skip navigation
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof(1958)

  • Monday, February 16 @ 03:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof A dying plantation owner tries... MORE > $68.98 Regularly $68.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • CAT ON A HOT TIN (OUCH) ROOF

    • WILL
    • 8/19/14

    Well here we go again. Tennessee Williams and his dark obsecian with the hot, sticky, sweaty, down south. Every body snarling at each other over anything from land to money to sex to money to land. I mean who gives a damn about owning a giant swamp filled with gators, poison snakes, quick sand and a life time supply of biting bugs. Throw in Liz Taylor playing Liz Taylor in a constantly bitchy mood (No question she was a beautiful lady, but as an Actress Id rather watch grass grow,) Paul Newman sweating ,thumping along on his cast, and NOBODY could drink that much and still be up right. Burl Ives, I would have been happier if he had burst into song. Same character, as in the BIG COUNTRY, give it a rest already. Like I said about STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE, after watching this, makes you want to take a nice cool shower and go find something pleasant to do.

  • Violet and Blue

    • Movie lady
    • 2/16/14

    Aside from Burl Ives' absolutely magnificent performance, this movie contains the two most beautiful people on the planet at the time playing opposite each other. And both are wonderful in their parts. How fortunate we are to have that experience preserved for all time.

  • Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

    • Goetan
    • 8/24/13

    Ranks along 1951's "A Streetcar named Desire" as one the best film adaptations of a Williams' play. Entire cast is magnificent and engaging; Newman & Taylor received Oscar nominations and Ives gives one of his most iconic performance's. They then-shocking and controversial theme of homosexuality is tamer and easier to interpret by today's audiences. A powerful drama about sex and mendacity in a dysfunctional family. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Five stars!

    • RedRain
    • 2/17/13

    There are few films that rate five stars but this is definitely one of them! There is definite chemistry between Newman and Taylor but the electricity in the air is in the scenes between Burl Ives and Paul Newman. Two male actors who go at one another with this much ferocity is a sight to see and these two are exceptional! There must have been great trust between these two for them to allow this much hatred and love to show through in their respective roles. You will loathe the synchophant brother and sister-in-law, Gooper, and Mae, and you wonder about Big Momma, magnificently played by Judith Anerson, during the entire film. The only objection I can raise to this film is the removal of the homosexual content. Tennessee Williams was justifiably upset with this turn and that is completely understandable; however, we have to consider the times and the 1950s were years where the mere suggestion of homosexuality was met with revulsion and shock. I would love to have seen this film, with these same five main actors, bring forth Williams' play as it was written! Wow!

  • a must see for classic movie lovers

    • ness
    • 1/19/10

    great flick.

  • Excellent

    • Nneka
    • 12/26/09

    One of the best movies, I have ever seen. I didn't know what all the hype was about Paul Newman and Liz Taylor until I saw this movie. The chemistry between them is electric. This story is well written with actors that really bring it to life. A must see.

  • Love this movie

    • Jennifer
    • 7/15/09

    I just love this movie, I love Paul Newman and Liz Taylor and all that sexual tension and great set design.

  • fantastic

    • Heather
    • 6/17/09

    I watched this movie for the first time earlier this year. It was the most fantastic movie I have ever watched. I LOVE,LOVE, LOVE this movie Liz taylor and paul newman set the bar high for sexual chemistry in this steamy southern drama. and who could forget that famous line, "What is it a cat on a hot tin roof wants? Well I guess just to stay on that roof for as long as it can!"I Love this movie.

  • Newman & Taylor sizzle!!

    • Pat Turman
    • 4/29/09

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Tennessee Williams didn't like the Hollywood happy ending that was tacked on (similar to what they did on "Sweet Bird of Youth") but I think it works, especially if you've never seen the play. Elizabeth Taylor definitely holds her own. Watch Madeleine Sherwood as Sister Woman. She's excellent. Being from the south, she had the speech patterns & mannerisms down perfect. I have aunts that behave & talk just like her. What can you say about Paul Newman? I think this is one of his best performances. He really mines the depths of his emotions when he confesses to Big Daddy why he drinks & throws a tantrum down in the basement. This frank & candid displaying of family dysfunction still packs a wallop even 50 years later. Sit back with a glass of Southern Comfort & enjoy!

  • One the most sexiest movies ever made

    • Sina
    • 10/14/07

    Growing up I only knew of Elizabeth Taylor as Michael Jackson's friend so I decided to see one of her movies and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof blew me away! This is one of the greatest most beautifully casted movies ever. The way Dame Taylor showed how desperate she was for her husband, how much she loved him and yearned for him is such a thrill to watch.

  • TAYLOR AND NEWMAN BURN UP THE SCREEN

    • BRUCE R
    • 7/3/07

    NEXT TO "STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE" THIS IS MY SECOND FAVORITE FILM VERSION OF A TENNESSEE WILLIAMS PLAY.PAUL NEWMAN AND ELIZABETH TAYLOR BOTH GIVE POWERFUL PERFORMANCES IN THIS TERRIFIC ADAPTATION OF ONE OF WILLIAMS'GREATEST WORKS.NEWMAN'S ALCOHOLIC EX-JOCK BRICK AND TAYLOR'S SULTRY MAGGIE "THE CAT" ARE ONE OF THE BEST SCREEN COUPLES EVER.WHETHER YOU ARE A TENNESSEE WILLIAMS FAN OR A FILM FAN IN GENERAL, THIS IS A MUST SEE!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.