skip navigation
The Night Is Young

The Night Is Young(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Night Is Young A European nobleman falls for... MORE > $18.95 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Ramon Navarro and Evelyn Laye!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 3/18/16

    Two words - totally charming - that's it!

  • Too wonderful for words

    • Peggy
    • 8/11/13

    This film is gorgeous in all respects, both Navarro and Laye are indescribably marvelous in everything they do, and this film touches the heart in a way and with a depth that few of us ever experience in life. Navarro is completely underrated as a star throughout his career, and, this being the first and only time I have seen Laye, I can only hope to see her in something else, she is so great. I cannot foresee deleting it from my DVR, as every viewing shows more beauty and talent, and touches me more deeply. Anyone who has not seen this film misses a life experience too wonderful for words. I await the DVD, for which I voted. I am very grateful and appreciative that TCM chose Navarro to feature in Summer Under the Stars, August 2013.

  • The Night is Young

    • Dr, Albert Biggs
    • 8/9/13

    Maltin should listen and watch the movie if he reviews it. It is great, with a good sense of humor

  • Song "There's a Riot in Havana"

    • Herman Heyn
    • 9/2/11

    This is the song played on the piano and sung my Ramon Novarro.Does anyone know how/where I can hear it, or even just getthe libretto? Your help appreciated!P.S. The Night Is Young is one of the most fun movies I've ever seen!

  • THE NIGHT IS YOUNG

    • MARIE
    • 9/17/10

    saw this fabulous movie on tcm on 9/16/10. It is truly a wonderful find-music by oscar hammerstein, singing by evelyn laye and performances by ramon novarro, edward everett horton, a very young rosalind russell, una merkel, charles butterworth and mitzi too. I was however very disappointed to find that no vhs or dvd exists for purchase either at amazon or tcm. I hope this will soon be rectified.

  • Forgotten Gem

    • Peter
    • 7/9/08

    What a wonderful discovery this movie is! Evelyn Laye is the most beautiful and talented singing actress of her day. I can't believe I had never even heard of her until I saw THE NIGHT IS YOUNG. Ramon Novarro is surprisingly good too especially when his character finally lets down his guard and expresses himself in song. Una Merkel, Edward Everett Horton and Charles Butterworth provide great fun as usual (along with Mitzi, the horse who trots sideways.) I only wish Una's character hadn't disappeared halfway through the movie. It is also interesting to see a young Rosalind Russell in one of her first roles as a comic grande dame. I'm glad I had the presence of mind to tape this and I can only hope that TCM will show it again for those who missed it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.