skip navigation
The More the Merrier

The More the Merrier(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The More the Merrier The World War II housing... MORE > $10.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of the best of the best.

    • Wayne
    • 5/15/14

    The More the Merrier is my favorite comedy of all time. It may be, even, my favorite film. The interplay between Arthur and Colburn is brilliant. Perfectly cast, the scenes between Arthur and Colburn are comedy perfection and the scenes between Arthur and McCrea are frankly erotic. The explanation and implementation of Arthur's schedule, and the stoop scene between McCrea and Arthur are classic.The chemistry is pitch perfect between Arthur, McCrea and Colburn and is priceless. Jean Arthur, always brilliant, gives her most well thought out performance. Her timing and her delivery are impeccable and the way she uses her voice in the final scenes is both unforgettable and sexual. As TCM says, Jean Arthur is one of the best of the best.The More the a Merrier is the perfect comedy, still beloved 71 years after its inception. It is Steven's most brilliant film and both Arthur's and Colburn's most endearing performances!

  • Overrated?

    • hermann
    • 9/13/13

    While the stars deserve praise, Jean Arthur particularly, I don't think this movie measures up to all the hype. Delightfully done silliness in the first half, but then some tedious goings on in the second half. I found myself just wishing the movie would end -- not a good thing. Especially interesting to me was the scene where Arthur and McCrae were both in bed and conversing between the walls -- a good scene that evoked my memory of a similar, but even better scene in Come Live With Me -- James Steward and Hedy Lamarr (1941). Now that movie I love -- a lesser-known romantic comedy, but a real gem.

  • Perfection

    • Jeannie
    • 9/11/13

    This movie is an exceptional reflection of interpersonal relationships. Sweet and genuine, the stars add a unique quirkiness that reminds us how endearing life can be. Ok.... I LOVE this movie. Some may dismiss it as too superficial, but I would argue that being able to remain cordial during difficult times is one of the best things about being human. This movie seems way more real to me than the portrayals of heart wrenching angst made during the 60s. No matter how many times I watch this I never fail to laugh so loud! Thank you TCM for sharing this treasure.

  • The More the Merrier

    • Goetan
    • 8/25/13

    An entertaining romantic-comedy from director Stevens. Arthur earned her sole Oscar nomination as a working woman who sublets her apartment to Coburn, in his Oscar-winning performance, who himself sublets his half to McCrea. Very funny, but the plot gets stale and is predictable. A good, enjoyable comedy. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Great Film

    • themorethemarryem
    • 8/25/13

    Always thrilled when this gem shown on TCM.Great comedy,and fun for all!

  • The More the Merrier

    • Jennifer
    • 8/24/13

    Love this movie! Jean Arthur is wonderful!

  • The More The Merrier

    • Sandra Lott
    • 9/1/12

    The Most Entertaining Movie ever!! I will watch Jean Arthur, Charles Coburn and Joel McCrae in ANY movie and LOVE it.. Three of my absolute favorites. It's hard for me to believe this movie is not 5 stars. One of my favorite Movies of all times..

  • I Laughed Out Loud!

    • 4dogmama
    • 3/12/12

    This movie is a hoot!! I laughed out loud in so many places I lost count! What got me were the instances where someone would slip on water and fall flat on their kiester! Loved the cast...especially Jean Arthur and Charles Coburn! I will not be deleting this one off my DVR, to be sure!

  • Back when actors could really act!

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/13/11

    One of Jean Arthur's best films. Joel McRea is also great, and Charles Coburn was superb playing cupid for the couple. The scene where Joel sits on the front steps with Jean is sexier and steamier than anything Hollywood can produce today! Damn the torpedoes and full steam ahead!

  • Sexy Jean!

    • jack
    • 6/23/11

    This is about the only Jean Arthur film I have seen that gives the viewer a very good look at her sexy, little bod, Her attire during much of the movie shows off her shape to good advantage but her body really impresses during the scene where she is sunbathing on the rooftop. Her top is form-fitting (nice breasts, narrow waist, flat tummy) and her shorts do a nice job displaying her very shapely legs. yummeee

  • Luv this movie!

    • S. Kay
    • 5/7/11

    I watch it everytime it's on! It's so funny! I luv it! : )

  • Simply My Favorite

    • Linnie
    • 4/3/11

    This movie has become my favorite - truly, my #1! And, I admit to watching it 6 times in this last year - whenever it is on! The acting is superb - I love them all individually, but, together they are like a well oiled machine. Jean Arthur is One Of A Kind in that role and cute as a button! (and my favorite actress of that era), Joel McCrea - soooo handsome - is the ONLY actor that could have played so beautifully opposite her - they were tremendous together. AND, CHARLES COBURN.....oh, boy, I'll watch anything with him in it - and wasn't he at his Coburn best in this. How I wish they had made The More The Merrier 2, 3, 4,

  • The best Romantic Comedy ever!

    • Vickie-doo
    • 3/30/11

    All of the reviewers say it better than me (except for the one person who didn't like the movie), but I have seen this movie about 10 times and each time I love it more. Joel McCrea is a doll, Jean Arthur is so beautiful and Charles Coburn just steals the show. The best scene in the movie: those absent-minded comments Jean makes while Joel is caressing her arms and shoulders, ever so gently, until she just gives in to his charms. So romantic it makes me cry! I love this movie!

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/8/10

    Este filme excelente. Divertido e incrvel. Eu adoro a Jean Arthur e esta comdia fenomenal. Um filme que eu daria se pudesse 10 estrelas.

  • Great Chemistry

    • Connie
    • 5/2/10

    The Chemistry on the front door steps was incredible. You can actually see their attraction come alive on screen. This is a fun loving movie with a great story line. It's a great reminder of what love should be like. They couldn't help but fall in love. I would recommend this movie to all.

  • Too bad Stevens gave up...

    • Ann S Brown
    • 4/26/10

    ...comedy after WWII. As a director, George Stevens had his own unique, comedic timing. His patient set-up, the punch line, and reaction shot consistently deliver the laugh he worked painstakingly to achieve. Stevens gentle touch always makes the audience laugh at the characters and at themselves. Here he is ably assisted by Charles Coburn's dry delivery, Jean Arthur's gravelly hysteria, and the eight roving arms of Joel McCrea, expert in the art of "copping the feel." Totally charming, funny and humane, this is a great classic war comedy.

  • The More the Merrier

    • diane
    • 4/26/10

    I love the moment in the film when Jean Arthur and Joel McCrea first see each other in the apartment and we get reactions from all three characters. The scene on the front steps was sexy and romantic. I wish Joel McCrea had continued in these types of roles instead of making all of those westerns!

  • Capra Is Right!

    • RiantWriter
    • 4/26/10

    In the biography of George Stevents that TCM showed, Frank Capra said he loved the scene in this film with Joel McCrea and Jean Arthur walking down the street. I think he said in essence that it was the funniest thing he'd ever seen. Of course, Capra knows comedy--not only is this scene funny, it's sexy, too, in a way most of today's filmmakers have yet been able to accomplish.

  • The More the Merrier

    • gooser
    • 4/5/10

    Funny, clean, romantic and actually had a story too, surprise that you don't always get these days in movies. A movie enjoyable to watch (which is what TV is for-entertainment). I thought all of the main actors did a great job, as did the supporting actors.

  • The More the Merrier

    • Eileen H Lilly
    • 3/24/10

    Subtlety, a quality that should return in films, is all present in this wonderful film. Anyone who appreciates the quiet insinuations meant for the viewer alone to enjoy will love this. The actors are superb, the ambience suggestive and the romantic interludes entrancing. To say nothing about the humor ever present. Wonderful movie.

  • Could have been better

    • shleppo
    • 3/12/10

    I wanted to like this movie, but unfortunately it did not live up to the funny opening sequence. It could have been much better, had it decided to be an all-out comedy instead of comedy-drama. Charles Coburn was good, but seemed a pale imitation of W.C. Fields in a couple of shticks. The "Mr. Pendergast" character wore such a bad toupee that I wonder if it was an intentional sight gag. Very distracting. In all, there were too many things that went flat.

  • The More the Merrier (1943)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/6/10

    A thoroughly enjoyable romantic comedy. Jean Arthur is at her near best, Charles Coburn is excellent in his Oscar winning role, he is a delight. A wonderful classic. Viewers need to be aware there was a huge housing shortage in Washington D.C. in 1943.

  • love, love, love it.

    • catalanta
    • 8/7/09

    This really takes me out of myself, and makes me laugh hours,no day and months after each time i see it. The first time i tunned it in it was because a jean A fan, Charles c stole my heart, and pissed me off at the same time. Then with joel Mc care and concern for Ms. Milligan gives me hope that generations will see what it means to love and care about a woman. MY favorite comedy.The score stays in my head and heart for days. It's good medicine.

  • Funny and Sexy

    • Michael
    • 6/6/09

    Very funny situation piece, with great dialogue. It offers one of the sexiest scenes ever, fully clothed on a stoop, but electric with desire. Everyone does a great job.

  • Cannot get enough of this movie!

    • Kathy L-T
    • 3/12/09

    I became a fan of Jean Arthur from her performances in Mr. Smith Goes to Washington and Mr. Deeds Goes to Town, so I gave this movie a shot. Sure glad I did! The dialogue is great, Charles Coburn is fantastic, and the chemistry between Arthur and Joel McCrea can't be beat. How else could the "love" scene in front of the apartment work with anyone else? Please air more of their movies!

  • Great classic movie

    • Donald Encarnacion
    • 3/8/09

    I'm not one to be really into classic's but the storyline and acting of this movie and Jean Arthurs' stunning good looks made this an interesting and great movie. Highly recommended.

  • Charles Coburn: A National Treasure

    • Chuck Wilson
    • 9/1/08

    I'm yet to see a motion picture with Charles Coburn that I didn't love. His role in this film deserved to win the Academy Award. The sequence of events in that small apartment reminded me in a lot of ways of Hitchcock's great movie "Rear Window". From the morning schedule to Mr Coburn's "Damn the torpedos, full speed ahead; it was a hilarious romp. And to have one of my two favorite male actors of all time Joel McCrea (Gary Cooper being the other) and my all time favorite actress Jean Arthur was absolutely wonderful. The screenplay should have won an Academy Award for it's amazing story line which balanced dramatic and comedic effect as well as any movie I have ever seen. Modern day movie makers could learn a lot from watching this movie. They would find that it is not necessary to put in all the sexual innuendo and bad language in order to sell the public on a good movie. It was a sad day when Ms Arthur retired and Joel McCrea stopped making anything but westerns. If you think about it, who do we have today who can match this trio of great stars . . . NO ONE!!!!

  • Charles Coburn at his best!

    • PeteyParker
    • 12/23/07

    This movie is great fun! I enjoyed seeing Charles Coburn get to play an impish fellow for once. Highly recommended!

  • Adorable

    • Lee
    • 1/11/07

    Saw this for the 1st time the other night & it was even better than I had hoped. The whole thing is a pleasure and George Stevens did a great job with this one, and McCrea and Arthur are perfect for each other!

  • Great Fun with Joel, Jean & Charles

    • Bob
    • 1/10/07

    Lots of fun. The banter when Coburn & McCrea first get together (along with the following confusion) is so funny. Joel is always one of my favorites. They are all in top form.Bob

  • Wonderful!

    • Allison
    • 1/10/07

    This is one of the sweetest, sexiest, cutest movies I've ever seen! I love it.

  • Best Kissing Scene!

    • Donna
    • 9/4/06

    I loved this movie, especially the kissing scene on the front steps of the apartment between Joel McCrae and Jean Arthur. This is about the sexiest kissing scene I think I have ever seen in a movie. Joel McCrae was very sexy and handsome.

  • Steamy!

    • BravesGal
    • 6/21/06

    I just watched this movie for the first time. It was amazingly romantic and very sexy for having been made in '43. Probably climbed into my top 10 list!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.