skip navigation
The Happy Years

The Happy Years(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Happy Years Friends and family try to tame... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • timeless

    • jerry
    • 11/7/13

    this movie shows that a well written and directed movie with good young actors can still outscore all the speacil effects and profanity in the movies these days.such a delightful film that brings out comedy as well as all feelings of the human soul.A for this movie!!!!!

  • The Happy Years

    • John Ramirez
    • 10/28/12

    I have seen this movie and even though it was turn of the century 1800's, it is still relevant today, late in 2012. I want to watch the whole movie on Youtube like I used to when I would share some of the scenes with my students to prove a point or to let them know that although times may have changed, some things still remain the same. Great movie!

  • The Happy Years

    • Cindy Rozier
    • 3/26/10

    Great movie. Recently recorded this movie off of the movie channel and shared with my 15 & 12 year old sons and husband. We all loved it. Very funny and my boys could easily relate to the characters. Would love to be able to get it on DVD. Hope that they decide to release it.

  • Would love to see this movie again!

    • Pat R
    • 10/24/09

    I saw this movie a few times on TV when I was younger and remember how it made us laugh, especially my dad. They don't make them like this anymore and I would love my daughter to see it with me. Hope you play it soon--I'll be watching for it. Thanks!

  • They do not make them like this anymore.

    • Dave Gardner
    • 10/16/09

    The Happy Years is an absolutely delightful movie. I never saw it when I was a child and I only came across it when you recently aired it. I am over 50 now. I have told my nephew all about it and he is keen to see it. Why hasn't it been released on DVD. The scene at the end when Dink from the top of the verandah steps spots the girl in the chair and topples down the steps is absolutely fantastic. It somes up the whole movie - let nothing bother you and you can achieve anything if you try.

  • Lawrenceville Stories

    • William Hullfish
    • 7/29/09

    I love this movie. Maybe I am not as objective as some because I was born and raised in Lawrenceville, New Jersey. The plot centers around Lawrenceville Prep School and the surrounding area. It was filmed in Lawrenceville. It also is directed by the the great director, William Weelman.

  • Why no DVD available on this delightful movie?

    • Steve Yohe
    • 2/4/08

    What a great family film! There are so many memorable scenes. Who can forget the pancake eating contest and the Maude Adams prank to name just a few? I can't resist watching it everytime it's on.

  • Please show again soon.

    • Craig W. Newman
    • 12/22/07

    Thank you for running "The Happy Years" again so soon.Unfortunately I missed it again.Please show the film once more in March if you can.

  • Hubby was thrilled

    • Trish
    • 10/2/07

    I had left the TV on in the wee hours of the morning and "The Happy Years" was just going off when my husband got up for work.He was so thrilled this movie had aired, but VERY disappointed that we missed it!! I have since been searching for the DVD. He told me he had watched it with friends when he was young and they ALL LOVED IT.Please make this wonderful movie available on DVD. We will purchase a few: one for us and more as gifts.

  • Great Movies

    • Robert Tluczek
    • 7/29/07

    I watched it when I was a youngster and totally loved it. I have not seen it in many years but still remember it well.

  • Delightful movie

    • Olin
    • 7/28/07

    Simply a delightful movie. Wish it could be purchased on DVD.

  • Best movie of 1950

    • RiccoCapri
    • 10/10/06

    Great characters, great story line, great acting, a truly great movie!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.