skip navigation
Good Girls Go to Paris

Good Girls Go to Paris(1939)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • nice movie

    • jesse
    • 9/30/17

    this is a very funny movie .Cute and well playes genny did a good job i have ben looking for this movie for some time i realy licke it.

  • nice movie

    • jesse
    • 9/30/17

    this is a very funny movie .Cute and well playes genny did a good job i have ben looking for this movie for some time i realy lick it.

  • Loved this cutie

    • MamaA
    • 4/10/17

    Joan blondel plays sweet mischievous girl. You end up rooting for everyone and they all have a great ending. I agree Mel Douglas was right on target.

  • Hysterical!

    • Mosparx
    • 4/5/17

    This movie is absolutely hysterical and underrated. Douglas gives some of the best side glances since William Powell in the Thin Man series.

  • I'm Counting Down the Days until April!

    • MidnightBookGirl
    • 2/7/17

    I've been waiting years to catch this one on TCM again! I don't know why it's not more popular, Joan Blondell and Melvyn Douglas have some great chemistry together (at least in my opinion). I search for it periodically so I can own it, but having it on my DVR will be the next best thing.

  • Rolicking Hijinks on a Posh Long Island Estate!

    • el debbo
    • 12/16/16

    A real delight. Melvyn Douglas really pulls it off as a polished professor and Joan Blondell is wonderful. The digs on Long Island are gorgeous, as are the 1939 togs...gowns, day dresses, riding costumes. Yaz. Walter Connolly, the Brand kingpin, made me remember something when he was at the dress rehearsal walking his granddaughter down the aisle. Yes, of course, he was Claudette Colbert's sage father in It Happened One Night. Last but not least, Alan Curtis as Tom, where have you been all my life? Divoon man. Ultra-handsome!The plot was funny and so complex I'll have to see it again... and again. 4 glittering stars.

  • Good Girls go to Paris...cute!

    • Myrna
    • 9/26/14

    This film was on some rainy afternoon and my husband recorded it for me, I think on Melvyn D's birthday tribute 2 years ago...I must have watched this film dozens of times since as something to cheer me up. It was an unheralded surprise with a charming cast and funny, silly but sweet humor that you'll probably never see again in theaters! My first viewing of Joan Blondell with her funny antics involving a wealthy family and also of Alan Curtis who was gorgeous, and Melvyn at his best in light comedy. Last but not least Walter Connolly doing his best as the apoplectic patriarch....my family members passing thru the room would stop & watch it & laugh, then just shake their heads as the number of my viewings got up to the double digits! The scene where Jennie recognizes Sylvia from her photo and Alan Curtis finds salt in his drink makes me guffaw with a laugh every time! Maybe not in the same league as "It Happened One Night" but definitely a timeless classic with me!

  • Fun Movie!!

    • Michelle
    • 4/5/11

    Enjoyed the plot and the humor. Just wish it had lasted longer

  • Delightful!

    • Mary
    • 9/8/09

    I particularly enjoyed this because we get to see a young beautiful Joan acting in a sweet, innocent role. I also adore Melvyn D. The chemistry between these is a joy to watch. Need more movies like these. Would like to be able to purchase when released on DVD.!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.