skip navigation
The Story of Three Loves

The Story of Three Loves(1953)

Contribute

FOR The Story of Three Loves (1953) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Story of Three Loves Passengers on an ocean liner... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • OK movie

    • maureen v.v.
    • 7/1/14

    I liked the Rick Nelson story the best. The other 2 were OK. Not worth seeing a second time unless you love ballet.

  • Lush and Romantic

    • Erin Matthiessen
    • 9/19/13

    I'm really only rating five stars for the first of the three episodes, The Jealous Lover, starring James Mason and Moira Shearer. I am so moved by this first "love" - by it's sentimental but irresistible plot, by the beautiful photography, by the impassioned yet classical dancing of Moira Shearer, by the fabulous four-hankie ending - that the following two episodes seem rather pale by comparison. They are, however, just as well-done.Anyway, it's all very lush, very romantic, very unrealistic. And when I'm in the right mood, it's very much what I want to watch.

  • Bel�ssimo

    • Alec
    • 1/4/13

    H anos procurei este filme, principalmente pelo primeiro segmento "The Jealous Lover", com a belssima Moira Shearer. Sensibilidade e beleza que no existem mais nos filmes hoje em dia.

  • Muito bom

    • Sonia
    • 11/27/10

    Este filme muito bom. timo ver Pier Angeli em seu frescor de juventude e num filme de alta qualidade. O TCM podia apresentar o filme. O elenco e a direo do filme so maravilhosos.

  • The Story of Three Loves

    • GeraldBouchard
    • 8/5/10

    I came in late on this film, but when i saw the sitting Moira Shearer in that gorgeous 1950's blue dress I instinctively hit the record button.My instincts served me well, as this is the most excruciatingly romantic film I have ever seen:an Atlantic crossing on an ocean liner (first-class, of course); a private ballet performed to the music of Rachmaninoff in a sumptuous NY apartment; Roman ruins under moonlight; Leslie Caron reciting Verlaine;Ethyl Barrymore as a suggestive Lady MacBeth, and her intriguingly human dog; then to the banks of the Seine, with an buff Kirk Douglas paired with the equally desperately beautiful and fearlessly brave and poignantly suffering Pier Angeli, sharing their fate on a trapeze. It doesn't get more romantic than this.It doesn't get any more rontic than this,

  • Three-time Winner

    • Leon
    • 6/24/09

    As a fan of love and multiple-plot stories, and based upon the title, I only expected to watch three nice love story. Instead, I watched three romantic, suspenseful, and captivating love stories.All aspects of this movie production are on target. It's a relativley unheard classic worth watching and adding to your collection.

  • Unfortunately edited

    • Keiko
    • 5/28/09

    This was a favorite movie of mine as a subteen. Unfortunately, the sequence featuring Moira Shearer has been edited! The original audition sequence she danced was longer and showed her technical prowess as a dancer, something which is not really part of the ending "Rhapsody" dance. There was more plot -- I remember a party of some kind where James Mason and Moira Shearer encounter each other, though probably that part wasn't quite as important. I think the other sequences are intact. Unfortunately Leslie Caron doees not dance in this movie, but she is nevertheless charming, as is Rick Nelson, just a boy at the time. Kirk Douglas as the gritted teeth aerialist is amazingly fit and athletic. There is a tendency toward melodrama in this movie, but it is worth seeing, nonetheless.

  • Unexpected delight

    • Wendy Laubach
    • 5/17/09

    I stumbled into this movie as the credits were rolling the other day. What a find! Two hours of heartstopping romance in three economical scripts. Just what you want from old-fashioned Hollywood elegance. I'd so very much like to own a copy of this movie, and to have it available to send to many women friends as a gift.

  • A Nice Treat

    • Laura J
    • 2/21/09

    I decided to watch this film on a whim and was I ever glad. Three stories of love told well and keeps the viewers interest.

  • What a Treat!

    • Betsy
    • 12/9/08

    Just happened to tune in and was gifted with a wonderful film that I had not seen before. Moira Shearer's dancing was just as exquisite as she had done in the Red Shoes.All three stories were lovely and bittersweet and a joy to watch. Why this movie is not on DVD is a mystery. Please air this movie again in prime time so more people will see it and VOTE!!!

  • Lost movie

    • Sue
    • 8/24/08

    I would love to have this movie on DVD because we enjoyed as a great love story, I feel people would benefit from the heartfelt story and the dancing and music and acting were excellent as shown by the actors in the movie, would it be possible to have a re-print of this movie to DVD? This movie should not be lost to the public.

  • GREAT ROMANCE MOVIE

    • Pamela Jones
    • 9/25/07

    I saw this movie as a teenager and at age 42, I have yet to see a great romance movie like it. All three stories display warmth, beauty, passion, and loss with such intensity, that you are drawn into the world of its characters. This movie is unforgetable! I will continue to search for it. It should be recorded on VHS/DVD!

  • A real classic

    • mk
    • 7/12/07

    Herb said it all - the dance scene is very beautiful. It made Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini popular and became my favorite piece of music for all time. I do hope the rights can be obtained to release it on DVD. mk

  • the red shoes - childhood souvenir

    • marion
    • 6/19/07

    I saw this film when I was 12 & have never forgotten the beautiful music, dancing and the story has remained vivid in my mind up until now that I am 65. Thank you for putting on TV I shall watch it & record it on dvd to enjoy at my leisure & feel happy.

  • GREAT MOVIE

    • HERB
    • 12/20/06

    THE DANCE SCENE, WITH THE MUSIC IS ONE OF THE MOST UNFORGETABLE, EVER MADE AND THE STORY WITH HER PASSION TO DANCE EVEN AT THE RISK OF DISASTER, IS HARD TO FORGET. JUST A PURE GEM OF A STORY, DONT KNOW WHAT IT HAS NEVER BEEN PUT ON DVD

  • Ballet sequence.

    • William Lundy
    • 8/22/06

    In the classical dance sequence of a short ballet performed to Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini which was choreographed by Frederick Ashton, I was the male dancer among the orange and yellow banners. I would love to get a copy on video tape or DVD for my personal library. I have one terrible copy that I sent for to Canada. It is completely unacceptable. Thanks.

  • Classic movie dance sequences

    • mkgreenlaw
    • 8/13/06

    The Story of Three Loves contains a classic dance sequence with Moira Shearer performing to Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. This movie made that particular piece of music popular for a generation of sixty-odd year olds. The three stories are little gems that should not be lost. I have been looking for a good copy of it for years.There is a sound track that I bought on EBay - made in Germany - but it is very tinny. Please, if you are familiar with this movie, vote for it to be released on DVD.MKG

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.