skip navigation
Bedtime Story

Bedtime Story(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Bedtime Story - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • bedtime story

    • thomas beal
    • 5/4/13

    This movie is hilarious. It takes a really funny story to make me break up laughing, but this one did. Please play it on TCM.

  • Bedtime Story

    • Gerri S.
    • 10/22/12

    This is so hilarious, especially watching Marlon Brando in a comedy role! He's brilliant and so funny! Why hasn't TCM ever shown this film??? Dirty Rotten Scoundrels - the remake - pales in comparison!

  • Bedtime Story

    • ShanWells
    • 3/20/12

    TCM should play Bedtime Story (Niven, Brando, and Jones). I think it is one of the all time great comedies, and my daughters have never seen it.

  • Brando's perfect for the role

    • Ray L.
    • 7/1/09

    I found "Bedtime Story" to be far more funny than "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels". TCM should schedule a viewing of the movie at least twice a year.

  • Brando In A Rare Comedic Role

    • Renee P
    • 9/29/08

    I wish TCM would run this film at least once a month. That's how funny this movie is. Brando as Freddy Benson is so over-the-top without being silly and David Niven is at his suave best. This movie is so far superior to the Martin/Caine remake Dirty Rotten Scoundrels I can't even watch the latter.

  • A Treasure.

    • Rick Carbone
    • 8/5/08

    Bedtime Story is a unique treasure due to two great talents David Niven and Marlon Brando, both at the top of their game in this wonderful Riviera romp. Dirty Rotten Scoundrels was a nice remake and certainly has more laughs due to the great Steve Martin, however when was the last time you saw Brando doing physical comedy? Great flick, very nostalgic look at the French Riviera, Brando and Niven what could be better in a lite romantic comedy?

  • Bedtime Story

    • Mike Kaminski
    • 6/30/08

    I'd love you folks to schedule this one. Brando is hilarious.

  • A Bedtime Story (and Dirty Rotten Scoundrels):

    • Mark Whitledge
    • 5/2/08

    Fantastic, fun, and funny - both movies.Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, I believe, is one of the rare few "do-over" movies that is as good as the original. I can't believe how very few folks (even "movie" folks) have heard about "A Bedtime Story". Most know about "DRS" and when I tell them that none other than Brando played the original Freddy Benson, they just can't believe it. Why this is not available anywhere is beyond my belief especially when you see what IS available out there (LOTS of TRASH). I just voted on TCM to have this offered to the public on DVD. (Related Note: Another one that's lots of fun but cannot be found is, "The Man Who Would Be King" with Sean Connery and Michael Caine.)

  • Great Brando Movie!!!!

    • Rich Cacioppo
    • 10/15/07

    I haven't seen this movie in years. Would love to see it on TCM.Thank you.

  • Movie Magic with Brando and Niven

    • Dee Lemonds
    • 9/15/07

    I just submitted "Bedtime Story" as a film suggestion and am delighted to see other rave reviews for this film. Comments included in my suggestion mirrored the other comments I see here about Niven and Brando. Then I felt bad that I had neglected to mention Dody Goodman so am happy to add a rave for her as well. Overall this is just a delightful film. The scene with Brando in the wheelchair and Niven using the crop to test his legs for paralysis has always made me laugh out loud. The script is great and and cast makes the most of it. So - here is hoping TCM can perform their magic in acquiring films and give us all a good laugh as a result. Personally - I can't wait.

  • Great movie... Would love to see it on TCM!!!

    • Chris Konomos
    • 6/18/07

    I haven't seen this movie in years, and would love to see it again. The sly humor of Brando and Niven far surpass the remake! This is a classic comedy that probably barely passed the sensors of the time and seems to be only available to Europeans on DVD (PAL format). A great movie about men with "player" style learning the error of their ways in using women. The movie can't be remade better as there will never be a Brando and Niven to give it such life.

  • Better than "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels"

    • Ken Nelson
    • 3/28/06

    David Niven's CLASS and Marlon Brando's 'unique style' and Dody Goodman's - uh 'voice' make this 1964 version of "Bedtime Story" much more rewarding and enjoyable than Steve Martin's 1988 version: "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels".

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.