skip navigation
The Sniper

The Sniper(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Sniper An unhappy man goes on a... MORE > $65.99 Regularly $65.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • This movies needs to be released on DVD

    • Joan
    • 7/14/09

    Fantastic movie with great shots of San Francisco. Arthur Franz is an under appreciated character actor who shines in this role as a tormented person who takes out his pain on innocent people.

  • well written story

    • steven mckeachie
    • 6/22/09

    I loved this movie, and seems ahead of its time with the subject matter related too a psychological disturbed man who desperately wants help for his increasing duality with his rage and anger for being rejected by people in general and targets brunettes as the object of his increasing anger and hatred but can get no help for himself too stop these urges too hurt and too kill but receives none until he is way over the edge and is trying too come back. I recognized many of the actors especiallya young richard kiley and i swear the teen brought into custody was present day actor and country singer,Randy travis. Am I correct. And i noticed a supposed young girl at the scene of the 1st murder who looked alot like "jeff" from the classic tv series "Lassie". Please feel free too respond/ Steven M

  • Outstanding filmnoir!

    • Barry
    • 4/7/09

    When I first saw this film, I was completely amazed by the realistic special effects, which, at that time,were remarkable. The shots alone make this a knock-out. I agree,this film should be on DVD.

  • Really Great Thriller

    • Wayne Frese
    • 10/13/08

    It really shows the reality of a poor lonely individual who has been hurt by women and there seems no way out except to commit crime. We need more films and stories of this nature.

  • Poor misunderstood Eddie...

    • JMW
    • 6/29/07

    Well, boys, I love a good slice of noir as much as the next hard-boiled dame, but, wow, this is the most agressively misogynistic film I've seen on TCM since "While the City Sleeps."

  • Great thriller!

    • Mychal Bowden
    • 4/30/07

    I'm surprised that Columbia has not released this on DVD. For such a risque film for the time it was made, it packs a wallop. Arthur Franz is at his best as the title character while Adolphe Menjou gives a strong performance as the detective trying to find him. Please have Columbia consider this for DVD...I would be glad to put out my money for this. Before you place a home video vote for this, see the film. Believe me, it will blow you away.

  • Good, But Not Great!

    • Scott Dwyer
    • 3/6/07

    Interesting and well done film. The shots of mid-century San Francisco alone make the film worth seeing. The monologues by the police psychiatrist was a bit preachy and could easily have been cut. Music was great and some of the scenes were highly original. However, I never felt any tension or suspense.

  • Very good movie!

    • Sonnie
    • 2/28/07

    Keep reaching into your old bag of black and whites. I have never seen this movie in all of my TCM years. This movie belongs with the old gangster James Cagney movies that are unduplicable. The old are the best and we want to see them. Please keep digging into the past good old Hollywood years. What a pleasure they are.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.