skip navigation
The Pumpkin Eater

The Pumpkin Eater(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Pumpkin Eater A woman drifts through... MORE > $20.99 Regularly $20.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Anne Bancroft *****

    • Christine
    • 9/17/12

    Anne Bancroft (along with Patricia Neal) was one of our finest American Actresses. Gorgeous, mesmerizing, and sexy. I absolutely love her.

  • The Pumpkin Easter (1964) on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 3/25/10

    I might consider having this movie on DVD. I like Peter Finch.

  • Correction to my review

    • nlumiere
    • 2/24/09

    I made a typo. Regarding "The Great Gatsby," I meant to write: "it was a noble failure."

  • Jack Clayton the artist

    • nlumiere
    • 2/24/09

    All of Jack Clayton's films are wonderful, including this gem with screenplay by Harold Pinter. Jack Clayton is an auteur in my book and under-appreciated. Of course I'm basing this on three movies : "Room at the Top," "the Pumpkin Eater," and the wonderful "The Innocents". He is one of the greatest British directors of the sixties or any decade. His films remain modernist classics. "The Great Gatsby" may have been a stumble. but it's not a noble effort. Black and white seems to be his medium, as the wonderful and poignant existential "The Pumpkin Eater" superbly demonstrates.

  • Movie of The Year

    • L. Exner
    • 2/23/09

    Have waited for over a decade to see this movie & missed some of it. TCM should have advertised it more. Please show again, so refreshing to enjoy a piece of such substance. Ann & Maggie are two of my favorites. Please run again this week or this month or next.

  • Stunning Heartwrenching

    • JohnnyC
    • 2/22/09

    I had heard about this movie but missed it the last time it was on TCM. Ann Bancroft is amazing in this. Peter Finch also terrific. James Mason & Maggie Smith are weird as hell Great supporting characters. Both Super creepy. And the woman in the hair salon ultra uncomfortable but real. Sick woman. Pinter is the "Angst King." Makes me think of my mother & her life in the sixties & what a struggle she had raising 4 kids & not having a career to help keep you busy & SANE.Incredibly well shot movie plus you so intimately into the frame. Very effective to draw you in. The fight scene is so realistic. If you like this you'll like A woman Under the Influence with Gena Rowlands. Incredible. So good to see Ann Bacroft's range, SO DIFFERENT then Mrs. Robinson in The Graduate.

  • Extraordinary!

    • George
    • 12/21/07

    Captivating and real.

  • Mesmerizing performances

    • Susannah Koger
    • 7/26/07

    I had no idea what I was about to experience when I watched this film this afternoon. Now I cannot get it out of my mind. The look on Ann Bancroft's face in the beginning frame pulled me in. Her face held me, rapt, for the remainder of the film. James Mason's character was delightfulling despicable and Peter Finch brought texture and depth to a character I was determined to dislike. The filming/editing made you feel as disconnected as the heroine, real but unreal, not quite there. I couldn't believe this subject matter from 1964! Harold Pinter's screenplay was terse, right to the meat, no nonsense. Now I have to read the book by Penelope Mortimer. Just amazing. What a gem.

  • WOW!

    • michael york
    • 7/26/07

    i just finished watching this amazing film i had never heard much about it but i was totally blown away truly magnetic and compelling i dont know of the source material but pinters screenplay was first-rate and i have loved all the clayton films i have seen bancroft wa superb i was with every every painful step cant wait to see it again

  • Before it's time and unforgettable

    • Edith Pashayan
    • 4/7/06

    What woman hasn't felt this pain at some point in her life? Anne Bancroft is superb in this role and I would love to see this film again. I'm hoping that TCMwill air this unforgettable and moving film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.