skip navigation
Forbidden

Forbidden(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Forbidden - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Melodrama

    • Muriel Schwenck
    • 4/18/14

    The plot is another one of those early 30's melodramatic chestnuts in the vein of "Back Street". A woman gives her life and her heart's blood for the man she loves. But Stanwyck and Menjou turn a conventional melodrama into a very watchable story. Menjou is especially touching as the man who feels guilty but can't give up his love. Menjou is under appreciated these days, but he often played romantic leads in silents. But in talkies, he was mostly a very versatile character actor, or fast talking comedian. This movie he is the romantic lead.Ralph Bellamy starts out as his usual second string boyfriend who loses, but he is not the amiable lovable Bellamy we all know... don't miss him!

  • Menjou is fantastic!

    • RedRain
    • 12/20/12

    This film definitely belongs to Adolphe Menjou and it is one of his best performances. As for Stanwyck, she was very good here but her role is that of a woman who gives up her entire life and her child for the sake of a man she loves and can't have. Only a very weak woman would do that and, for that reason, I'm not fond of this character. Menjou's character is no prince either, as his political ambition keeps him from admitting the truth of his life. Both characters end up living lives based on deceit and lies. I gave it two stars for the performances but zero for the story.

  • Great Actress But

    • Margaret Hale
    • 12/20/12

    Barbara Stanwyck was a great actress but she perpetuated the female as door mat in many of her films. Not only does she have to give up the man she loves but she also gives up her child. Ridiculous.

  • great movie

    • jane
    • 7/25/12

    i've never seen adolph menjou play a part quite like this before. so serious and so in love. the story touched my heart and i am sad to know that it is not on dvd. it should be and i would watch it over and over.

  • LOVED IT!

    • Hope
    • 7/21/12

    Saw this movie for the first time tonight. Title intrigued me and I was quite surprised at the subject matter for a 1932 movie. I first fell in love with Barbara when I was young and used to watch "The Big Valley". As an adult, it's wonderful to see these classic movies with her in them. I didn't even recognize Ralph Bellamey as Al Holland (as I only know him from Trading Places n Pretty Woman). I LOVE classic movies!!!

  • Librarian not school teacher

    • Steve
    • 7/21/12

    Other than that Matlin pretty much on the money w/ his review. Capra still honing his craft before "It Happened One Night"!

  • You're right...it was unexpected!

    • ALA
    • 12/22/09

    I love the title of another poster's comment "Unexpected Delight"...I was only able to see a small portion of this film this morning, but hope to see it again - hopefully at another time than 6:00am! Stanwyck (always a fave) is brilliant... Please show this film again...and even better, get it released on DVD! Thanks!

  • All Time Favorite

    • rolinstone
    • 9/25/09

    This movie is my all time favorite! I watch it all the time. I have it recorded and locked on my DVR. It has to be one of the most romantic movies that I have ever seen. The love between them is strong and true. Please release this wonderful movie on dvd. If you like love stories and tear jerkers then you will love this movie.

  • UNEXPECTED DELIGHT

    • MJ
    • 5/31/09

    WONDERFUL MOVIE AND CONTENT!A DEFINITE TEAR JERKER.

  • Terrific Stanwyck vehicle

    • SamMcK
    • 5/19/09

    Forbidden love is the theme of this film that stars Barbara Stanwyck in a challenging role. After she's fallen love with Bob, he reveals he's married to a wife with disabilities. He leaves her and her with child. Stanwyck doesn't tell him. The situation becomes much more complex when Bob's wife returns from Europe & Bob learns of his child with Stanwyck. The film's ending involves Stanwyck taking the kind of action a hero would. Stanwyck's performance is strong even though she's only a 25 year old. It's already evident she's on her way to being a major leading character actor.

  • Great surprise!!

    • Steve Kilcullen
    • 3/21/07

    I love Capra, and this film, which I had not seen before, was fantastic. Not the typical story or subject matter for Capra, but wonderful, heartbreaking and beautiful. We need a DVD!!!

  • Capra story clever and witty.

    • Steve Steinfeld
    • 3/21/07

    Old pro Menjou and Capra protege, Barbara Stanwyck, sparkle in this well-crafted drama comedy. Ralph Bellamy also does an excellent job of holding his own along side the "forbidden" lovers.

  • Forbidden

    • Mike
    • 3/20/07

    Capra captures one of Stanwyck's strongest performances.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.