime as the wise old prospetor. His dance on the mountain top is truly a remarkable moment in cinematic history. One word.....classic!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.