skip navigation
Bye Bye Birdie

Bye Bye Birdie(1963)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Bye Bye Birdie A rock star's personal... MORE > $7.49 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • by by birdie

    • will
    • 1/23/14

    fFun old musical. they tried to get Elvis to have some fun with this but Col Tom said NO WAY. Damn old fool this probably would have turned out to be a classic.

  • a family movie musical for the 60's

    • char
    • 1/23/14

    this is one of the best movie musicals of my generation... the others that have left negative comments.. just don't get it... I simply adore this movie, no thinking allowed... it was first a Broadway play.. get real and see this flick for all it is worth and that's a lot... just sayin

  • Bye Bye 60s

    • will
    • 1/15/14

    Saw this at the T.P. Drive In back in 1964. About five times. As my old friend Mike Kelly put it, after watching Ann Margaret, as the credits rolled off. Well I don't know about you Will, but Me, Im goin home and take a looooong cooooold shower. AAH MEMORIES.

  • Visually appealing

    • Rin
    • 5/5/13

    Not the best musical but an entertaining movie. Enough star power to make the movie watchable, but the two most appealing things about the movie are Ann Margaret and Janet Leigh, two good enough reasons to watch the movie in the first place.

  • Bye bye Birdie

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/15/12

    An instant musical classic. Fine acting from this ensemble, but it's Ann-Margret & Rydell who control the film from start-to-finish. Catchy songs, but the story was awkward at many times throughout. A fun picture inspired by Elvis Presley's draft into the army. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • fun movie

    • robb
    • 2/8/12

    Paul Lynde recreates a role he played so well, good music, a funny and fun movie.

  • Watch this movie

    • Dan
    • 9/25/11

    This is what the world looked like before the 60's turned sour.

  • Unfortunate

    • Michele
    • 9/25/11

    Now relegated to bad high school productions, this movie wouldn't have been all that bad if it wasn't for the unbelievably irritating performance of Paul Lynde. This man's voice is like fingernails scraping on a blackboard. Fortunately, Conrad Birdie's exit at the end makes up for what I wanted to do to him. And the rest of the cast. Now that I think of it, this movie is awful. It's pretty bad when the most interesting part of a movie is a cameo by Ed Sullivan. Skip it.

  • Embarrassing

    • Dave Patterson
    • 9/25/11

    Basically an embarrassment. Paul Lynde's version of "Kids" is unbearable.

  • Catchy

    • MayA
    • 9/17/10

    I looked up some of the songs on YouTube before watching the movie. At first, I thought the songs were very poorly sung and clearly knocking off Elvis. After a couple listens, I really got into the songs (they are very catchy!).I saw Bye Bye Birdie on TCM last month, and I really enjoyed it. It's a very fun movie, definitely not meant to be taken seriously. I love Dick Van Dyke and Ann Margaret. I can't wait to watch it again. I listen to the songs almost every day. I love Telephone Hour, Honestly Sincere, and How Lovely to Be a Woman. Thanks TCM (best channel EVER!)

  • Ann-Margret

    • Fred
    • 7/31/10

    Great dance #'s. Van Dyke does not quite work in this film. He was realy lucky to land in Mary Poppins. Janet Leigh tried very hard and i liked the black wig but it is A-M's film all the way. Bobby Darin would have made a great Conrad Birdie.If you hate this film at least sit through it to view the last 2 minutes. The cencors obviously were turned on and let this slide by.

  • Some great music, but a simply horrible movie

    • Dean
    • 7/29/10

    This movie is terrible, downright embarrassingly horrible. It is an absurd caricature of life in the 60's, especially of teenagers and rock music. It is a complete farce, along the lines of The Producers, but it is not funny or even whimsical. All of the performances are simply ridiculously overblown. Look up ham in the dictionary and you will see this movie listed. It is a shame, because there are a couple of marvelous musical numbers. So save yourself some pain. Go buy the musical score and pass on the movie.

  • Bye Bye Birdie (1963)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/24/10

    I am not quite sure what it is about this musical that makes it so appealing, but it is. Some catchy tunes help, a great supporting cast as well. Ann-Margret reveals that she has that something special to distinguish her from being just another teen star to standing out and becoming a major star. It's just a fun movie.

  • Thanks for playing "Bye, Bye Birdie!!

    • Georgia
    • 1/26/09

    This is a cute film that was a precursor for "Grease". Thank you so much for playing it, you made my day.

  • Go Go See See Bye Bye Birdie!

    • Steve
    • 5/26/08

    A decent Broadway to Hollywood transformation that became a vehicle to launch Ann-Margret and that it did. Check out the last 2 minutes where she belts out the title tune in a very sexy way. Dont know how it passed the censors back in 63? Dick Van Dyke ok but Jack Lemmon or Tony Curtis could have done a lot more. Bobby Darin would have been the ultimare Conrad Birdie

  • Greatest 60's musical ever made

    • arborchase
    • 4/4/08

    Paul Lynde's performance is magnicficent camp of the highest order. Dick Van Dyke delivers yet again, and Chita Rivera is sassy and independent. Her hispanic Rosie and her relationship with the Anglo Dick Van Dyke is groundbreaking casting as she is simply a character that happens to be hispanic. The provocative Ann-Margaret and her sweaters, need I say more.An earthshaking film in all respects. This is a fun and fabulous movie that is celebrating it's 45th anniversary this year. Please show it and let us commemorate this piece of nostalgia and art.

  • Unforgettable Classic

    • Debbie Ann
    • 3/12/08

    Love this movie. Saw it as a kid and would like to see it shown on TCM probably on the weekend. Absolutely the best.

  • Bye Bye Birdie (1963)

    • John
    • 2/9/08

    One of the best musicals of our time needs to be aired by TCM.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.