skip navigation
Georgy Girl

Georgy Girl(1966)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Georgy Girl - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "Georgy Girl" - favorite moment

    • JM Dempsey
    • 8/16/13

    I love the scene in which Georgy's carrying the baby items up the stairs, and the James Mason character is trying to talk to her. "See, I told you, Mister, them pills don't work!" Also, note the rather traditional view of abortion, in the nascent days of the sexual revolution. Nearly perfect movie, such a time capsule.

  • A New Georgy Girl

    • Heythere
    • 7/21/13

    Loved James Mason and Lynn.Like Alan Bates,but what a jerk his character is.Hope Georgy treated Mason's character right during their marriage.Quite a good film when you finally see it all.Great acting,just don't agree with the lifestyle of "swingin' 60s"Loved Bill Owen,too,he's fantastic as her dad.

  • Georgy Girl

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/25/13

    I have never seen this film so I am glad I did not read the reviews before I saw it. Lynn Redgrave is precious in this film and has a beauty all her own. This film was so interesting and I remember when the song first aired. I think this film does capture a certain lifestyle of some of the English even as I experienced it in the 80's when I went to England. People had not changed that much. There is really a lot happening underneath the seemingly conservative surface.

  • talk about quirky

    • denscul
    • 2/25/13

    Great theme song. Fits in so well with the theme, yet can stand alone as a pop song classic. This film takes a while to follow. Is it a love story, a dirty old man story, a menage a trois, a baby born, an avoiding male who can't make up his mind about fatherhood. Whether to choice between lovely Charlotte, or frumpy but nice Georgy, who can seem to realize she is frumpy, but nice. Then their is James Mason. No, not playing the socially unaceptable old man in love with a child. At least the generational differences between him and Georgy Girl are still within societal bounds. At least Georgy girl is a woman, and not a child. None the less, there was the class difference to overcome. She is the daughter of the servant, and while the love, dare we call it love, developes, Mrs. Mason is sick and in her bed until she expires during the middle of the film. Georgy's parents know of Master Mason's affection, and do all to encourgage it. Even while the lady of the house likes in bed. They are afraid their daughter will never marry anyone-who would, she is such an ugly duckling, and here is a rich man, who for some reason finds her a venus. This creates some of the mirth to be found in this film.Not to go on, but Georgy undoubtedly has a slave like existence to beautiful but nasty Charlotte Rampling, who is sleeping with Alan Bates, with Georgy a frequent house guest, who does all the house work. Enter a baby and Bates interest turns towards Fatherhood, and suddenly he discovers that motherhood, in this case, the one who takes car of the child, has some sexual attraction. I won't spoil my comments about the end, although I am certain that most film lovers have seen it several times. There is nothing but great things to say about a comedy that does not have a message, yet still makes you laugh at human foibles.

  • Proud of you Georgy

    • Georgy Great
    • 10/9/12

    In the Swingin' Sixties, she keeps sight of what matters most in life. Great acting by all, esp. Lynn and James. Charlotte still as beautiful today.

  • Georgy Girl

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/28/11

    Lynn Redgrave gives the performance of her lifetime in this romantic "Dramedy." From a glance, an overweight nobody who earns the love from her roommates husband & her father's business partner (James Mason, in a note- worthy performance). The look, style & sounds of '60's London is what attracted me to this story, along with Lynn's charming performance. I give this film a 4/5.

  • geogry girl great movie

    • deborah jones
    • 6/30/10

    georgy girl was such a good movie watching it as a kid. i cant believe your not playing it with the recent passing of lynn redgrave

  • Georgy Girl (1966)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/25/10

    Georgy Girl is one of my favorite movies from the 1960's, especially because of the acting. Lynn Redgrave is incredibly good, so well cast, Charlotte Rampling is amazing and gives one of the best supporting performances ever. It's a great story, Silvio Narizzano's direction is very perceptive and stylish. It's funny, touching, poignant and the characters are developed superbly.

  • Don't let's forget the music.

    • Bob
    • 2/5/09

    The Seekers (known as Australia's Beatles) do the title song for Georgy Girl. It is an outstanding song that has passed the test of time. The words and music are a perfect fit for this timeless classic. You'll be whistling the tune long after the movie is done!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.