skip navigation
Only Angels Have Wings

Only Angels Have Wings(1939)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Only Angels Have Wings A team of flyers risks their... MORE > $55.99 Regularly $55.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • HAIL HOWARD HAWKS !

    • Will Fox
    • 2/1/15

    As any serious scholar or student of the studio system in Hollywood's heyday knows, Howard Hawks is in the top 3, of the most successful directors. Intelligent people worldwide are still fascinated by John Ford's westerns. Alfred Hitchcock's suspense-filled mysteries intrigue five-generations of the intelligencia. Rivaling these two aces, is the ace of aces among world-class film directors, Howard Hawks. He created more 4-star films (the highest of ratings among most critics) in many more genres than any other director in the history of film. Howard Hawks is famous as a movie-making maverick with a distinctive talent for creating sassy female characters that enchant male bosses. Please consider his hits: "A Girl in Every Port" (1928), "The Dawn Patrol" (1930), "The Crowd Roars" and "Scarface" (1932), "20th Century," "Barbary Coast," "Bringing Up Baby," "Only Angels Have Wings," "His Girl Friday," "Sergeant York," "Ball of Fire," "Corvette K -255,", "To Have And Have Not," "The Big Sleep" (1946), "Red River" (1948), "A Star Is Born," "I Was A Male War Bride," "The Thing From Another World," "The Big Sky," "Monkey Business," "Gentle Prefer Blondes," "Rio Bravo" (1959), "Hatari" (1962), and "El Dorado" (1967). Twenty-three successes. Who else compares to this heroic champion, across so many different genres, among film directors? Hail Howard Hawks!

  • only angels have wings

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/20/14

    Good escapist fare that the French have elevated above its station. A bit too much macho BS for my taste, and the celebrated Jules Furthman dialogue gets more stilted every time I hear it, especially when it emanates from Grant and Arthur. Also, the "Hawksian woman," who is nothing more than a man with a vagina, is insulting. To gain the approval of Hawks' band of brothers a woman has to sacrifice her femininity. If mannishness is so sexy to these guys, then why don't they make it with each other? Having said the foregoing, let me hasten to add that the flying scenes are extremely well done, and Thomas Mitchell, as the burnt out "kid," delivers what I feel is the best performance in a long line of excellent ones. And there are those quirky moments that you only get in good films, moments like the Peruvian doctor quoting "Henry The 4th," in Spanish, on the philosophy of fatalism, before going up in a biplane. Give it a solid B.

  • Please, oh Please,

    • Alice
    • 12/16/14

    I was so looking forward to seeing this film again. I saw it two years ago when you showed it before. Loved it then, and was so looking forward to seeing it again. I fell asleep, woke up at a quarter to four, only to see one of the old planes in the air (on the screen, of course). My heart sank as I looked at the clock and saw it was almost over. I love both Cary Grant and Jean Arthur. They are both wonderful in this terrific film. Please, oh please, would you show this classic again? Thank you, TCM .

  • Cary Grant's Aviation Adventure Films

    • Larry Elam
    • 5/31/14

    This was the fourth film from the 1930s where Cary Grant played a daring aviator. The other three were "The Eagle and the Hawk" (1933) with Carole Lombard and "Wings in the Dark" (1935) with Myrna Loy and "Suzy" (1936) with Jean Harlow. Knowing this you are probably surprised Grant was an experienced Action Adventure lead. In addition to his aviation films of the 1930s he also made a couple of war films: "The Last Outpost (1935) and "Gunga Din" (1939). So by the end of the 1930s Grant was a well-rounded leading man but definitely heading toward a career more focused on romantic comedy. During the 1940s he only appeared in one action war movie "Destination Tokyo" (1943) where he played a submarine captain.

  • Lots of Action and Sex Appeal

    • sherry
    • 2/17/14

    Excellent film. My favorite for years. Cannot believe it is not available on DVD. Characters are three dimensional and draw you in to their circumstances. Jean Arthur and Cary Crant play off each other as well as Katherine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy. Amazing what these pilots had to go through during the early years of aviation delivery.

  • True Character Acting

    • Tami
    • 2/22/13

    Such enduring personality types in this movie. Most likely studied by 'Novice Actors'. Totally feel good Movie...Loved it.

  • Wings of Angels

    • Bert Flores
    • 8/17/12

    Beautifully acted,well-made picture.And the most touching scenes feature the Kid's injury and subsequent death.

  • Only Angels have Wings

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/8/12

    Hawks' finest adventure film. Arthur & Hayworth hold their own in the male-oriented setting led by Grant & a strong supporting cast. As an aviation lover, Hawks convincingly conveys the drama & reality of pilots added by Oscar-nominated special & sound effects. A great male soap opera conceived & fully realized by Hawks. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Worth the time

    • Alice
    • 2/22/12

    My experience with "Angels Have Wings" began about 2 years ago. I am a fan of Jean Arthur and Cary Grant. I first caught a piece of this film a couple of times late at night. Then, I began looking for it. I almost got to watch it the last time you showed it. But, we had bad weather interferances. Now, I got to see it. It was worth the time and perseverance. I now know why it is indeed one of those timeless classics worth keeping and sharing with those who have, "ears to hear and eyes to see". Thank you, TCM

  • The Wings of Angels is a classic

    • Bart
    • 2/16/12

    This is one great film and deserves to be remembered as such.Great camraderie,love story,devotion to duty.The most touching scene involves the Kid and all his mates saying Good-bye.

  • A fine dramatic adventure film

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    Cary Grant and Jean Arthur are superb in this decidedly non-comedy film. And what a great character actor Thomas Mitchell was!

  • Only Angels Have Wings

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • Fantastic movie

    • Bart
    • 1/18/11

    Bought this movie after losing the DVR'd showing.One of the best ever,right down to the loss of Thomas Mitchell's character,which was the scene to convince me to buy it.Let's see Seth Rogen write something this classy,or something even close!

  • ONLY ANGELS HAVE WINGS

    • GOM
    • 7/1/10

    Marvelous picture and a great cast..Unfortunately I missed the last three minutes of it, so I had to buy it to see the denouement but it is worth the money and a fine addition for my library.

  • Yes, See It

    • Carol Miles
    • 5/11/10

    This picture is definitely a must see. But there's one thing that that has always struck me funny in all the times and over all the years I've sat thru this film. At the beginning of the film about male bonding (all those young, rootless, cocky, adventuress guys) talk about one of their comrades - The Kid this, The Kid that. And then there stands The Kid -- short, tired, dumpy, middle aged, confused looking Thomas Mitchell/The Kid.

  • <3 it

    • Sabrina
    • 5/31/08

    I just recently got this film in a Cary Grant pack-set and it's my fav movie of the five. (Actually, it's tied with another movie, but that's besides the point) Anyway, I just started watching Jean Arthur movies and I love every one that I've seen. Combined with Cary, you get one great movie. (If you want to see more Grant/Arthur pairings, watch 'The Talk of the Town')

  • The Definitive Howard Hawks Motion Picture

    • GF
    • 3/8/08

    Among the many great Howard Hawks films, I feel this is his best. I believe Only Angels Have Wings best describes Hawks' feelings on male bonding and professionalism. The direction is crisp, the writing sharp, and the acting is first-rate. Cary Grant gives yet another memorable performance as the hard-core, tough-as-nails Geoff Carter. Jean Arthur is wonderful as the woman who immediately takes a liking to Grant's unusual style. The supporting cast is superb: Richard Barthelmess, Rita Hayworth, and Thomas Mitchell all deliver the goods. Only Angels Have Wings is among the great American films, in my opinion. It's a must-see.

  • grand entertainment

    • michael york
    • 12/17/07

    one of the best of the best-cary and jean make a great team

  • Hawks and Grant soar!

    • Serena
    • 10/15/07

    A great movie about consummate professionals (in this case mail fliers) who get the job done and the women who stand by them. Cary Grant, though he falls flat during a big emotional scene, is commanding in his first dramatic performance, and Jean Arthur (best known for "Mr. Smith Goes To Washington") proves that she was the most underrated comedienne of all time. Perhaps director Howard Hawks' most personal movie, this film stands the test of time, and is one of Hawks' best movies. Rita Hayworth has a small role.

  • Great movie

    • Nancy
    • 1/2/07

    Nice to see Cary Grant's early performances. He really is the best leading man ever!

  • CLASSIC!!

    • fgreene
    • 9/9/06

    This movie is a classic example of Hollywood's Golden Age and each performer reaches the heights of their careers. A must see.

  • Great use of 2 hours

    • Steve Sutton
    • 6/6/06

    Thoroughly enjoyed this film. It was a little different from many of the Grant movies, in that the dialogue is not as fast or as quippy as many that followed. But, the perfomance was all Grant ultimately getting the girl in the end. Supporting actors were excellent and so was the cinematography. I particularly enjoyed the scenes of the difficult landing MacPherson makes in his inagural flight for the mail company. The clarity of the mountain-top landscape and landing/take-off were as thrilling today as any special effects you might see. There did seem to be a bit of chemistry between Grant and Arhtur, particularly towards the end.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.